We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous family holiday at the Esplanade!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We’ve just returned from a fabulous 10 night stay at the Esplanade Hotel, our third visit in as many years and without a doubt the best yet. I cannot fault any aspect of the hotel, service, staff or food during the entire period we were there, which is quite an achievement.

Without wanting to sound pompous I stay in hotels regularly on business trips including some upmarket brands and often find a combination of indifference and incompetence even on a single overnight stopover. So to stay 10 days without a single hitch with the room, facilities, food or service is quite remarkable and testament to how well run this hotel is.

We went for the half board option including dinner which surprisingly few people seem to opt for. The advantage of doing so is a reserved table for breakfast and dinner with a sea view throughout your stay – if you are B & B you’ll be allocated a table on arrival which may or may be near the window so you won’t get the benefit of the glorious views of Fistral Beach. While it is probably cheaper to eat out elsewhere in Newquay you don’t have the sense of occasion of a varied 3 course meal every night, and our 2 children love trying new things as they are allowed to eat from the adult menu or the dedicated children’s one (which is the usual nuggets/pizza/pasta).

We found the food to be of a consistently high standard and well presented – there is a choice of 3-4 starters, mains and desserts every night which rotates weekly (so does get slightly repetitive if you are staying more than a week). There’s also an option to have steaks at a reasonable supplement – The fillet steak was delicious and worth the extra. Breakfasts were also extremely good with decent quality bacon and sausages. However, the outstanding aspect was the service – having found in previous years that the service deteriorated a little at peak times resulting in queues, delays or difficulties attracting attention, everything worked like clockwork on this visit. Every order was correct, every meal arrived hot and without undue delay, and all breakfast buffet items were replenished regularly. The ketchup had even been upgraded from a rather vinegary substitute to a Heinz-like quality. Kenny the restaurant manager deserves great credit for keeping everything running smoothly despite the hotel being packed over the August bank holiday weekend. He’d recently been promoted and seemed to be keeping everyone on task throughout. Our waiter Tom was also friendly and attentive, as were all the other restaurant staff.

Elsewhere, the reception staff were extremely efficient and welcoming – nothing was too much trouble and they were always available to offer help and advice – and the very lovely manager Gemma was also always on hand to oversee proceedings and for a friendly chat. I think the hotel is pretty good value considering that our 10 night stay including D,B & B for a family of four was under £2,000, if you compare that to a stay in a mid-range holiday park over the same period it would be around £1,500 for 7 night’s accommodation before even thinking about food and you’d have to do all the same chores as at home. At the Esplanade we all get to kick back and relax and enjoy time together as a family which for me is what holidays are all about.

The bar staff were all great , in particular Vicky who lined up our regular drinks orders and always chatted about our day even though it must be pretty dull listening to weather / bucket and spade related exploits every night – she also chatted to our children when they ordered soft drinks which made them feel very important.

We request the same room (238) each year which is at the back of the hotel but suits us fine – although it doesn’t have the sea views you get these at mealtimes or from the lounge instead. We like this room as it has a separate alcove with twin rather than bunk beds for our children (so they don’t wake each other up), is on the top floor (no thumping about from the people above) and has a large double bed for us (I hate small double beds on holiday as I never sleep well).

The only gripe I could come up with is not really the fault of the hotel – one of the evening entertainers (Bob Seymour) was a bit of a diva and didn’t like the small group of children dancing and playing games during his performance – he had a hissy fit and told them twice quite rudely to go and play outside which we felt was unnecessary considering he was playing a family hotel during the school summer holidays, and especially given that 90% of the audience were the parents of the “offending” children. He should perhaps have moved the table football outside beforehand if he didn’t want anyone playing on it during his act.

The other entertainment was all good – Glenn the bar manager did bingo and a quiz with prizes for the kids – Mr Wacky was funnier than his name suggests although again did the same act each week, and there were plenty of kid’s activities (treasure hunts etc) although I believe these are only run during peak periods.

The hotel is a little unusual in that it understandably wants to appeal to all markets so while it is a family friendly hotel you will also find couples on romantic breaks and couch tours coming and going – resulting in some children (OK, ours) also getting told off by a grumpy German who clearly felt that all children should be in bed or silenced by 9.30pm!

Don’t be put off by concerns over parking – as I say we’ve been 3 years running over the August bank holiday weekend and never failed to find a space within 50 feet of the hotel. As long as you are coming back from a day out around 5pm or later when the day trippers are heading home it’s fine.

Overall, there are very few hotels or holidays we have enjoyed as much as our stays at the Esplanade and I hope that we’ll continue coming here each year for as long as it stays that way or until our children no longer want to come with us!

Room Tip: Sea views rooms are amazing but cost extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you Mr Murray for such an amazing in depth review.
I am always so happy to hear when returning guest have enjoyed their holiday here yet again.
I will pass all your lovely feedback on to the staff. I am so sorry for grumpy Bob I can only apologies on his behalf. We cant wait to welcome you back for your 4th year at the Esplanade.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel has a lot to offer. My three children had a fantastic time as did we. The hotel has some lovely staff. I must say a huge Thank you to Vikki on the bar as she made my stay worth every penny. The rooms are clean and you always have lots of clean towels! maybe a few tweeks needed but that may be me being fussy!! we ate in the hotel and thought the food was good. The noise in the rooms was a bit loud in the night but thats to be expected in a family hotel. We will return and look forward to seeing Newquay again

Room Tip: i hear the sea view rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeilaBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you Mrs Baker for your lovely review. I am very happy to hear that your children had a fantastic time and you all enjoyed the facilities. I will pass your thanks on. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a lovely night in this hotel. Parked up the car early and enjoyed the beach and booked an evening meal. Very enjoyable meal and breakfast. We enjoyed using the very comfortable chairs in the lobby. Only downside was the noisy children but then it was a child friendly hotel. We also used the lift but had to carry our bags up and down stairs after using the lift.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graceund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for the review and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are a family hotel and children some times can make noise, if you fancy coming staying with us outside school holidays you definitely find it more peaceful.
Hopefully we will welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My Husband and I stayed in the Hotel for two nights and had a fantastic time. We had stayed before in 2007 and I had also been on a family break in 2001 so we knew it was a great Hotel and it certainly met our expectations.

Straight away the Reception Staff are friendly and helpful and the Reception/Lounge has amazing views of the sea and beach.

We were in a sea view balcony room and this was really great. The views are simply stunning- we could even hear the waves as we went to sleep at night. The room was big, stylish and very comfortable. The bathroom was also large- with a bath and shower- and a lovely selection of products.

The Hotel is in a fantastic location- it is literally two minutes from the gorgeous Fiestral Beach and with lovely headland/sea front walks in every direction.

We had two breakfasts and two dinners in the Hotel. The food was very tasty and very good value, with a good choice. We would definitely recommend eating here. The Dining Room boasts the same fabulous views and the Dining Room Staff are very efficient and friendly- with special mention to Glen, the Barman, who went the extra mile.

The Bar itself has a good atmosphere- there was a very good singer on the Friday night and a quiz, which was lots of fun, on the Saturday. The Bar Staff- as with all the staff at the Hotel- are very friendly. The Lounge is comfortable and lovely to relax in- especially with a cocktail!

We went in the Swimming Pool three times- it was busy around 5pm (not as this was a problem) but quieter after 6pm- and I was the only one in at 8am! The pool was lovely and warm (one of the warmest Hotel pools I've been in) and the Jacuzzi was very relaxing. It would have been nice if there was more than one Changing Room but, with our Hotel Rooms so close, this is a very minor point.

Thank you to everyone for making our stay so great and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you Emma for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed the use of the balcony overlooking the beach it is such a special view. I will pass your lovely comment on to the staff and hopefully we can arrange your next stay soon.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just come back from spending 3 days there, Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpfull staff, Lovely food, Very clean. Had a wonderfull time there, Had a room with seaview which was fantastic. Only downfall is that they could do with a bigger car park.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you Tracey for the lovely review and I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights.hotel generally ok,room was ok,furniture in rooms a little dated.Room was supposed to be a family room for 5 but with 2 adults & 2 teenagers we were quite cramped, bunk beds not really suitable for kids that age and our bed was quite uncomfortable, & creaked every time we moved.the room was also extremely warm,but staff provided with us with a tower fan no problem.staff were very friendly & would do anything for you.the only other issues we experienced was the lack of parking (we didn't pre book a space,I would recommend doing this).We also felt that the breakfast was overpriced especially for a family of 4 but the food was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill701Swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Hello
I am glad that you thought the hotel was nice and enjoyed the service provided by the staff. Thank you for the feedback and we do take everything on board. The price of our breakfast is in line with many hotels in this area and we do offer a discounted rate if it is prebooked before arrival.
Hopefully we will welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel was in a great location, right on Fistral Beach which was a ten minutes walk to the Newquay town centre. The seafront rooms has stunning views of the beach and surfers which I could have sat and looked at all day.
The staff at breakfast couldn't do enough, as well as the reception staff and restaurant staff.
The breakfast was fresh, well managed and a lovely environment to start the day.
The evening meal was lovely, not overly priced and again a lovely atmosphere.
The hotel was always clean and tidy and the housekeeping staff very friendly and could do enough for you.
The children's entertainment is well thought if also with games in the conservatory, a small play area for smaller children and also a pool table for older kids.
There is also a lovely swimming pool at the hotel which never seemed to be too busy to relax.
This hotel is spot on apart from the parking.
There are limited spaces, and even though there are spaces out on the main road, this was a small inconvenience when coming back to park outside the hotel after a day out. My recommendation is when booking this hotel, reserve a parking space as this is the only downfall of this hotel.
Lovely place, would defiantly book again, along with reserving parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nighti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for the kind review it sounds like you made the most of the hotel and its location. Its so nice to hear that all the staff made your stay pleasant. Hopefully we will welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $60 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing