We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,132 results
Traveler rating
467
375
170
62
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
467
375
170
62
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium room steam bar sea view overflow car park parking space fantastic views per day booked this hotel fish and chips the cliff stayed for nights comfy bed short break town centre fistral beach receptionist beaches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,132 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I couldn't believe they only give one hand towel per couple when I requested a 2nd one they left us a towel that you step out of the shower on to, I was disgusted to find they allowed dogs in the bar/restaurant not only for hygiene reasons but they were barking so we would have no chance of a quiet meal, the entertainers were scruffy and couldn't even be heard above the barking dogs and general rowdiness of the customers were not posh but felt like a lot of the people walking in looked homeless, we had a fire alarm go off on our room early morning we quickly dressed got down to reception there was only the receptionist who just said morning when I told her the fire alarm went off in our room all she said was false alarm not even a sorry just outside our window was a huge extractor fan noisy all day and night.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Tink49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Newquay in July with our friends and ended up in the Great Western on a few occasions. It is in a great spot (overlooking the sea). The food is good, especially the pizza which is amazing!
There are plenty of tables so getting in never seemed to be a problem.
We enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff are all so friendly.
The pub is dog friendly and the staff even give out dog treats.
This is a relaxed and casual sort of place to dine which we enjoyed. Well worth a try.
Reasonably priced too.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank AnnaR1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely position. Staff excellent coridoors like old people's home Fire alarm goes off at 4 am.. coffee in the bar is the Best. Breakfast is like roadside van stuff cheapest sausage and bacon. Good beer..

Staff thinks it clever to stroke scratch.. dogs. And the go behind bar and serve.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

In the heart of Newquay!

Clean, crisp decoration and amazing sea views from the dining room, and some of the rooms, over Great Western beach and cove. There is a large outside patio area where you can enjoy a drink and the beautiful view.

The rooms are a good size with updated decor and bathrooms.

The hot breakfast was good but the cold breakfast was disappointing.

There is limited parking at the hotel which can be reserved, however there is paid parking available nearby. There is a bus stop directly outside and the train station is a stones throw away too. Perfect!

The staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank 303bevf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here because of the location for food, drinks are ok, bit pricey but thats what you pay for the location, food is bang average at best (But slightly better than their other pub The Fort) Staff quite friendly so I would say its ok for a drink but avoid the overpriced food

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skybluestinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews