We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great atmosphere awesome service”

The Beached Lamb Cafe
Ranked #9 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cool and quirky Cafe en-route to Fistral Beach.Open Mic Nights, and chilled out evening DJ's! Big breakfasts, incredible milkshakes, home-made burgers, vegan-friendly, dogs welcome, epic cocktails! x
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere awesome service”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Walked into this place with the wife based on the reviews on trip advisor so my expectations were high going in. The beached lamb met exceeded them. Very warm and colourful restaurant, and were greeted by super friendly Tom so we felt we were in a good place. Recommended drinks hit the spot as we waited for the food. Food came out in good order and I found the Epic Burrito lives up to its name. I was well fed and the wife who is very picky at times was happy. Great value for the dollar. I highly recommend for families couples and all.
Thanks Tom !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    121
    42
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A fantastic and enjoyable experience!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wow! Just my kind of place! On a rainy bank holiday Monday we walked past the cafe with its steamed up windows and headed to the local standard pub chain, but something caught our attention and we decided to head back, I am so so glad we that did!
The waitress (who I get the feeling may have been the owner?!) was super friendly and showed us to the funky table in the corner at the back surrounded with cushions and beanbags, the menu literally made my heart sing, it was healthy and very very vegetarian friendly. We plumped for two milkshakes, Daime bar and peanut butter and toffee and banana, the waitress was keen to recommend the tastiest flavours! I was expecting a run of the mill shake, but no it came with a large straw perfect for getting any lumps and was topped with whipped cream and sprinkles it was to die for!
We ordered the veggie burger which came with chips and the fruity salad, with falafel, apple, carrot and homemade croutons it was absolutely delicious, and well presented, a treat for both the eyes and the tummy, we demolished every last morsel of the generous portions.
The place was packed, the beached lamb had a great hippy relaxed vibe with materials hanging from the ceilings and quirky lamb items like salt and pepper pots.
The food was really reasonably priced and the whole experience was thoroughly enjoyable, the only thing worth mentioning is that they don't accept card (but this fits the hippy theme)
If you go to Newquay you must must must experience this relaxed and tasty experience!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainbowbirko87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“outstanding!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were very suprised and delighted by the friendly, welcoming, relaxed atmosphere in this lovely little restaurant in Newquay. The staff/owners were very helpful with tips on what to do in the area and directed us to a great surf school as well.
The food was excellent. Huge portions and very well priced!
They also make the best milkshakes we have ever had!!!
Definitely a must if you visit Newquay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whelpton007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Newquaylicious!! Amazing shakes and burgers, friendly service and killer vibe”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Awesome spot for a breakfast or brunch especially after a night out. The menu is full of amazing choices all very sensibly priced topped by a great service.
The only bad thing was trying to decide what to eat, everything looked amazing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely cafe with lots of atmosphere”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My friend and I just stumbled across the beached lamb cafe and fell in love instantly. Walls painted in different colours, paintings and a large chalkboard add to the appeal. The food and drinks, especially the smoothies made out of fresh supplies, were so delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenia2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beached Lamb Cafe also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Beached Lamb Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing