We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Excellent value for money, very comfortable room. Very pleasant and helpful staff who were efficient and attentive. Basic pool and spa pool but clean and comfortable. Standard of food was superb with great choices. Location and views were great despite the storms, Would loved to have stayed longer. Well done to all the team for giving us one of our best hotel stays to date

Room Tip: Book early for a great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morris173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for posting your review and I am so glad you enjoyed the stay despite the weather being so horrible. Hopefully your next visit will be longer and the weather brighter.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    420
    124
    54
    25
See reviews for
487
422
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

the attention and courtesy of the staff was fabulous. food fantastic, seaview rooms stunning and non-seaview rooms very spacious. the whole ambience of the place backup their familyrun, familyfriendly ethos. would will and should stay again

Room Tip: sea view rooms great, but non sea view rooms massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. I am so glad you enjoyed all aspects of our family hotel.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

If you are in the area this is the hotel to go to. The food is exempt and the staff are really friendly. Over all the best. It is in a fabulous area and lovely and clean all the staff are very helpful and freindly.

Room Tip: Sea view or front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haydn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We arrived at the hotel just after Christmas, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel seemed to be very busy which gave it a nice atmosphere. There are two areas that you can eat in, we ate in the bar where there was a choice of pub like food plus salads and sandwiches, the food was nice a fresh and inexpensive.
During one of the days we relaxed in the spa, the only disappointment I had was that there were no loungers so you were unable to relax after a swim or sauna.
In the evenings we sat in the bar where they had live music playing and people were playing board games.
You are able to walk into town if it's not too wet or you can easily drive and park your vehicle.
I wish we didn't live so far away so that we could visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambersgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us recently. We really appreciate the lovely feedback, thank you for taking your time to write the review.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have stayed at several hotels in and around Newquay and always enjoy returning to the Espalade!
We booked the Contemporary Suite for New Years Eve stay for the Gala ball. Great Value.
Don't listen to the bad reviews... you get what you pay for and this hotel is good value

Room Tip: Book the Contemporary Suite...Great Sea Views overlooking Fistral Beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mph160775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hello
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a great review. I am happy you enjoyed the stay over new years and hopefully we will see you again this year.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

All staff on reception, cleaners and catering were very polite and warm in their welcome. Room was good standard and bed comfortable. Swimming pool clean and good standard. Food was good quality though my steak was a bit tough. I should have pre-booked evening meals as would have been cheaper otherwise rating would have been higher. Breakfast and service was one of the best I have experienced. We had 2 nights in room 229 and very pleased. Bed was comfortable and we both slept well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I am so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and all the staff provided you with excellent service. Thank you for taking time to leave a review. Hopefully we will see you again and this time dinning in the restaurant every night on the package we offer.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I was just so bowled over by my recent stay at this hotel, I travel a lot with my partner, and its been a long time since I received such amazing service. The staff are all so welcoming and friendly, and very quick to help out and go the extra mile. It's a shame that service isn't like this anymore everywhere you go, so it was a refreshing change at the Esplanade. We felt so relaxed at the end of our stay.

The Manager also seemed very involved and genuinely concerned about the welfare of all the guests and she was very helpful at check in, especially at recommending places to eat. I think her name was Jemma. We went a lovely little place, which she suggested, called Little Kahuna I think which was fantastic food, and a nice change from the season of Roast Turkey.

The hotel had a lovely view from the lounge, floor to ceiling glass where you could gaze out over the sea, perfect with a book and a glass of wine. I felt so relaxed after my stay and I definitely did not want to return home. I cannot wait to come back next year, I imagine it will be perfect in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fridayxcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and I will pass on all your comment to the team. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will return again this year.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing