We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend with the family. The Esplanade has to be the best hotel I have stayed in when considering its position (overlooking Fistral Beach). I never tired of sitting on the comfy chairs in the lounge area - just perfect. The hotel room was a family room with a double bed and a fold out sofa. The room was very roomy though a little dated it served its purpose as somewhere to lay our heads and was extremely clean. What was a nice touch was the bedtime story that was pushed under our door each evening, never seen that before but the kids loved it. The public areas - restaurant, lounge, bar and swimming pool are excellent. The breakfast was a serve yourself, again excellent as you could eat as much as you liked!!!! Would I stay at this hotel again ? - defo if I am down in that area again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel - pity as the rooms at the front would have had an excellent v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again soon and would like to thank you for leaving a review after your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    420
    124
    54
    25
See reviews for
487
422
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Esplanade as a family over easter. Location is amazing, you can sit in the lovely lobby or enjoy a nice well cooked breakfast in the resturant with a stunning view of Fistral beach. The decor is modern and the hotel has a nice family atmosphere. Evening enternatinment for kids is good also. The bar/resturant staff are lovely and really helpful.

The problem are the rooms. You can see the management are trying to bring the hotel up to the modern standard. I also realise that hotel rooms are really only to get a night sleep in, and you enjoy your holiday away from them. But the mattresses in our room were the cheapest you can get, so uncormfortable. Me and my family hardly got any sleep in 3 nights. Add to that the carpets are so thin that you hear EVERYTHING from the floor above, the guests of which came in drunk two nights. We came back needing another holiday to get over this one.

Maybe we got a bad room, but I have stayed in alot better, for less money.

Like I said you can see they are trying, but get the simple things right first.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BondiBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I apologise that you were disappointed with your room. I will ensure that the problem with your mattress is immediately looked into and rectified. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and I hope that you would choose us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

3rd stay at the hotel which is a compliment. The location is sensational and parking is not a problem. The breakfasts are excellent and staff very friendly. The only negative is the choice of evening meal and general hygiene / cleanliness of the pool and sauna. In the week we stayed I could see no sign of the sauna and pool having been cleaned.

Room Tip: If you have a family then room 108 has fantastic views of Fistral Beach and there is some privacy be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MannDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We were very pleased to welcome you back again over Easter, I was disappointed that you did not seem to enjoy your evening meals on this occasion and will highlight this to the chef. We have regular cleaning of our pool area and also overnight cleaning but thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and I will investigate into this further, hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Esplanade with a coach party, the hotel was clean and the food was very good although as a coach party we were all crammed together in the dining room with no space to move unless you were banging into the next table a small matter but annoying as it is a large dining room. Lovely views from the lounge over the bay but not enough seats for everyone in the evening when there were a lot of children. I think it is more a family hotel as there was a very good programme for children but no entertainment for adults. We enjoyed our stay but please some higher and more comfortable seats in the lounge for us oldies!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenoldieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us and I will ensure your comments are passed onto the Restaurant Manager, hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed with the children over Easter. Family room very comfortable, warm, very spacoius and well equipped. Plenty for the children to do, games, play area and swimming pool. Activities provided were great.Fab location.Right on Fistral beach with great little shop and surf school and equipment hire. Pool could be cleaner,carpets a bit aged. Staff very helpful .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterD656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Peter, Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that the whole family enjoyed themselves. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Enjoyed the stay here,
Family friendly,
Bar food good and reasonable price - didn't try the restaurant as with small child
Our son enjoyed the swimming pool and the toys that were available to play with
Excellent views of fist rail beach

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am so pleased that the whole family had a lovely holiday with us. Hope to see you all again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights with the children over Easter. Family room very comfortable, warm, clean and well equipped. Plenty for the children to do, games, play area and swimming pool. Activities provided for the children/families where fantastic. These included a magic show complete with animals and a family bingo and quiz night. Definitely stay there again when we're in Newquay. We had our breakfasts, which where fantastic, the selection of foods where wonderful, watching the surfers on Fistral beach.
Would recommend time and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndseyS128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Lyndsey,

Thank you so much for your kind review and we are so pleased that the whole family enjoyed themselves and you were able to enjoy some of the family activities. We look forward to seeing you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing