We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

stayed here as a Christmas present from our daughter in January. On arrival parking was a bit of a problem as no off road spaces unless you parted with £10 per night, so road side parking it was. Reception was very helpful and polite and check in a breeze. The room was massive and the only down side was the balcony was tiny and the furniture was dirty, but then not going to be used in January. The evening Meal and breakfast was very nice and again staff very helpful and polite. The facilities are ok as well pool, jacuzzi and sauna very nice, just other people's kids are a problem. Had a 55min treatment a part of the package in the sister hotel just up the road which agin was very nice. The girls running the spa were very polite and looked after us very well. All in all an enjoyable weekend so much as we're all booked again for net month.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Sean, Thank you for your lovely review and we are pleased you are coming to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    414
    124
    53
    25
See reviews for
482
414
52
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perranporth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed for one night with my twin sister, and cannot fault our stay. The rooms were very, clean and comfortable. The sea view from our room and the lounge area very fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful, but were fully stretched in the restaurant. The evening meal and breakfast were great. We had to wait a little as the staff were very busy, but we weren't in a rush, if anything it was nice not to feel rushed. We used the spa facilities both days and we really enjoyed the relaxation. Our stay was a perfect way to relax, especially for my sister, who was on her first 'baby free' night. I highly recommend this hotel and have already booked to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surfchick1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you were able to enjoy some quality time with your sister and are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel was fantastic with great food, with a clean and tidy room. We thought it was great value and we were more then impressed with the service and feel to the hotel. We had a great new years stay with a nice mixed age group of happy new yearers all enjoying themselves.
Can't wait to return in the summer for a relaxed family holiday.

Room Tip: A suite would be great for kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Beales family, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you in the summer, don't forget you get 10% discount as a returning guest and we will be more than happy to talk you through all of our room options, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great find, great view of fistral beach, just out of town but an easy walk in. a very relaxing time.
room was clean and well layed out. the whole hotel was nice and cosy. All the staff friendly and helpful. good parking out the front, Used the SPA at the sister hotel excellant. ( just filling the review now 200 characters minimum - like most place's nowerdays could do with wider parking place as most people can't get out of there cars that easy (too much food or something) good surf's hotel they do cater for us, is that 200 characters minimum?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Simon, We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a lovely relaxed stay with us and that you had time to enjoy Fistral Spa, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badminton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for one night for £79 including upgrade to room with sea view. Room was superbly clean with breathtaking views of Fistral Beach. Evening meal was good, except that we were put in the area of the dining room with all the families, but may be that was all the people on the travelzoo deal. There was a good choice for breakfast, and everything was hot which was excellent.
The staff were all friendly and helpful. Excellent stay for the price

Room Tip: During stormy weather the rooms with a sea view are noisy at some states of the tide as the waves ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isobel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Isobel, Thank you for your lovely review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

just arrived home from 3 nights at this ""smashing"" hotel. special deal price for 3 nights bed,breakfast and 3 course evening meal !!!! no sea view, but that was our choice !!! as we thought that the time we would spend in our room would be dark anyway,but would say that on longer days a sea view would be fab....i will start with original telephone booking,taken by becky? who explained in detail what we would be getting with our booking and made the NO CANCELLATION TERMS really clear. on arrival we were very quickly booked in by cheryl and all details of meals explained and then she rang us soon after to make sure all was to our liking,, now thats what i call service and we were very happy ... lovely big room,large bed,spotless linen,mattress topper( very comfortable) roomy bathroom with big fluffy towels again spotlessly clean,compimentary shower gel,shampoo,conditioner.the restraurant was lovely with the most fantastic view over Fistral beach and the thing we enjoyed the most was the waiter/waitress service at dinner. with a good selection of starters,main course and desserts, thanks at this stage to" julie the chef" beautifully cooked and presented food on lovely china with nice cutlery and REAL linen napkins you dont see that much in this throw away day and age. polite and well mannered staff,again special thanks to Scott who looked after our table (and happy birthday too Scott) Entertainment in the bar at 9pm each night,quite low key but exactly right for the clientel in the hotel. all in all we had a really lovely break and felt that the staff overall really enjoyed looking after the "" paying customer"" again not something that can be taken for granted in this day and age.. the old style care provided is a credit to the hotel and much apreciated.and must reflect from the TOP down through the ranks............now the down side...... well there really isnt one. it was all so good it was a real pleasure to stay...so please (management) pass on our thanks to all members of your staff.............. and i am sooooooooo sorrry that we checked out and forgot to settle our BAR BILL !!!! all sorted out now

Room Tip: sea view rooms really are worth the extra that you pay for them... on the days when it is light for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Christine, Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your festive stay with us, I will ensure all your feedback is passed onto all members of the team and we wish you a very Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

A wonderful hotel, very welcoming,staff friendly and helpful.
Facilities very clean and enjoyable.
Rooms very clean.
Didn't enjoy the pigeons cooing outside our window or squeaky corridor floors outside our door.
An enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view it's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneSNewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Joanne, Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing