We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bitterly dissapointed”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #66 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bright and modern, Pizza Express offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bitterly dissapointed”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Food was very unpleasant. Staff looked like they wanted to be anywhere but at work. Restaurant however looked nice, great view and was clean and the service was quick.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kevinmsowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    86
    49
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dagenham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just like any PE”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Food and service the same as in all the other Pizza Expresses I've been to, very good. Went at night so can't comment on the view

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janjohnson2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal at Pizza Express while staying in Porth, Newquay. The location was great and the food was okay .... The restaurant is clean, the service is friendly but that's about it ... Food not great, but okay. I won't be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Severn38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlander (UK)
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A tale of town and city”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

First, the food in both the Newquay and the Truro Pizza Express was good, tasty pizza fare-nothing th choose between them. As the name implies, we use it when we have fussy eaters and young children because the service is generally quick and there is always something for everyone to eat. However, our two visits, one in the evening and one at 2pm in the afternoon could not have been more different.

On Saturday night a family group of 9 noisy and indecisive eaters visited Newquay. We booked in advance but even so could only get a table at 8-good sign. When we arrived, we were greeted courteously and seated immediately. The service was friendly, very efficient and very attentive. Felipe, our waiter, was mortified that he couldn't put a jug of tap water to the table as we sat down but did manage to get one shortly after seating. Our order was taken, advice given and in all, a really pleasant experience-just what we expected with a extra sparkle on the service side.

Contrast with our visit next day to Truro. With no particular plans, we ended up in Truro at lunch time and having the same picky eaters with us but no noisy elder children, we decided to go back to Pizza Express-the overstay on the car parking had not been anticipated but it wasn't just that which gave me indigestion! We rocked up at lunchtime but no room so we booked for 2, after the dinner rush. On arrival we were taken to our seats-and left. Our order was taken within 10 minutes but from there on in, it was a nightmare. Having sat for 40 minutes waiting for an almost identical meal for 6 I felt compelled to ask where our food was. During that time, we had all finished our drinks, watched the charming waitress biting her nails at the till and speculated on whether the staff were aware that transparent black leggings and white underwear was not a professional nor smart attire . We were offered no water, no additional drinks and scant apology for having to ask where our food was. We were not the only disgruntled diners-the young girls next to us kept looking pleadingly at the waitreses but being younger, I assume they didn't have the confidence to ask for their food. It wasn't that all the waitress and cooking staff were sitting down on the job-just some and those that were busy weren't working on getting us fed.

It just goes to show that you can have attractive food (or in some restaurants just passable food) but in essence, it's the service that makes the difference.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank achilles1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unsloppy Guiseppe!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great location, very busy. Having visited before we booked ahead. Great views of the ocean BUT for heaven sake clean the windows! I have eaten at PE's all over the country and love the Sloppy G. The cooks just could not cope with the number of customers. What a disappointment. Basically they have to put ingredients on the dough and cook it. The pizza arrived with hardly any meat on and it was dry as a bone as was my wife's. Come on PE, get more staff or re-train the ones you have. If you are going to charge for a pizza deliver one that's edible. Well below par. Bought a Sloppy from Tesco today - much better! Next time I will take one of those in and ask them to heat it up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Truro, Truro District
St Ives, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing