We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home comfort....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
leicester
Level Contributor
193 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Home from home comfort....”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Booked an apartment through Late Rooms and got a great deal for 2 nights. It's just outside the main town which was perfect for me. The accommodation was to a very high standard, it was lovely and warm and for me as I was here for work the free wifi was an added bonus. Everything worked, all the little details were covered and it was a really nice place to stay. Didnt use the restaurant but the menu looked great. a good base for travelling in the South West.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    140
    52
    19
    12
See reviews for
126
255
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The hotel was light bright spotlessly clean and welcoming. The room on the top floor was spacious (28) had been recently refitted with a clean fresh bathroom, immaculate decor and a very pleasant hospitality tray. There was a view of the beach and overall we felt the room exceeded "The Hotel Inspector" test with lovely fluffy towels and nice complimentary toiletries. The bar had a roaring log fire lit and the restaurant in the conseratory was lovely with smart decor and tables beautifully laid. The hotel were doing a very good deal during our visit of two courses for £14 so we had a fabulous starter of scallops and a main of rack of lamb. All beautifully cooked and well presented. The waitresses were lovely and attentive, keen to ensure that we were having a pleasant time but at the same time subtle and unobtrusive. After exploring the area and a good nights sleep breakfast was a joy and cooked to perfection. The only things to note are that for those with limited mobility there are many steps, the conservatory for dining in the evening was a tad chilly but it IS February so this is hardly worth mentioning. Overall a really pleasant stay which we thoroughly enjoyed. We would recommend as being really good value for money as we booked through secret escapes and had a very very good deal.

Room Tip: 28 has a beach view but is up quite a few steps with no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carrotcrunchers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night break at Porth Veor Manor where we stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment overlooking the pool. The decor was lovely with good quality furniture and fittings. We had a thoroughly enjoyable meal in the hotel restaurant, Beaucliffe's, one night - mussels cooked in ale for starters which we thought a good and unusual twist to an old standard. We also took our breakfasts there - cooked variety to set us up for walking the Coastal Path. Although it was February, the Path was accessible - only one bit of sheet ice before rounding the headland, (Stepper's Point?) into Padstow. I mention this to emphasise how warm and cosy our apartment felt on our return. Our last day was particularly cold for this area - and indeed throughout Britain - the pool's surface was partially frozen!
Porth Veor Manor is a lovely place to stay, all the staff we met were most helpful and friendly and I recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: We were in Apt 2 which has access for wheelchair users.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gertrudesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We were very lucky to have had the Porth Veor Manor as our wedding venue this Janurary and have had an absolutely fantastic stay. The hotel is usually closed during the month but opened and re-staffed for our event. We had family travelling from all over the country so to have everyone centered at one location was perfect and fun. It was great to all have breakfast together - and for the bigger families the adjoining villas were very suitable.

The hotel offered us all a discounted room rate and villa rate for occupying the majority of the accomadation and I believe will receive a good deal of repeat custom, we had lots of comments from our guests that the value and service was brilliant.

Andrew the manager has been very patient with us and extremely accomadating to our wishes, and the staff very friendly and hardworking. Gary the f&b mananager and his girls who worked in the evening with our hot buffet and bar were back in the morning serving our fantastic Cornish Breakfast! The chefs were all hours too - everyone commented on the brilliant food. Everyone went the extra mile.

Throughout the nine months of planning and the day itself we found everything relaxed and can't thank the hotel enough!

Room Tip: There is a hidden pathway in the grounds past the putting green that takes you to the beautiful Port...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littleitalynqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay here for a N Y break and were amazed at the quality of the dining experience.
The staff were friendly without being overly familiar or losing the excellence of service...whilst the food was truly manna from heaven. It was wonderful!
This hotel deserves serious consideration when planning a Cornish experience!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FabPamelala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Had a great 4 nights here. Lovely 2 bedroom apartment, very spacious and comfortable. Would love to stay here again one day. Plenty to see in Cornwall, used Porth Veor as our base, and lovely to return to it every evening. Apartment was well equiped. Had a fab 3 course dinner in the hotel one evening.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My Husband and I recently had our wedding at Porth Veor Manor Hotel and can honestly say that it couldn't of been better. The manager, Andrew Griffiths and his fantastic team, were completely professional and attentive to all our needs on our big day. We live in Buckinghamshire and could only attend Cornwall once, prior to our wedding, as we first discovered the venue last year at The Royal Cornwall Show Wedding Marquee. As you can imagine everything was arranged via telephone and e.mail, something which may sound highly stressful/difficult, however, Andrew was a continuous source of help and support throughout all preparations. We stayed at Porth Cottage just down from the hotel with our son the week prior to the wedding, which was absolutely lovely and enabled us to have easy access to the venue and fun on the beach. Everything went without a hitch, the food was divine, customer service fantastic and all our friends and family couldn't praise this perfectly located spot, with its lovely seaviews and high standards of cleanliness. We are looking forward to popping in for a cream tea next year on a little break away, to once again embrace it's relaxed and friendly "home from home" atmosphere. We would highly recommend Porth Veor Manor for either a break away or to hold your big day, we will always have fond memories of this wonderful hotel x

Room Tip: The seaviews are spot on and lovely to wake up to x
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
801 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
972 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Address: Porth Way | Porth Beach, Newquay TR7 3LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel is just over a mile from Newquay, within easy walking distance of all the amenities it has to offer, but far enough away to act as a haven from the hustle! Prettily perched above Porth Beach, you can look forward to breathtaking views across to Trevose lighthouse. But if you fancy a stroll, our terrific terraced gardens flourish in the mild Cornish climate and a private path leads you to join the coastal route, with easy access to Porth beach below. The hotel building itself is a charming 19th Century manor, packed with original features such as our winding staircase and open fires. And as we're big on good taste, you'll find award winning locally sourced food in the relaxing interior of our restaurant too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas & Apartments Hotel Newquay
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas And Apartments
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing