We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody great time!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had an offer or £216 for 4 nights at the Great Western in Newquay, I phoned to upgrade to a sea view room and was given an upgrade to a small sea view room for no extra charge. We paid £20 parking, which was in the car park, great stuff! Our room was a recently renovated standard room, really nicely done lovely spotlessly clean room with amazing views of both the harbour and beaches, okay it was small but perfectly adequate, my husband and I are not small and could move about easily. Lovely new bathroom too, shower powers bit hit and miss but you could wash easily, nice big shower cubicle. The hotel is in the process of being refurbished and in places a bit run down and dated, and the windows could do with a good clean, we had a trek to our third floor room, but don't mind this at all, all of the staff were lovely, hard working and helpful. Breakfast was great value and we ate an evening meal once there which was great. Seaviews at breakfast unbeatable. All in all a fab stay and definitely stay there again, in fact can't wait!! Be glad to see how it looks when it's finished being renovated, but in the meantime clean the windows it will make vast improvement!!

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to sea view room if you can,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaThomas1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 935 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

A last minute break for a night for my fiancée and I. I knew I'd done well when my other half walked in to the room and just stopped and said "wow"! Luck of the draw meant we were in 217, the honeymoon suite. Fantastic views, friendly staff and good food. The only thing that could be improved is the stair case/stair well which is dated. Overall- we will be coming back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieran1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Myself and partner stay at this hotel twice a year and have been doing so for the past four years. We've never had a bad experience, some of the rooms have absolutely phenomenal views. The staff are always very friendly and polite, and the service in the restaurant is excellent, just the right amount of care and attention without being over bearing. The hotel easily has the best beer garden in newquay. We look forward to our next visit in April 2013

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed on 14th October on a last minute visit to Newquay. More convenient to travel on a Sunday so stayed at the Great Western on the Sunday night before continuing to our holiday accommodation. Checked online and booked a budget room and a parking space. We have stayed here before and so no hesitation, as we've always had excellent service at this hotel.

We booked a budget room for £29 as we were only staying one night. Expected it to be very basic. We were very surprised. It was very warm, cosy and clean. Shower was very good and a flat screen TV. Complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate and nice Cornish biscuits.

We didn't have a view but it was lovely and quiet. We had a very good night's sleep in a very comfy bed. Could easily have stayed for a week in that room.

Reception and bar staff are very friendly, as always. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A fantastic hotel, room and first class service throughout our stay. From the moment i booked our room we were looked after wonderfully. Our room had panoramic views of the ocean & beach. The room & facilities were great. Our meals were lovely & the staff so friendly & welcoming. We even had the pleasure of watching a pod of dolphins swimming across the bay from our room windows. Well worth the six hour drive, great value & highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ONODEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Booked a budget room for two nights and wasnt diappointed. Hotel room was clean and food was brilliant. Have rebooked for November. Another good thing is the hotel is situated just across from the railway station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

In September 2012 we stayed at the Great Western (group of 44 best agers from Germany). What a warm welcome. What fine staff - very friendly and attentive. For us (language school from Germany) this was an experiment. It was well planned to stay with our "goldies" in a hotel normally not booked by Germans. And it worked. Better said it was a great success.We felt warmly welcomed as staff spoke slowly and gave their best to help even beginners of English. Check in was easy and well organized. Our rooms were very good (Premium rooms), newly furbished and clean. All had a stunning sea view. All members of our group were very excited and pleased. No complaints at all. Most members of our group also enjoyed dinner at the "Steam" and the relaxed atmosphere. After an exhausting day, they did not need to go somewhere else. I need to mention again that the team of the Great Western is excellent - or better said outstanding. The were the ones who created the relaxed atmosphere that made you feel at home so easily. For sure we will book the "Great Western" again. Plans to return in 2013 are already in process.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friederike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,438 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $53 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing