We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Porth hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good value Porth hotel”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a very good hotel, but make sure that you use one of the available deals. For instance, if you stay for a second time later in the same year they offer a heavy discount. Our stay was in November and cost £276 for 4 nights B&B. This was cheaper than the local Premier Inn for the same period.
Our room was large, airy and well lit, but we did find plumbing noises a bit intrusive. Breakfast was no more than adequate for a hotel of this class. On two days the bacon was scarcely edible.
The staff were helpful and friendly. As an example, on the evening that we ate in the restaurant there was only one other couple eating there. Instead of using the large empty dining room, they set up two tables in the conservatory, which made for a much more intimate atmosphere for our meal. Coffee was served next to the wood fire in the bar, where we sat in big comfy chairs. Very thoughtful.
I would recommend this hotel, but don't forget to look out for deals!

Room Tip: Room 10 is large, with views from two windows, but some noise from the plumbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VixMiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    147
    54
    20
    12
See reviews for
130
262
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I have just had a wonderful stay here. The staff are friendly and warm. the rooms are lovely and clean, and also very spacious. I would definately recommend staying here. The breakfasts are lovely and filling and cooked to perfection. We also had a wonderful meal in the restaurant, one of the best meals that I have ever had. We will come again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in one of the villas (no.10) for a family celebration.The accomodation was excellent,spotlessly clean,spacious and with terrific views (although the weather wasn't the kindest).Staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful and when the meal we had went slightly wrong they were charming enough to make the situation light-hearted.Great location-5 minutes from the beach and a few miles from Newquay.If you want a nice pub go to the Lewinnick Lodge at Pentire avoiding the bustle of Newquay itself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked to stay for 4 nights from a deal through Secret Escapes. A superb hotel very clean and with excellent views. The location is ideal as its about a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Newquay or if you want the beach its 4 minutes away. Breakfast was very good and wholesome with a good selection to suit most tastes. There is an outside pool at the hotel that is well used and with apartments around the pool provides a sheltered area with seating and sun beds. I will definately be going back in the future. We didn't use the restaurant for an evening meal as we preferred to seek out different menu types each day. We did leave a day early due to a severe down turn in weather and poor driving conditions for our return home some 250 miles. The weather was superb for the first 3 days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the main hotel for two nights as part of a deal found on the internet.

The room was spotlessly clean, with a clean bathroom. If it had been the height of summer the room may have been a little small to dry your beach towels and swimming stuff, but for this time of year met our needs.

Breakfast was good, made to order so always seemed fresh with plenty of tea / coffee and beautiful views.

We walked into Newquay (just over a mile) to eat out as we always like to see what is around us, but the food for dinner smelt lovely.

We were told we could use the outside heated pool, which is apparently heated like a bath but didn't have time to use it.

There were two negatives, though the rooms were spotlessly clean - they lacked charater. Maybe a bigger picture over the bed? Also check out is 10am. A little early for a lazy Sunday (especially as we had booked Jamie's Fifteen for 12.30). We would have given the hotel 5* if we could have checked out later!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samiantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were a party of 20 plus staying in the villas and apartments plus many other guests staying in the Hotel. Our accommodation was immaculate,spacious and well equipped for all our needs. Although we stayed in one of the villas we were able to use the facilities at the Hotel and enjoyed the pitch and put golf, croquet and the heated outdoor pool along with the gorgeous views. The staff were very helpful and pleasant at all times. I would definitely consider staying at Porth Veor again. We were at the Hotel for a wedding,a party of almost 100 guests, this was very well organised, the food was excellent throughout the day and there's just nothing bad I could say about the place. I would highly recommend a holiday there or a wedding !!
Family from Lincolshire

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel very good staff (particularly the Catalan gentleman in the Resturaunt) Room small but very clean and comfortable. Food very good extremely good breakfast def will go back in the summer and take advantage of the facilities

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breal1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
2.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Address: Porth Way | Porth Beach, Newquay TR7 3LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#10 Business Hotel in Newquay
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel is just over a mile from Newquay, within easy walking distance of all the amenities it has to offer, but far enough away to act as a haven from the hustle! Prettily perched above Porth Beach, you can look forward to breathtaking views across to Trevose lighthouse. But if you fancy a stroll, our terrific terraced gardens flourish in the mild Cornish climate and a private path leads you to join the coastal route, with easy access to Porth beach below. The hotel building itself is a charming 19th Century manor, packed with original features such as our winding staircase and open fires. And as we're big on good taste, you'll find award winning locally sourced food in the relaxing interior of our restaurant too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas & Apartments Hotel Newquay
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas And Apartments
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing