We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Griffin Inn

The Griffin Inn
Ranked #37 of 231 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A cosy cornish family run business With our restaurant and bar menu offering a traditional English menu incorporating homemade dishes using local produce whenever possible. We offer facilities for private functions catering from weddings,birthday parties to wakes and corporate functions. Our newly furnished bedrooms are sure to make your stay a comfortable one with double,twin and family rooms available. With a great full English breakfast in the morning to fuel you up for the day ahead. We have free on site parking, and Wi-Fi, and of course all areas have disabled access.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We've just had a delicious lunch at The Giffin Inn .... my partner had the freshest Turbot and I had the tastiest rib eye steak, perfectly cooked xxxx we cannot recommend it enough. Definitely, well worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank snobnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    150
    51
    16
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Julie and Charlie Newquay (Great Carvery)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Fantastic food and really good selection .Carvery excellent value and so fresh and tasty. Really lovely staff especially Tina, excellent service with a smile. Will definitely eat here again.Thank you

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 532213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“family meal out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Ten of us went to the Griffin on a Wednesday night & what an awesome meal we had!
The food is wonderful, we all ordered different things & not one of us had anything to moan about. The staff are amazing, especially Gina who's welcome feels like she has known you for years.
Will be going back the next time we are in Newquay for sure.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lunch surprise after my forgotten Birthday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Went to the Griffin Inn, what a great lunch time treat we found!
We were luck enough to be able to sit outside in the Sun, we had fresh local beef burgers, chicken breasts, salads and dips. As well great tasting fries and wedges.
The standard was really good with a great warm welcome from all the staff, a proper local Restaurant, with all the extras that you expect, but don't have to ask for ! We Hot Chocolate and a Latte from the Bar after, freshly made! A real treat even if everyone forgot my Birthday!
Will be sure to try the Griffin Inn again, but after Bugle Band Contest.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went here on a sunday and had their Carvery,it cost about £9 at the time and was pretty good value. Drinks were cheap, for 1 carvery and one BBQ chicken and chips (has cheese on the chicken) plus two cokes came to about £25 but it was good portions and fresh. Not the cheapest meal we had in Newquay but not bad. Would probably on go there once a week as a treat though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Griffin Inn also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Griffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing