We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel would highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. The staff were all very friendly and happy to help.
Our room was immaculately clean and kept that way through out the stay.

We would def stay here again and I would highly recommend the hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cazmcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
There are newer reviews for Great Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 894 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Me and my girlfriend (in our twenties) got a great rate for the superior room in this hotel, there are 3 and have all been renovated recently ! The room was massive and brilliantly decorated , we had beach views with nothing in the way (apart from a rubbish building next door , which we covered with a curtain , out of sight out of mind) it was ace!
The staff were so friendly and helpful, always saying hi, the bar isn't our thing but the food was great , it also has great views ! We surfed and came back in sandy etc , but they didnt mind at all and cleaned the room to the highest standard ! What else can I say , for the rate it was a gem!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waldan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Great Western Hotel Newquay. Had the best room we have ever stayed in.
Room 231 was suggested to us when we booked and we were not disappointed. We had a bay window with seating around a small table overlooking all the Great Western Beach. Food was excellent and the Hotel was very quiet perhaps because of the time of year but all in all we couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Choose top floor and room 231 if possible.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fresmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here with friends. It's a big rambling old fashioned hotel with plenty of long narrow corridors and steps and could do with a lick of paint in places. We enjoyed our stay here because it's located right in the centre of the town. The main strip is an easy walk and there are beaches on both sides of the hotel. It has a small car park and an even smaller overflow car park which you have to book in advance and pay extra for. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. The staff I dealt with were lovely. The only problem is that it's hard to get a quite drink nearby, it's either the hotel bar with all the kids running around or the bars on the strip, nothing in between, cant blame the hotel for that though. The little pasty shop across the street is quality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bayside101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

After the dreadful recent weather we were put off our usual Easter camping trip & booked this hotel the night before we left for Newquay.

The trip advisor reviews were good & coupled with the hotels bargain offer of £35 per night we were sold!

On arrival we were thrilled with our premier room. A spacious, light & airy room (I assume a recent refurbed room) with an amazing view of Tolcarne beach.

We had requested parking on our online booking form, which on arrival had been allocated in the overflow car park 50 yards from the hotel entrance for £5 per day, which was added to our bill.

The room was cleaned daily & tea/coffee & biscuit supplies were replenished each time.

The hotel bar/restaurant "Steam" gave further sea views! The breakfast at £5.95 for a full Cornish really was excellent. We also enjoyed an evening meal there. Good value food which tasted incredibly fresh.

From the back of the hotel you were pretty much on the beach, perfect for a mornings walk.

In summary an enjoyable 4 night stay at a well run & fantastic value for money establishment. With wonderful sea views & conveniently placed with both the town & beaches on the doorstep. What more can you ask for?!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rpops26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Cannot fault this hotel at all, even though redecorating was being done at the time.
Staff friendly and helpful and no problems at all. Even if you don't stay here the view from the restaurant overlooking the bay is worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sneaky-Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

During a deal, paid £35 for a premium room. These are the newly refurbished rooms with a sea view. Room was amazing; huuuuge room, gigantic bed (and a single bed in ours), lovely furnishings, brand new bathroom, etc. The room was extremely clean. Service from staff was excellent and the lady working on the bar downstairs was lovely. Didn't eat there but found plenty of places to eat within walking distance. I would definitely reccomend the little kahuna, by the cinema, fantastic little hidden gem with amazing freshly cooked dishes. Location was amazing, literally right by the beach, I imagine it would be lovely during the summer months.There was workmen around but didn't cause any disruption. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it, definitely fantastic value for money!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachhh_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $47 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing