We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed previously at the esplanade around 6 times we normaly ask for room 201 sea view balcony it has a double patio leading to balcony and beautiful sea views.
on this occasion being my husbands 50th I decided as his pressy to book the best room . Pics on net show free standing bath by patio doors and bed next to patio doors .chocolates and bath robes. Booked through reservations told them about the occasion.
On arrival we was greeted by friendly reception staff given our key and off we went , I could not wait to see his face as he thought we got 201 . On opening the door sheer disappointment .... NO bath by a patio. Only one patio door . Free standing bath in bathroom .. no chocs on bed or bathrobes felt like id paid extra for a bit fancier decor.. I went straight to reception which the housekeeper took me to see manageress . I was in tears as felt so let down .she explained to me 204 had the bath by the window and 203 the bath in the bathroom . Which reservations never explained or offered either and knowing the occasion it was for.
The manageress was really nice offered us free breakfast as it wasnt really possibly to move us to 204 and a drink to calm me down. Chocolates had been forgotten by the chambermaid but some was brought to us . So rocky start but getting better.
Room was very nice even if not bath not by patio , lots of wardrobes , blue lights on headboard ,lots of nice bubble bath,shower gel ,shampoo . Would be nice if they had separate bin for plastic recycling in the room as took mine home to recycle.

The hotel is great and has been modernised throughout the years we have stayed. The view is so beautiful see my pics ...

breakfast is great self service fruit juice ,fruit, yoghurt ,cereal, muffins, breads ,full breakfast and things to order off the special menu only down side is the toasters only 2 .. so 8 slots in total for lots say 50 or more guests very very slow .....

on hubbys birthday they put balloons and scattered sparkles on our table beautiful :)

On returning to our room on the evening the housekeepers had made 2 swan's out of towels and put a card and chocs for his birthday ... lovely touch.
I can not really fault this hotel that is why we keep returning . Shame reservations do not explain the 2 rooms are not identical as would make it clearer.
will be back soon for another visit.

thank you to all the staff for making his day special xxx
See my photos..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nessbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback given regarding the hotel. I am glad the staff made your husbands birthday so special and we have looked in to the training of the reservation team. We do our up most to allocated specific rooms on request so please feel free to ask in future.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

939 - 945 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first part of our honeymoon before jetting off to Spain, we came for the surf and we wasn't disappointed the beach in fantastic & the waves are great.

The hotel is very nice and modern looking our room was nice and comfy from a personall point of view having some softer pillows would of been good as im not keen on harder pillows but as i said this is just me.
we had a sea view room and im glad we paid the extra as it was a magnificent view.

We didnt eat at the hotel as we walked in to town most evening (about a 15-20 min walk but a nice walk)

the 1 thing this hotel does better than most i have stayed in (i have stayed in some nice hotels when away on business) CUSTOMER SERVICE the true asset to this hotel isnt the fantastic views it the fantastic staff Day Night Rain or Shine always smiling always very helpfull and the service is what would make me come back again for sure.

p.s thanks to the wonderful Vicky & her lovely hot chocolates :) and thanks for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. It is so nice to hear the amazing comments about our customer service. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We recently visited Newquay for the first time and after lots of research and reading of reviews we decided on a stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Shortly after booking, the hotel added an offer to the website so when I called back and asked about changing to the online offer it was altered no problem. Because of this we ended up paying less for the room, breakfast and 3 course evening meal than we were originally going to pay just for the room!

Anyway ... This hotel is the most family friendly hotel I've ever stayed in! It's so nice to stay somewhere where, it seems, children are the most important guests. My son (who was nearly 7 at the time of our stay) loved everything! Swimming pool, pirate ship / outdoor play area, pool table, football table. There were lots of really lovely touches like the bedtime story under the door (Fantastic idea, I've never known this anywhere before) and plenty of colouring activities to keep children amused during mealtimes. They even have a big box full of buckets and spades you're welcome to borrow for the beach. We brought our own but my son insisted the hotels were better! The ‘secret summer club’ was also a great idea, with children receiving a little surprise when giving the secret password at reception.

The room itself was great. Very spacious, clean and fairly modern. We paid extra for the sea view room and it was a fantastic view to wake up to each morning!

There was a good mixture of extra activities put on with it being the summer holidays suitable for lots of different ages. The children’s entertainer, Mr Wacky (I think?) was very funny, getting everybody involved and making everybody laugh. My son really enjoyed the bouncy ball making and glow in the dark games. However I wasn't made aware you had to 'book' your children on any activities they wanted to participate in. Before I found this out we sat waiting to join in to be told we couldn't as there wasn't enough resources. Fair enough, we didn't mind at all once we knew we just had to book next time, but then another child who asked to join in was told 'I'll see if I can find an extra one for you' to which they did, we later realised the child's parent worked at the hotel which is obviously why they were able to join in, but we didn't feel that was fair to the other children who were turned away. As I said we will obviously know next time to sign up first.

The Ocean View Restaurant was great. My partner and son had plenty of choice especially as children could also pick meals from the adult menu. One of his favourite things about the holiday was the ice-cream factory! Myself as a vegetarian who doesn't like mushrooms I found choice was very limited but the gorgeous starters and puddings made up for that. The breakfast again was excellent. Lots to choose from as well as the full English, which was great if you didn't want a big meal - Toast, muffins, yoghurts, dried fruit, fresh fruit, ham, cheese etc etc.

Pebbles Bar had a fairly priced menu for bar snacks and drinks were also fairly priced. It was lovely to relax while my son played with the football table and all the toys set up (Basketball, bowling etc) in the enclosed outdoor area which joined onto the bar.

All staff throughout the hotel were polite, friendly and helpful, especially the restaurant staff, they have a great team in there.

We highly recommend this hotel to anybody, especially to families with children.

We can’t wait to return next year, but we’ll be bringing the rest of our family who I’m sure will love it as much as we did!

Room Tip: The sea view is excellent :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urbansmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I am so glad that you family enjoyed all the facilities and appreciated the secret summer club. I will let all the department know about your lovely comments and I will pass on your feedback.
Hopefully we will be welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked this hotel mainly for its fabulous location just across the road from the beach. Last time we stayed 7 years ago we had to ask to be moved because our room was small dark and dingy but we were reassured this time by the refurbishment in the interim. The room this time was basic but that was all we needed as we spent all day out and about. The breakfast was brilliant and we had no need for lunch as we breakfasted like kings. The housekeeper was delightful and couldn't be more helpful. A few gripes - soundproofing needs improving as our neighbours were inconsiderate oafs who thought it perfectly acceptable to have loud conversations *right* outside our door and shout for their children who had been left to roam the hotel (Yes Mr Conway this is about you). The restaurant needs investment; toaster is unbelieveably slow and the containers for the hot food all had broken lids necessitating a member of staff to be assigned to help. The first aider was not much help when a child came in with a Weever Fish sting - she had never heard of them and just stood wringing her hands. More training needed there. We loved the lounge area but agree with a previous reviewer that the windows needed cleaning more often. Overall though we would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrazzledofReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you are looking for some fun, good food and facilities - stay somewhere else, as this hotel will not provide it.

It was dead as a door nail after 10.45pm.

Sitting in the conservatory the views are fantastic, but don't look up as all you will see is dirty glass and mould.

The beds were uncomfortable and my sons mattress was really thin; every spring could be felt. Also rooms were very very hot, and the noise from the extractor was awful. I was glad to get back to my own bed. The floorboards creaked and every footstep we took could be heard and the same for above

Pool area was not as clean as it should have been - all in all this hotel needs a good overhaul.

Positive - most of the staff were friendly and efficient - note most.

Saying that, this was our first trip to Newquay. We had a brilliant time out and about and ate great food in some of the restaurants we visited We will definitely come back to Newquay, but look for another hotel.

Room Tip: Try the front of the hotel - noise from the extractor fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

I am glad that your found the staff friendly. Yes i will agree after 10.45 pm most night the hotel is quiet we do promote ourselves as a family hotel and we do try and keep the noise to a minimum after 10.30 pm. The conservatory roof is being replaced this winter but I can assure you there is no mould and the windows are cleaned weekly.
If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I loved this hotel. Staff were so polite and friendly, especially the receptionists. The rooms were spotless. Food and drinks were really good. Staff very helpful for ideas of things to do. Really lovely. Certainly will be returning.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank chrissiexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to hotel again soon. I will pass on your compliments to the reception team.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & the Esplanade Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and Really enjoyed our stay. Great views overlooking fistral beach and lovely breakfast. We payed a little extra for sea view room and were not disappointed as it was great being able to wake up to the view and the sound of the sea! About a 20 min walk into town or a £5 taxi ride. Thought the evening meals were a little overpriced but we did get discount for staying in the hotel. Alot of people staying part of bus trips so can be very busy or very quiet depending on when they eat. Staff very pleasant and service was always excellent. Overally a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teamgreenandblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking time to leave a review.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & the Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $58 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing