We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like all other restaurants in the chain”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #66 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bright and modern, Pizza Express offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“Like all other restaurants in the chain”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you have been to a Pizza Express at another location hen you will instantly recognise the layout and the menu on offer. Our visit was spoiled by several children being allowed by parents nd staff to run around screaming....great for them but not for the other customers!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cfab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    86
    49
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Views”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went in this restaurant on a weekend break. We hadn't booked but were found a table for two overlooking the beach, which was a lovely view. Quick, friendly service. Food was lovely as always in Pizza Express.

The restaurant was clean and modern looking and I would eat here again if ever in Newquay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shame that Express was just a name not an action”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had reservations at 7 and turned up early at 6.45 to be told they could not seat us until 7 even though there were plenty of empty tables that could have seated our party. Manager's attitude was poor but the rest of the staff were friendly. Had to wait too long for service. Food was good when it arrived. We sat for 40 minutes waiting for our main meal plates to be cleared and to be offered dessert - we didn't bother in the end and just asked for the bill as we didn't want to wait another hour for our desserts!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KNN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great views. Happy kids”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Something for everyone. Great place to take fussy kids! Desserts especially popular. Great start to our holiday. Sea views. Watching the sunset.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank YellowDubDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Very Good Well looked after”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

On the spur of the moment a group of 14 of us decided to go out for pizza (age ranges from 60-80) We arrived at about 8pm and were greeted very pleasantly - when we said 14 no problem but please wait a minute while we sort out a table or would we be happy on 2 tables - we would we said but then they decided they could give us a large table in one area. The staff were very pleasant and got drinks for us quickly whilst we looked at menus. The food was very good -piping hot and fitted the menu descriptions perfectly. Although the restaurant was busy there was no push to get us to finish quickly and the satff regularly checked to see if we wanted naything else. We were in a back area but the main part of the restaurant has excellent views out over the sea.
Would certainly recommend this to any age group or palate

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Truro, Truro District
St Ives, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Threemilestone, Truro District
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing