We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a function there last night a was really dissappionted with the quality off the food ,really below average standard, the roast potatoes awful the size off the starter was 1 mouthful and mangetout was horrible with a roast dinner frozen cheesecake was horrid never will be going again, lovely setting thats the only positive on this review !!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StTudyPippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 693 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at Hotel California. It's a really good hotel, the staff are friendly and obviously happy working there. The food is excellent and the restaurant has a good atmosphere. The rooms are nice and the views of the estuary lovely. The bowling alley is great and a nice addition to a hotel.
My only criticism is that the swimming pool and outside terraces could do with some attention, especially the showers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelcombeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is .... well, I have run out of superlatives! Service was excellent, ALL of the staff, reception, restaurant, cleaners, were friendly and helpful - restaurant staff particularly good under pressure. Food was excellent with a very good choice. We upgraded to a balcony room with a fantastic view of the Gannel estuary and out to sea. Lovely sunsets! Everywhere was clean and fresh, room was comfortable. I would have liked a coffee/tea bar during the day in the lounge area, but it wasn't a problem with a kettle and tea/coffee in our room.
This hotel made the holiday for us. The weather was cold and wet, but with the roaring open fire and warm welcome, we could come 'home' and relax, before getting ready for a wonderful evening meal! We hope to stay again sometime.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a balcony room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked this hotel after getting an offer from groupon. Having read the other reviews before going we were a bit apprehensive about what our stay was going to be like but I have to say we were pleasantly surprised and I have to say our stay was nothing like some of the reviews on here. Maybe some people are just too fussy or were just unfortunate????
We checked in with no problems. The lady on reception was very friendly and told us all we needed to know about meal times and facilities etc.
We went up to our room and although yes, it was a bit dated, it was clean and comfy and had everything we needed in it. We were lucky enough to be at the back of the hotel so we had a balcony facing out onto the estuary/sea.
The evening meal was lovely!!!!!!!!!
The waiters/waitresses were very friendly and were quick to serve us. The food was very nice. We have no complaints there at all. It was served quickly, it was nice and hot and there was plenty of it.
Breakfast in the morning was very nice too. Tea and coffee were served to us as soon as we sat down and it wasnt much of a wait for our food.
We didnt manage to use any of the hotels facilities other than the bowling alley where we had a game and a few drinks. The pool etc looked clean though.
All in all, we had a good time while staying here. All the staff we came across were very friendly. The hotel is clean and well maintained. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somerset_UkHoney21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great location, ok facilities. Staff not great - featured the rudest barman I've ever met! Very old school feel to it, pretty bland rooms, outdated decor-could do with doing up a bit and having clearer signs. Fantastic lounge though. Recommended if you don't want to spend a lot of time in your room! (and expect to come across arrogant job loathing barmen who holds signs up to you to read instead of speaking to you)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigus1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hotel was located in a quiet road next to the river Gunnel. We were on a Groupon deal and upgraded to a sea view room. The room was quite spacious although the bathroom was small. Overall the Hotel was very good with all communial areas clean and tidy. We even had a free bottle of good wine on arrival ! Meals were ok too, good value for money. Oh and the Tenpin bowling alley is great too.

Room Tip: Sea/River view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dottiepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Oh what a shame , location of this hotel is brilliant as were all the staff I met , however, the room was like an damp old caravan ! It had a funny smell , was shabby (without the chic) and like something from the 70's & was certainly not a pleasant place to be !! The lobby & restaurant were better and the view was superb (& the food was very enjoyable) , this hotel with some money spent could be amazing . Be prepared for a tired hotel and you won't be dissapointed when you arrive. I most definitely would not go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kashbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
2.1 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
934 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $92 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing