We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel many times now and without exception we always enjoy our time their. The staff are genuinely friendly and welcoming, food is good, beer is better, views are stunning.
Premier rooms are especially good with superbly comfy beds.

Room Tip: Sea views are well worth the higher price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ratso8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    277
    110
    45
    40
See reviews for
122
425
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night in early September and wished we had more time . We paid a little extra for a sea view which turned out the be stunning with large windows we could lie in bed and watch the Atlantic surf rolling in. The room was good as the corridors where not brilliant. The food and drink was good value . i imagine the large bar area is vy busy in high season and at weekends but we were here mid- week. £5 for parking but not many spaces available if you get here late. At £67.50 for the room it was very good value. Full Breakfast was £5.95 I seem to recall but breakfast rolls etc were cheaper.
For the type of hotel it is in Newquay which can get very busy it is very good and comes recommended. We will stay here again. This is one of over 300 hotels we have stayed at in the last ten years.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zygnema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

After having booked and paid for a Standard double room; upon arrival we were given a shabby and poorly maintained budget room (below the type that had been booked). After spending one night and not believing that could be a standard room for the price paid, we made some inquiries and showed we had been given a downgrade to a budget room. We raised our concerns to the management and our query was dealt in the most professional way. We were explained the rooms were being renovated and all standard double rooms were booked, we were upgraded to an available room according to the standard we had booked. It is to be said it took serious complaining and a strong position to make the hotel accept the attempt to provide a room below the standard booked.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the recently renovated ones and the ones to book. Any other type, as per experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always happy to welcome back returning customers but were sorry to hear that you were initially disappointed with the standard of your room. After speaking with reception and reading your review, all your points and observations have been passed on to the relevant manager and will be dealt with.

Having completed another phase of our on-going refurbishment programme earlier this year we introduced Standard Plus rooms. These rooms have had brand new bathrooms suites and also some minor refurbishment in the bedroom. The hotel itself has a range of rooms that offer either full or part refurbishment and also some that are still awaiting, therefore they are all priced and categorised accordingly.


We encourage all our guests whilst here to share all feedback with our team in order that we can deal with issues swiftly and effectively during your stay. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the staff here, which will be passed on.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Now, the hotel itself in areas is looking a bit tired and I'm not going to lie, at times there are some odd and fusty smells in the corridors but the staff are always fantastic here and can't do enough for you.

We have stayed at the western sometimes up to 3 or 4 times a year for the past 4 years (maybe even 5!) and have stayed in a standard room, standard plus room, premium room and superior room.

When we come for our holiday in August, we generally stay for at least 10 days but always end up adding on a couple more by the time the holiday actually comes around!

As the western is quite expensive, we tend to stay in the standard rooms to keep costs down. These rooms are/were very outdated and in need of a good renovating but they are always cleaned to a high standard and the beds have always been really comfortable! To us, clean and comfortable was all that mattered as the room was literally a base - we don't intend on being in our room for the holiday!

As we have stayed so many times, we requested the same standard room that we have used in previous years.

We found that this room had now been redecorated and was classed as a 'standard plus'. Having stayed in the premium rooms, we expected that the room would have been redecorated to the same specification and quality but without the seaview - as that is what you get for your money when paying for a premium room.

When we arrived, it was really dissapointing to see that their definition of redecorated was different to ours!

The bathroom had been replaced with a new, shiny suite and was really nice. The rest of the room however was not done to the same standards.

The same old tired carpet was still there together with the same tired, pine furniture and brass fittings.

What had changed was, new curtains, new scatter cushions to match said curtains, a new picture, lamp shade and table lamp. Oh and the walls had been repainted by someone who I can only assume was very conscious of how many other rooms they had to get done that day!

The light switches and sockets that related to the bathroom had been replaced by lovely brushed steel ones however, the remainder of the room still had the old brass ones!

The brass fittings in the rest of the room were covered in splattered paint and they had even gone to the trouble of painting around the mirror rather than taking it off the wall! To highlight how little effort had been put into redecorating the rooms - one of the old light switches still didn't didn't work and the old lights still flickered!

It was really quite poor to be honest and having witnessed the quality the GW are capable of, we couldn't help but feel disappointed.

Although disappointed we figured that so long as the bed was comfortable, we would still have a good stay and possibly rethink our choice of hotel next year.

That night though, my partner sat on the mattress expecting it to be as comfortable as it had been in previous years - unfortunately, it was far from it.

When my partner sat down, he could feel the frame of the bed through the mattress and he overall mattress itself had seen better days.

As this was our first day, we decided to put the level of discomfort down to having been awake for quite some time (having travelled in the early hours of that morning) and just decided to make do.

Through the week, we both became increasingly sore and achy from sleeping on the mattress and after a week of it, both of us were struggling to get out of bed - not what you come on holiday for! By this point, we had both had enough and thought something needed to be done as it was ruining our holiday by having little to no sleep each night! The only person who was sleeping was our 4 month old son in his travel cot!

That morning I went down to reception and spoke to a lovely lady called Bex who was more than happy to help and very understanding.

I left the matter with Bex and by the end of our breakfast we had been given a much more suitable room and the mattress was excellent!

We very much enjoyed our stay from this point and are hoping to go back later on in the year for a stay in one of the premium rooms.

Thanks again to Bex and also the other lady who helped to make our stay better (I feel so bad that I didn't catch her name - but she was from chorley!)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HSiddall18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel over the recent bank holiday weekend, we arrived in Newquay at 10am and were allowed to leave the car in the carpark which was great. We returned to check in at about 2.20pm and were able to check into our room, however our room should definitely be classed as a 'last let'. We didnt book a sea view room however our view was 3 biffa bins, and the back of an indian restaurant which smelt quite bad. On one morning I overheard the hotel chefs conversation as their smoke crept into the room through the window. On the Saturday night we returned to the hotel with dominos' pizza which was later thrown away by the housekeeping staff...half of the £30 we spent on the pizza gone!
It was okay but I wouldnt return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am sorry to hear that after you stay with us at The Great Western you would choose not to return again.

The Great Western has an ongoing refurbishment programme and has a range of room types which are priced and categorised accordingly. Some are fully refurbished, spacious with sea views, some are smaller, un-refurbished and have views to the side or the front of the building. Our housekeeping team are extremely diligent when cleaning all areas of the hotel so I can only apologise that the food you purchased was then cleared from your room the next day. Your comments have been passed on the designated manager.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope you will re-consider visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Me and my husband spend a lot of time in Newquay and we stayed here over the bank holiday weekend. We booked a superior room which was lovely, big and clean but we were a little disappointed with the sea view as we were on the 1st floor. I would try and get a 2nd floor room for better elevated sea views.
There are many corridors and it's like a maze trying to find your room but it is signposted well.
Only real dissapointment for us was the noise during the night in the halls although upon complaining the reception did tell us that the halls are monitored during the evenings and no stag or hen parties are accepted. Perhaps we were unlucky but never less we didn't sleep well and unfortunately won't be staying here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte186373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise that on this occasion there was a level of noise that disturbed you. Reception is manned 24hr hours a day and the night porters are available to resolve any issues that might occur during the night and also to monitor the building. We don’t take large groups or hen and stag parties and if we are aware of the noise in the building we will endeavour to resolve the situation quickly. We apologise for the inconvenience this caused you and hope that you will reconsider us for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay but seriously need to open windows on corridors as they smelt fusty! Rooms very basic and pillows and mattress were horrible for me as they were like laying on wood, did not sleep very well. Also as we were facing the main road it was like the sun streaming through the curtains due to lights shining onto the hotel. The breakfasts were lovely and the waitresses and bar staff were lovely too. The location was excellent and only a very short walk to pubs, restaurants and beach. If they had a comfy mattress and pillows i would stay here again and only if it was on the back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsabelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry there were aspects of your stay that you were not happy with. The hotel has a range of rooms, some of which are very spacious and have recently been refurbished and some smaller un-refurbished rooms that are categorised and priced accordingly. We do encourage guests to share all feedback whilst here to our team in order that we can deal with issues swiftly and effectively during your stay. All the points you have made have been noted and will be dealt with.

Thank you for the lovely comments regarding breakfast, location and our staff. We hope that you would consider visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing