We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I would not stay at this hotel or recommend it , breakfast poor , head waiters clothes covered in food 3 days on the trot. And trots is what we got , rooms awfull smelly dirty and very old , pool changing rooms dirty and stank did nt dare try the pool , I believe the receptionist left her job as she was fed up of complaints from guest of dirty tired old rooms , and the head waiter who lives in the hotel decided to smoke drugs and put guest & staff at risk ,
All the staff were talking about this as if it was the norm and not the 1 st time either. The only good thing about this stay was jem behind the bar who tried his hardest throughout our stay .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Crazimich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 690 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a hotel nearby and wanted to play snooker. After searching we found that the Hotel California had a snooker table that anyone could play. So please bear in mind that we did not stay at the hotel and cannot comment on the food or rooms.
We were greeted by the friendly staff at reception, who assumed we were local, due to our strange request and they gave us the key to the snooker room,after a £5 deposit (not £5 an hour, as stated on their website).
We were given directions to the snooker room but had difficulty finding it, due to poor signage and layout of the hotel.
However whilst trying to find it, we did see the indoor pool, function room, bowling alley, bar and outdoor pool. All of which seemed adequate, though dated.
We did eventually find the snooker room after a man, who we weren't even sure if he even worked there but was directing many guests, showed us where it was.
The snooker room was musty, smelling like an elderly relatives home, hotter than the sun and reminiscent of the billiards room in the Cludo board game.
It was even referred to as 'the billiards room' by several elderly guests who walked by. We did not see any guests under the age of sixty.
The snooker table was old, the cloth ripped at one end, missing the long rests and no spider rests. The snooker balls were old, well used but serviceable.
We decided to leave after one game, during which several guests walked by because they could not find their rooms.
As stated by other reviewers the lobby has been recently refurbished but the rest of the hotel needs refreshing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PirusPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel recently, the reception was nice and the staff friendly (only saw one girl whilst we were there), but maybe not professional. The rooms were very clean but really shabby and in real need of doing up, with broken tiles, painted shut windows and old dated furniture.

We had a room above the kitchen and from 7.00am we would be woken up by the kitchen staff who were swearing, shouting and throwing stuff around, we could hear every word they said, not relaxing at all.

The breakfast was terrible from what a friend said, we didn't eat there as we thought this might be the case, my friend was even sick afterwards which, she said, made her feel much better!

The indoor pool facilities were pretty bad, why have felt floor around a pool?! mmmm lovely constant dampness and squidgy feeling under the feet, it was shabby, cold Jacuzzi and we were told a sauna would take 30mins to heat up, needless to say, I stayed in the pool for about 5 minutes.

It really is a shame as the view is great and the place could be magical, the reception was decorated well with nice art work, someone had obviously taken time to decorate this, shame it didn't spread across the whole hotel.

Far far from 'luxury' as the hotel is described and I don't care what anyone says about price, I do not want to be woken up at 7am no matter how cheap the room is! Really wonder how it got 3 stars?! We will definitely not stay again.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here!
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank rebecca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Only stayed here as was the only hotel or B&B that had spare rooms and I can see why.
The room was small, not that clean and the bathroom was quite dirty, old and moldy. The breakfast is no better, the worst type of bad English cooking. It is about a 15 minute walk across open grassland to the town centre. The view down to the water is nice enough but the price of the rooms are not. How this place is still 3 * is a mystery.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thetravelbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at the hotel had to move room noise of boiler all night rooms at back are little better very dirty dog and fag smell in the room very warn and tired could do with a make over its stuck in time lobby and lounge looks posh and well kept rooms are not worth the money they are asking .no internet conection if more than 20 on line and prices do not include spa jaccuzie charged at £6 for 15 min so passed on that one and u need to book in advance for it . Breakfast was cheap sousages and beans very basic we went in to town full fry up for £3.50 spot on not £6 each at hotel and extra £4 for room service per person ... Shame as hotel is in fab location buitifull. Views at the back of hotel .rooms at front very compact small like travel lodge standered if u can say that . We went for our anaversery and was disapointed when u have to pay extra for everything idividualy would have been better at premier in ...very disapointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank liz1970liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute. The reviews we saw at the time weren't that bad. On arriving at the hotel we walked into the reception area, which looked lovely. Small tables and chairs scattered before an open stone fireplace. The receptionist was really friendly, and gave us a map of the area plus her own advice on where to go and eat etc..
We went to our room. On first inspection it looked ok. The linen on the bed was clean etc. However, the bathroom was dated and had a toilet roll holder that should have been in a public loo...when we used the shower though, it was really nice in that the temperature stayed even and had a good flow of water. The drinking glasses that were provided were not clean though. We had to wash them before use. The furniture was really dated. All window frames needed replacing. Our window pane in the bathroom was literally falling out of the frame itself. The view from the hotel was lovely though and the location was really good too. Not far really to walk into town or down to the sea. Breakfast was ok, but not great. They need more choice. There were 3 jugs of orange coloured juice. We're they all orange juice or were they mango...don't know, not labelled. 3 jugs of milk. Nothing to say whether they were full fat, semi skimmed, skimmed or soya. The sugar bowl on our table looked as though other people had used their wet spoon, then placed it in the sugar bowl, so that it was lumpy and brown. I asked the waitress if it could be replaced. She was very nice, apologised but switched our bowl of sugar with the bowl of sugar from the next table. Not good. The coffee came without teaspoons. So, there's the problem. They need to provide each cup with a teaspoon plus a spoon in the sugar bowl. The table cloth was not clean and the following day it was exactly the same. How often do they change the linen? No napkins either. All of this was disappointing but having said that we actually enjoyed our stay due to the scenery etc. we would go back but, don't know if we would go to this particular hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank myhotSole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this via a Bid For It site as a "Champagne Candlelit |Dinner for Two"......so please consider that when you read this review.

When we called to book, we spoke to Kirsty, who was very nice. She advised us that a better room was 302, so we paid a small supplement to up-grade (and was not disappointed)

The hotel is located in the midst of houses but once inside the gates, you would not know it. It also has quite a large car park.

Reception - we were kept waiting for about 5 mins and a man (who I now know was the barman) tried to help but could not book us in? When when the lady arrived, she apologised for being away but mentioned she had been working since 0800 with no break and clearly they were understaffed. However check in was then quick and efficient. Reception is quite grand, open and bright. Maybe as an idea staff should be crossed trained to assist each other in each department...and then the barman could have helped!!

The room was in fact a suite and although old, it was clean,tidy and roomy. The decor was not to my personal taste but the views were amazing, and with a balcony. A few cobwebs again showed the room was not fully cleaned. One small thing....if the balcony was fitted with frosted glass, it would make it more private. In the morning when we opened the blinds, there were people on the area below and they could look straight into our room (as could anyone on the next balcony)

Drinks - these I felt were slightly pricey!! One pint & a gin and ginger ale came to almost £9.00. It was cheaper on a recent cruise!! If I was a local I would not be using the hotel to drink in as it is too expensive. Also, although the bar man was friendly when he occasionally spoke, tables were not cleared or cleaned so you sat with several empty glasses on the table and considering it was pretty quiet, unsure what else he did other than stand behind the bar? If its advirtised as a hotel, you expect hotel standards. However the bar area, tables, chairs etc....were plentiful. Plenty of space to sit.

The achilles heal for this hotel was the meal. Remember this was advertised as a Champagne Candlelit Dinner For 2. The table was set for 4 people and at no time were the additional place settings removed.There was no candle!! The champagne was in ice (nice) but the food....well, maybe the chef had a night off. A choice of stew (braising steak), breaded fish or pasta dish....which we went for!! It was in a red hot bowl and was just pasta in a sauce from a jar with an occasional piece of veg. Garlic Bread that crunchy!! Very uninspiring!! We asked if the cheesecake was home-made and was assured it was....however the top layer peeled off and the middle part was tasteless and powdery. It may have been home-made but was from a packet and no doubt frozen. The service was not quick but this was due to under staffing.For this reason we would not recommend the hotel at this time (albeit the breakfast (full English) was good as was the gentleman in the suit who served us...eye contact, smiling and fast.

If anyone from the hotel ever reads this, then maybe consider this. Most top hotels survive due to excellent food. It brings in custom, which when this is shared, brings in more custom. I cannot recommend the food at the hotel as it is.

The hotel has a small lift....very small and only for two people. I doubt a wheelchair would fit?
The stairs were quite steep.

With improvements in food, staff cross-training, hotel information and producing what they advertise (champagne dinner) this has potential to be a good hotel and one ideal for weddings, parties..., Christmas staff evenings etc. Views are wonderful from many windows and the patio/rooftop area and access to local beach is good as it is only a short stroll away. Maybe having some info in the rooms might be good such as local attractions, meal times and maybe the history of the building as this does have quite a history.

Good Luck and would I recommend this hotel at this time....?

Room Tip: Room 302 has good views but in the morning is noisy. I think the main water tank is close by so whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenners-2398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
1.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $59 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing