We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Food, Brilliant Service, Brilliant Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butchers Bistro

Butchers Bistro
Ranked #11 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $31
Cuisines: European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cornish Steak and seafood,serving the finest of steak and seafood with an emphasis on local suppliers.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food, Brilliant Service, Brilliant Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Myself, my Girlfriend and her parents were in Newquay for a few days. We didn't know where to go eat especially in the middle of the week in March when everything is quiet. We came past this restaurant and met the owner/ head chef outside. We were greeted so warmly it was lovely he showed us inside and made us feel comfortable. The guy is a great host and deserves every bit of business with his fantastic way of cooking and the menu he has is excellent. We all loved the atmosphere within the restaurant and even when we were eating our mains he came out of the kitchen to make sure everything was ok.

Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    76
    31
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
newquay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

considering what they charge you should expect an all round excellant dinning experience.as a family im sure we would have been treated better in burger king

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newquayblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dining out on a weekend break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Was recommended this restaurant and decided to give it a try. Shouldn't have bothered really! I found the prices slightly excessive and a lack of atmosphere. Waiting staff attentive. Ordered a sirloin steak, medium rare and it was a bit chewy to say the least, along with a blue cheese & port sauce which was runny and tasteless. Would not go back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
“Scott vasc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

BEST STEAK IVE EVER HAD BY FAR !!
Beats Marco Pierre White 'the white room' by a mile !!!
Loved my valentines meal and will defiantly be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steak was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Visited with my partner and I ordered steak medium rare. It came much rarer than I would have ordered (blue really) but it was great! Good value too. Having read some of the comments about the female owner/manager, I'd agree; it was my only negative observation, she didn't seem interested and didn't acknowledge us when we walked in, choosing to carry on working on her laptop instead. But the waiter made up for that with great service. We visited out of season so it was really quiet, I'd imagine the atmosphere is better in the summer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keefster37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butchers Bistro also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Butchers Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing