We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge meal”
Review of The Griffin Inn

The Griffin Inn
Ranked #35 of 241 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A cosy cornish family run business With our restaurant and bar menu offering a traditional English menu incorporating homemade dishes using local produce whenever possible. We offer facilities for private functions catering from weddings,birthday parties to wakes and corporate functions. Our newly furnished bedrooms are sure to make your stay a comfortable one with double,twin and family rooms available. With a great full English breakfast in the morning to fuel you up for the day ahead. We have free on site parking, and Wi-Fi, and of course all areas have disabled access.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Huge meal”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had two meals at this friendly pub steaks with all the trimmings,and spaghetti bolognaise the next evening. Three of us were eating and the meals were all very good, did not have to wait long reasonably priced and huge portions. My only criticism was there was no air con and it was very hot in there,no space outside left to eat. Would recommend this as a good choice to eat whilst in newquay

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    171
    52
    21
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best ribeye steaks I have every had.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

My steak was excellent. My wife's fish was not to the same standard so overall a score of 4.

Would try again but like to eat at different places.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gadget-Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice Bar”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Called in this pub twice, once for a drink and second time for a meal.
Tend to have special nights Wednesday was pie night, place was very full nice inside.
Staff very friendly and nice menu, I went for Steak an ale pie, and wife Spag Bowl!
Both meals came quickly pie meat was tender but very dry, as if if been made some time.
Asked for some gravy and this seemed to do the trick, wife was not given a spoon just knife and fork for Spag?!
So quick service but we thought only average meal, but lots of people dining, so may have just been my meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ian_barker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“value for money”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

meals good standard. and good value,staff very good and polite ,tina manageress very good nothing too much trouble

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dasb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

There is nearly always a table for "us " when we come here for a meal . Everyone is so helpful especially Tina,she like the others always come and check whether everything is up to standard. There's a very good children's menu and our son now enjoys chooses his own food. There is also free Wi - Fi. Well done Steve for everything !!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Griffin Inn also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Griffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing