We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was probably my 5th stay at this hotel. It was excellent as always. We always go as part of a large group with children. The staff are very child friendly, the hotel is very relaxed. We love it here. The views from the back of the hotel are lovely and if you walk down from the hotel there is a footpath that takes u to a lovely quiet isolated pebbly cove by the river.
The hotel rooms are quite dated but they are spotlessly clean and some of the rooms have a seperate little room with bunks for the kids.
This is a very charming family run hotel, it is excellent value. If you want modern rooms then go elsewhere but you'll pay triple the price and won't get that personal feel to it.
I'd recommend dinner bed and breakfast as the food is amazing! The waiting staff can never do enough for you.
Looking forward to.our next stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themackenzies59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 693 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

I have lost count of the number of times I have stayed at the Hotel California, and I'd go back tomorrow if I could!
The location is out of this world! For people afraid of the stigma attached to Newquay (surfers, boozers and chaos!) this hotel would be perfect! Its a 15-20 minute walk from the centre of the town and the main beaches (including Fistral) and is situated on the River Gannel, one of the most beautiful places in Cornwall!
My husband and I also enjoy the nightlife of Newquay so for us it's perfect, especially when they have their offers on!

Room Tip: Always pay the upgrade for a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blossom_78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Califofnia in July 2011 and we have a bit of a mixed opinion really... Firstly, it has to be pointed out that the service throughout our stay was nothing short of excellent. All the staff who were there, did everything possible to, meet our needs and were very professional and polite. Unfortunately it was very clear that they were short staffed, especially at breakfast time, as one member of staff admitted to me. At one point there was no bread on the buffet area to make toast and on another occasion, there were no glasses for orange juice but the staff were clearly doing they're very best for guests, under the circumstances.
The back of the hotel, which both our room and the restaurant overlooks, has fantastic views of the estuary, which leads into the sea but the front of the hotel is somewhat different as the building froms part of a housing estate but is still reasonable walking distance to the beach. The reception area and the restaurant which it ajoins is very well presented, its only when you move to other parts of the building when it becomes obvious how dated the hotel is. Corridors are gloomy and the upper floors are a bit of a maze of steps and fire doors and it was easy to get lost.
The worst part of the hotel is without question the lift. It is very small and as the sign inside it states "maximum 2 persons" Myself and my partner just about squeezed ourselves and the pushchair in at once. The sliding gate of the lift is also a problem becuase if somebody doesnt close it behind them and your on another floor pressing the call button, you could be in for a long wait.
The indoor swimming pool at the hotel was very nice and clean.
Our room was also very clean. Beds were made every day over the four night stay and fresh towels were also replaced every day. The room had a remote contolled flatscreen t.v with all the freeview channels and there wasn't an issue with the reception.
The welcome pack in the room advertised room service which after enquiring, apparently no longer exists. It is very clear that the hotel is in need of an overdue refurbishment. Light fittings and the shower rail were rusty and at only 5 feet 7, i still had to crouch to get my head under the fixed shower head. It was also disappointing to find that there wasn't a cash machine in the hotel and there is only one local shop nearby.
Apart from the Bowling, there didnt seem to be anything going on in the evenings at the hotel. There is a large room/lounge with a bar which was permanently closed throughout our stay. There was also a small stage there and i can only assume that at some point, there used to be entertainment on and it seemed a waste.
It is about a 20 minute walk to Newquay town centre and the lady at reception kindly provided us with a map of the area.
I dont think i would stay at the Hotel California again, it isnt the worst hotel in the world and there is a lot of potential to make this hotel modern and up to date and if money was well spent, who knows... it might even get its 4th star!

Room Tip: Room 308- New bed and mattress. Very Comfortable. =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeardedJester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

we book for my husbands 60th birtday took my elder son and girlfriend and my husband,myself and my younger son of 14. we had a family room which had a balcony overlooking the estuary and what a view. Well worth requesting this is you can.
Family room hada seperate annex for my son with bunk beds again a nice touch as it gave us all privacy.
Hotel 10min walk from NEWQUAY lovely and quiet which for us was a bonus. We also requested a Birthday cake which they very kindly supplied.
Only wish to could have stayed longer! California Bowls well worth a visit, but book if like us you are only staying a few nights, a bit expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DairyJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This hotel was not cheep and staying their ruined my holiday. It l had a fusty smell that lingered, was extreamly unclean and smelly and there was no customer service at all. It's a shame because the views were nice, but what's the point in a nice view when your surroundings are horrible?

Room Tip: aviod them!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our experience was that whilst this is an ageing property, which is not good value for money during peak season, the staff were nice and breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

this hotel made me think i was in another country with indoor and outdoor pools, the view was incredible, i read bad reviews after i had booked the hotel and was expecting the worst but once we arrived to the hotel,i was impressed. i dont know how some of the bad reviews were written as this hotel was worth every penny, very friendley staff and clean rooms. I would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank killamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
988 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
522 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $84 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing