We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We got a great rate for the Easter weekend. We stayed in one of the old rooms (they are being refurbished soon) and it wasn't perfect but worth the price. The room was a good size and clean. The staff at the reception were brilliant. Really helpful and friendly. The Steam bar and restaurant in the hotel are great! Amazing view and really nice food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toxbebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    283
    111
    45
    41
See reviews for
125
434
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. The staff were all very friendly and happy to help.
Our room was immaculately clean and kept that way through out the stay.

We would def stay here again and I would highly recommend the hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazmcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Me and my girlfriend (in our twenties) got a great rate for the superior room in this hotel, there are 3 and have all been renovated recently ! The room was massive and brilliantly decorated , we had beach views with nothing in the way (apart from a rubbish building next door , which we covered with a curtain , out of sight out of mind) it was ace!
The staff were so friendly and helpful, always saying hi, the bar isn't our thing but the food was great , it also has great views ! We surfed and came back in sandy etc , but they didnt mind at all and cleaned the room to the highest standard ! What else can I say , for the rate it was a gem!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waldan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Great Western Hotel Newquay. Had the best room we have ever stayed in.
Room 231 was suggested to us when we booked and we were not disappointed. We had a bay window with seating around a small table overlooking all the Great Western Beach. Food was excellent and the Hotel was very quiet perhaps because of the time of year but all in all we couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Choose top floor and room 231 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fresmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here with friends. It's a big rambling old fashioned hotel with plenty of long narrow corridors and steps and could do with a lick of paint in places. We enjoyed our stay here because it's located right in the centre of the town. The main strip is an easy walk and there are beaches on both sides of the hotel. It has a small car park and an even smaller overflow car park which you have to book in advance and pay extra for. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. The staff I dealt with were lovely. The only problem is that it's hard to get a quite drink nearby, it's either the hotel bar with all the kids running around or the bars on the strip, nothing in between, cant blame the hotel for that though. The little pasty shop across the street is quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bayside101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

After the dreadful recent weather we were put off our usual Easter camping trip & booked this hotel the night before we left for Newquay.

The trip advisor reviews were good & coupled with the hotels bargain offer of £35 per night we were sold!

On arrival we were thrilled with our premier room. A spacious, light & airy room (I assume a recent refurbed room) with an amazing view of Tolcarne beach.

We had requested parking on our online booking form, which on arrival had been allocated in the overflow car park 50 yards from the hotel entrance for £5 per day, which was added to our bill.

The room was cleaned daily & tea/coffee & biscuit supplies were replenished each time.

The hotel bar/restaurant "Steam" gave further sea views! The breakfast at £5.95 for a full Cornish really was excellent. We also enjoyed an evening meal there. Good value food which tasted incredibly fresh.

From the back of the hotel you were pretty much on the beach, perfect for a mornings walk.

In summary an enjoyable 4 night stay at a well run & fantastic value for money establishment. With wonderful sea views & conveniently placed with both the town & beaches on the doorstep. What more can you ask for?!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rpops26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Cannot fault this hotel at all, even though redecorating was being done at the time.
Staff friendly and helpful and no problems at all. Even if you don't stay here the view from the restaurant overlooking the bay is worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneaky-Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
879 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing