We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel needs some TLC.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel needs some TLC.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I would not recommend the room we stayed in. Room 11 which was a long way up a corridor through a fire door which seemed to lead to colder and damper areas of the hotel. It was located directly underneath the dining room on the main floor level and so when kids were running about it was like a heard of elephants were directly overhead! The room was large but decoration was tired, old and poor with a florescent strip light fashioned as a mirror light and bedside tables that were on a slope so things rolled off. The lighting had been very poorly done, gave it a real cheap motel vibe as did the mismatched decoration. The bed was cheap and uncomfortable. The balcony was grubby, they could clean that. They did put a valance on the spare single bed in the corner - it just looked a rough room tbh.

Morning breakfast was very salty bacon and cheap sausages and they appeared to have run out of white bread to toast, despite seeing a member of staff clearly go and look a the basic they didn't refill it. The fruit selection was two very tired looking large metal catering bowls containing a large volume of decanted tinned prunes in one and what looked like citrus fruit pieces in the other that had pips floating about. I didn’t feel comfortable eating my breakfast so left most of it.

The main level of the hotel looks quite nice and comfortable, would be interesting to see the other rooms on different levels, maybe upstairs ones are much better. Curiously they had put up pictures from National Geographic in the dining area which didn't appear to relate to the location which I think is a bit of a strange choice.

When we came back from dinner out the receptionist was being talked to by two guys who had beers in hand and had set themselves up in chairs facing her chatting right in the middle of reception. To be honest I was a little surprised about this. If I was doing her job I would feel pretty uncomfortable about it.

The view overlooking the Gannel and location is outstanding however. Its beautiful. Such a shame, someone could really do a lot with this hotel, it has a lot going for it. It needs a major refurb and some TLC. It could be really successful as a top class hotel considering its location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyDarling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    183
    123
    90
    109
See reviews for
146
290
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Wow the location is outstanding, really enjoyed our stay very family friendly, good service and great views close to the beaches, the hotel seems to have been renovated we loved it.
we took our little girl, who loved the indoor and outdoor pools, and are looking forward to our next holiday booked for next summer.

Room Tip: Gannel suite is fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArabellaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The second time I have stayed here and again, very pleasant. The rooms are very clean, the staff really helpful and pleasant. The views from the back of the hotel are really good. I look forward to staying here again. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TheMoonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Our second stay in this great hotel....got a lovely double room overlooking the Gannel estuary with views down to the beach. Clean, nice staff and an excellent breakfast, absolutely no complaints whatsoever.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Redmic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel California from 18.5.13 to 22.5.13 choosing to stay in the Gannel Suite following reading the reviews on this page.
First impressions of the hotel are very grand although on closer inspection you can tell that some serious cash needs to be spent to make this into the 3 star hotel it claims to be. Chairs are threadbare and the exterior at the back of the hotel really needs some serious love and attention.
Our room was very large with a beautiful view, although the balcony was a bit ropey. Getting to the suite was another matter, the hotel has only one lift and this does not work if the previous occupants of the lift do not close the interior gate which means the lift stays on whatever level it was last vacated on-pretty annoying when you are carrying cases up huge flights of stairs.
The bed in the room was very large and comfortable and it was cleaned to a high standard daily, would definitely recommend this room-although some of the pictures are a bit creepy and formal!!!
We ate in the restaurant on the first night-£41 for a 3 course meal for 2 and although it was very nice the portions were very small and for the remainder of our break we ate in Newquay town.
Breakfast was cereal and toast and a cooked breakfast brought to the table-this again was very small (my husband ate mine daily as well as his own)
The staff however were wonderfully friendly, right down to Paul in the bowling alley to the restaurant manager, receptionists and cleaners-always willing to chat and make your stay good. Does seem the staff do many tasks as one day they are managing bowling alleys and the next day up trees cutting them down!!!!!!!
On leaving today I did ask the receptionist about the CD that had been played with the same 3 songs on a loop for the duration of our stay-it was tragic, she did say this was the owners choice and she was desperately trying to introduce a change, I wish her luck. Another annoying thing was there was never anyone behind the bar so you had to ask the receptionist to arrange for someone to serve drinks, however on our last night a coach trip arrived from Germany and a bar man was in situ.
We used the inside pool which was nice enough but very strong chlorine, the hotel also has an outside pool which I can imagine is packed in the warmer weather
On the whole not a bad place but could be massively improved with an injection of cash and some TLC, lovely location though!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Gannel suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is separate from the hotel so we rate this as excellent. Our son recently had his birthday party there and the man was so helpful to us, that we shall go again. He does everything !! We shall be back. He often takes his respite carer along.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Went to stay on the 6 of may. Was married on the fourth and the 7th was my new wife's birthday! I called and booked this hotel because it had a pool! The young woman on the phone was lovely. On arrival the place looked ok. Went to our room. It was tired very very tired! On the 7th my wife's birthday we returned to the hotel at 18:00 so that we could have a swim at 19:00, we went to the reception desk to get a few towels the receptionist had to "try to find some" After about ten to fifteen minutes she let us know that she could not find any, but to use the ones from our room and that she would make sure there would be fresh ones in the morning. We finally get down to the pool only to find out its out of service!! The receptionist apologised and at this point we are both quite dissatisfied ! She says she will call the duty manager to see if there is anything they can Do. Free bowling.. Not really what we wanted so declined the offer. In the morning, has we were getting ready to go out the " duty manager" decided it was time to discuss out disappointment about the pool. But instead of listening she just over talked us, not one sorry! When I informed her that I have been working in hotels/ restaurants for 25 plus years! And that if we had the same problem we would see if we could fine our guests a gym with a pool or another hotel who would be happy to allow us to swim. She replayed she has before but because the hotel is understaffed and it was a member of staff birthday they could not to that! Further more she then said since we did not pay that much what would I expect! £270.00 for 3 days is not cheap and the fact I called the hotel it would have been nice to know that we were booking a cheap room and that's why the phone in the room did not work, room not vacuumed well, pillows had no protectors on them, sheets not changed everyday! Not good enough! That duty manager Sally something. Made life so much worse, we left for the day fuming mad, great management skills.. Not!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bertomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing