We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights from 29 june..10 of us in total with 4 seperate rooms which were all lovely and clean.fantastic hotel and would definately recommend to all..lovely pool which the kids loved..receptionists all lovely girls doing a fantastic job, nothing too much trouble at all..glenn (known to us as kev) and the team in the bar all lovely people and doing a fantastic job..waiters and waitresses in the restaurant all lovely too, nothing too much trouble..so a big thankyou to all the staff..will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenlcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

I am so happy to hear you had such a nice stay and we can not wait to welcome your whole family back again to The Esplanade. Thank you for your lovely comments and will pass them on to my staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

994 - 1,000 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Really nice hotel with friendly staff, nice rooms and great food. Bar is great too! Bar staff are also really friendly and nice to speak with when you're having a drink. View from the front of the hotel is really nice and the town and beach is really close. Breakfast buffet is a really good idea

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review and i will pass your praises on to Glenn and his team in the bar. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great hotel, easy location, good pricing, rewards return trade... Needs a little bit of updating but staff are friendly and deal with you quickly. food is ok, a bit old fashioned but nice.
Seaview room are brilliant, has used this for business and family stay (2adults 2 kids) family rooms are great loads of space.
Coffee in the conservatory overlooking the beach is a great way to finish a days work

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pistol06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

I appreciate you leaving this lovely feedback and will pass your comments on to the relevant department. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just came back from nearly a week stay in this lovely hotel. As a family with two kids 5 and 8 we wanted something near the beach and with activities for the kids. This is the place you want. It has very lovely swimming pool with a hot tub, pool table, soft play area and a wooden ship/ park outside. The lobby is so comfortable, it has the perfect sea view. Restaurant is very good size. There were few people on coaches but it never felt crowded. The staff were fantastic, nothing was a problem. The kids menu did not change but the children could order half size portion from adult menu. Plenty of choice for everyone. My little one is not much of an eater but there was always something for her. The receptionists were very helpful with anything at all times. Our room was great, did not have a balcony which was a shame but we had a lovely sea view. Specious, clean with plenty of cupboards and very nice bathroom. I like when you walk in the room and it looks and fresh along with the bathroom. Nothing was old or broken. There is a surf school on the corner of the hotel. Very pleasant people there too. The beach is just a few minutes walk and the kids loved it. So many things to do!
We really enjoyed this stay and would have love to stay longer.
Newque is about 5 min drive with plenty of souvenirs shops. We visited the zoo as well. Well worse it!

Room Tip: We would recommend the sea view with a balcony and with a room doors away from next room door so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPSS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed their stay with us and by the sounds of it you made the most of the facilities and surrounding area. We are really happy to hear that the staff were helpful and I will pass on the comment about the children's menu to the chef. Hopefully we will see you and you family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent location, and pleasantly surprised by hotel facilities (bar, restaurant, pool table, children’s play area, swimming pool and sauna and lovely big room.

Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for leaving such a nice review, I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities and the view. We will hopefully see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked one night in a "Best room" at this hotel as a night away from a family holiday in a nearby caravan park - the park was great but this hotel really made our holiday. The view from the room was amazing, the room itself had everything you could want including a lovely bathroom, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We will be back for longer next time and would recommend this fantastic hotel to anyone, and especially for children as there is lots for them to do.We felt guilty we left our grandson back at the caravan park!.

Room Tip: Well worth paying extra for a "Best room" with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 303Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday away from your caravan holiday. Hopefully next time you can bring the whole family to enjoy the hotels facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

thanks again, another great time. staff top marks helpful informative, hotel clean and very comfortable. the veiw from the hotel the best. if i had to find anything to pick at... just the parking, saddly like most hotels the space's have got to small or are cars getting bigger. doh

Room Tip: head to the otherside of pentire, tyo the one man ferry, fresh crab and lobster
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simon23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review and I am very happy to hear that yet again you have enjoyed your stay. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $58 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing