We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely three day stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely three day stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for three days from the 01/04/13-03/04/13 , we opted for a sea view room which was lovely and would definitely recommend as it is worth paying the money for. The reception staff were very helpful and the room was spotless and had a nice bathroom. Pool area was very clean, only slight complain is that the jacuzzi is rather small and can be crowded at times but not really a big problem if you wait! Breakfast each morning was lovely and the staff sat us by the window which was nice. Hotel is very close to all attractions in Cornwall and on arrival we had a parking space reserved for us which was nice. Really enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend any else to go there!:)

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sara, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over Easter, we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    415
    124
    53
    25
See reviews for
482
415
52
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked at The Esplanade as a last minute treat for the family. Friendly greeting staff on arrival, the room was clean and big, good for 2 adults and 2 young children ( ours are 6 and 8): our bed was huge, the kids had to share a small sofa bed which was ok. The facilities were good: swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna ok, indoor play area which the children enjoyed, all outside areas were also very good for the children to play safely. The views from the restaurant and lobby over the Fistral Beach were magnificent. Excellent breakfast but we were disappointed with our evening A la carte meal which not value for money and very average quality. To be fair, we complained about it and it was dealt with by our waiter in a very professional manner. Also, parking can be a bit tricky at times.
Overall, we had a lovely stay at the esplanade and will be going there again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us, I was pleased to see that although you had a problem in the restaurant we were able to put this right for you, I will ensure your comments are passed onto the restaurant team and the kitchen team are working to rectify the problem you experienced. We hope to see you again in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked a single room as a treat for myself, the bathroom was lovely, but the bedroom dated. Dinner wasnt as good as the sample menu on the website, but then I realised it was the same menu as the mothers day lunch served earlier that day at £10 cheaper than I d paid. The restaurant staff seemed under trained. I have emailed my complaint but have had no reply.

Room Tip: worth an upgrade to sea view, single rooms are just that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nellie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Nellie50,

I was very disappointed to read your review as I was when I received your email, we take all complaints very seriously and respond to them immediately.
I apologise that you seem to have not received my email response and will attempt to resend that again today,

Kind Regards,

Laura Cameron, General Manager
manager@newquay-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night all inclusive coach trip to the Esplanade Hotel.
We were greeted on arrival and given our room cards, and were told to wait for our bags which were brought up to our rooms for us. After a quick freshen up a cream tea was provided in the lounge for us.
We were a little disappointed with our room, we were given a family room at the back of the hotel, which consisted of a double room with an archway leading through to another room with bunk beds and a bathroom with shower leading off. The only form of heating was in the double room and although it was on full power the room was still very cold. There was also a constant noise coming from somewhere outside
which was extremely annoying, I presume it was from some sort of extractor fan. The room was fairly clean and we were provided with a tea tray.
A few hours after we arrived we were visisted by a lady from housekeeping who had come to check that we had everything we needed, which was a nice touch.
We had a free bar from 6pm. until 9pm. which consisted of a basic selection. The food was excellent, evening meal was a 3 course meal and we were able to chose all courses from a sheet which was printed daily. I must say everything we had was very nicely cooked, well presented and tasty, and the restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful, also bringing us drinks from the bar to our dinner table.
On the evening there was entertainment laid on in the hall adjacent to the dining room which was mainly for dancing and in the bar there was a singer on two evenings, and we had a game of bingo on our last evening.
Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice, from fruit, cereals, yoghurts etc and also hot food which consisted of bacon, friend eggs, scrambled egg, sausage, hash browns, tomatoes, baked beans and mushrooms, tea and coffee was served to the table.
We were provided with a packed lunch on two days which was very welcome.
The hotel has a swimming pool which looked very inviting but sadly we just didn't get the time to use it.
All in all, a very nice hotel, could do with a lick of paint and a spruce up outside, and the only real complaint was our room being very cold and noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed with a party from our ballroom dance group. 3 nights Friday to Sunday. Took our own keyboard player but the Hotel has a great ballroom for about 50/60 people. Great fun and the Hotel looked after us very well. Food excellent great view over Fistral beach Ideal for a party weekend or a beach holiday

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with balcony and extras are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the Esplanade for a long weekend March 22nd to March 25th as part of a coach party.
This hotel is a family friendly hotel which also lets owners take their dogs with them and looks over onto the fistral beach which is very popular with surfers, in fact the hotel has its own surfers club incorporated within the hotel. The outside of the hotel needs the paintwork to be spuced up especially at the back . There is only four sea view rooms with balconies on the top floor, there is various rooms at the rear that have balconies which also look out onto the tennis court and the childrens play area which could possibly be a little noisy in the school holidays. A number of rooms at the rear of the hotel are for visitors that bring their dogs with them, if you do not want a room that a dog has been in then you can request a dog free room, however the rooms that overlook the fistral beach are all dog free rooms. The breakfast menu is excellent, plenty of choice with cereals, cold choice or full cooked breakfast all buffet style service, the evening dinner is very well presented with a good choice of starter, main , and sweet course. The deal that our coach party was on meant we had a free bar between 6.00pm to 9.00pm, but with the evening meal starting at 7.00pm this cut down the time of the free bar but still very good. Would I stop here again, yes I would, lovely location, great staff who do take care of any concerns you may have. The swimming pool was out of use due to a water leak so I cannot comment

Room Tip: Due to this hotel having dogs in the rooms if you want a dog free room ask for one overlooking the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alk27194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent value, nothing too much trouble, staff all very caring and considerate
Wide choice of food available, beautifully presented.
We were able to have fresh milk in our room whenever we wanted it, always a must for us as we hate the little plasic pots of uht milk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing