We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good for the Price”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Ok.......Paid £35 for a premier double room over looking the ocean on the 16th March 2013. Nice clean room, very nice bathroom and excellent tea and coffee facilities. Nice folder of information and BIG bed. Mattress was a bit too soft for us but you can't please all of the people all of the time. So far so good and is kicking Premier Inn well in the wotsits. Barbara the Hotel receptionist was great on arrival and very friendly (Big thumbs up). So great nights sleep considering the mattress and the storm that was battering the hotel. The only thing that was a little disapointing in the room was the size of the TV a 19" wall mounted jobbie...far too small!

Room and decor 9/10

The corridors were being decorated when we arrived so a spruce up going on before the summer season but all works had been left tidy and that reassuring smell of fresh paint.

Now....all the hard work that had been put in kind of went to pot at breakfast. Unfortunately the staff were not quite on the ball and seemed rather more interested in setting up for a reception of sorts. My wife actually asked if we were in the right room for breakfast as we were sat being ignored/overlooked. We saw the staff as we entered the room, were not greeted and the format was not outlined to us. Apparently we should have seen a sign (that was not put out) informing us that we had to order our breakfast at the bar etc.
I would have liked to have been treated like you are at a Premier in, where the staff say good morning, let you know where everything is, show or suggest you sit down and tell you that they will be back to take your hot food order.

I will say the coffee was hot and fresh and tasted great, the staff once they had got a bit of focus served us at the till/bar and asked if we wanted cereals and Juice. The quality of the breakfast was very good with a nice selection of brown granary toast (we were given the choice of either white or brown). They also accommodated my wifes request for extra real grilled tomato rather than baked beans and the eggs were cooked to perfection as was the bacon.
Food quality and presentation 10/10
Service in breakfast room 6/10

I have to say a little more work and focus on breakfast hospitality is required and the duty manager should be taking full responsibility for this shortfall and spend a little more time on training. This is the last and biggest impression the hotel made on us and one that is damaging what would have been a great review. Duty manager get it together the buck stops with you!!!

Overall VERY GOOD but I have ticked EXCELLENT if it had not been for the breakfast issue.

Will I go back, well that depends on the Hotels response to my points about sorting the staffs approach and hospitality skills out.

Room Tip: room 234 is nice and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    294
    118
    47
    42
See reviews for
132
465
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed for just a night (March 6th 2013). On arrival, we were informed of on going refurbishment, but the workmen cleared up when they had finished and it didn't disrupt our stay. Fantastic view over the bay, friendly staff, very comfortable room so can't fault it. My first time in Newquay and I will be back very soon.

Room Tip: sea view, and you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobblers9798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was a bit skeptical when we first arrived because we had some trouble finding the parking lot and the first appearance on the inside of the hotel seemed very rundown and in need of refurbishment. However, once we saw the view from our room we were so pleased to stay there! There was a beautiful panoramic view of the sea through three huge windows! Fell asleep watching the sunset and woke up to the sunrise over crashing waves. Would definitely return just to see this view again and stay in the lovely clean, cozy room.

Room Tip: Request the rooms with the panoramic view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel has an excellent frontage and the welcome was warm and friendly. The room was in the 'annexe' and not too taxing a walk.But the view over Tolcarnne beach is amazing! Truly spectacular. Very comfortable bed and a lovely clean room.
We stayed Valentines night and spent a wonderful evening in the restaurant which had been decorated beautifully for the event.The staff were excellent-welcoming and very helpful.Food was superb with a free glass of champers!
The hotel is right on a headland with a roadway to Great Western Beach. An excellent way to spend an afternoon- a walk on the beach(or surf for the energetic) and then a glass of wine watching the sun go down. We will be back!!

Room Tip: request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Booked only a couple of days before arriving at the hotel. Good first impression of the reception area. We were on the first floor, and managed to get a partial sea view, which was a bonus as we hadn't asked for one! We were in one of the rooms still to be refurbished, but the room was still clean and all we needed for a nights stay. Bathroom was a bit pokey, but you can cope for a night! Only downside was all the creaky floorboards! Every time people moved on the floor above the floorboards would creak and groan! I would expect that this will get sorted with the refurb though! All in all, a very nice stay, and I would stay again if the price was right!

Room Tip: Try and get a top floor room to avoid those creaky floorboards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiandLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at the great western with my girlfriend for two nights in (room 126) with a lovely sea view through a big bay window that's from ceiling too floor! Such gorgeous panoramic views over the Atlantic coast! The bed was lovely and comfy, room nice and warm and cosy. The place was very clean and en-suite bathroom was brilliant, would definitely recommend getting premier or even superior room. In the mornings I'd make tea/hot chocolate and we'd sit at the table and chairs in the bay window and watch the sun rise. It was just lovely! Food was nice next door in the steam bar, with plenty of other restaurants and shops nearby I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StraightFlexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

we stayed here wednesday for the second time we didnt book just turned up had a fab room with sea view,the staff are very helpful nd friendly and will do anything to help with anything very clean even tho it was being updated will be staying here the next time we go aswell and will recommend to friends

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjclaire72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing