We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A great hotel for families - plenty to do inside and out. The beach is on the doorstep and the 15 min walk to town makes the Esplanade a very convenient hotel. The reception staff are very friendly and the board games in the lobby and the evening entertainment (even though a little hit-and-miss) ensured that children were content to let their parents relax with a drink! Our room was very spacious and had a patio door opening out onto a grassy play area, which allowed us to go back and forth to the beach without carrying bodyboards etc. through the main lobby.
Apart from the fact that the swimming pool was a lot smaller than it appears in the photos, my only complaint was the limited and expensive parking spaces. Although the receptionist told us that there was plenty of free parking on the street outside, in reality it was permanently taken up by surfers' vans from dawn until dusk. This meant that we were hesitant to move the car to explore the beautiful area as much as we would have liked to.
All in all, great value and a hotel that we would consider coming back to, and recommending to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are aware that car parking can be an issue during the day as we do have limited parking at the hotel. The road has recently changed to only cars being allowed to park overnight which we hope will alleviate some of the problems with camper vans. We hope to see you again in the future and don’t forget our loyalty club discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    430
    128
    55
    26
See reviews for
504
432
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went not knowing what to expect: in terms of facilities it is what you'd expect for the money but two things really impressed us. Firstly the great provision for young children; we didn't go to hotels much when our kids were young but we'd have been very happy to turn up here. Secondly, and best of all, the super welcome from all the young staff; they are really helpful, considerate and polite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review, we are very proud of all of our staff and I am delighted that they provided the kind of welcome we expect of them. We are constantly improving our childrens facilities to enable every member of the family to have an unforgettable holiday. We hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Went not expecting much for a 3 star charging a not insubstantial amount of money and was very pleasantly suprised!
1) Excellent customer service and staff - from the booking to reception to bar/restaurant staff.
2) Fantastic facilities for little children- small soft play area indoors and wooden playground outdoors, kids activities every evening (biscuit decorating-huge shortbread made by chef, pirate treasure hunt, water polo etc) and a children's quiz at night my daughter loved.
3) Very warm indoor pool with shallow paddling section my toddler loved.
4) Restaurant staff lovely, breakfast is substantial - good bacon. Highly recommend booking dinner in advance, it is fantastic value for money - 3 courses of very good food, fish on the menu everyday, pretty desserts.
5) Location - right on Fistral Beach with lovely sea views, few mins walk down steps to beach.
6) Rooms clean with lots of space (bunk beds) in family room, pretty toiletries in bathroom.
One of the most child friendly hotels we have stayed in with lots to occupy the children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storm000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, I am thoroughly delighted how happy you were with the family facilities. We are constantly improving our family activities and the facilities we have and we are glad they went down a storm! I have to admit I do like the biscuit decorating myself too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed for three days and had a fab time.
The rooms were fine - walls thin and it did get noisy but the noise generally died down by 10. it is a family hotel so if you go with this in mind you will not be disappointed. Great for families with young children and also teenagers. The hotel is right on Fistral beach so great for surfing and also just for chilling. Even during August the beach was not overly crowded. There are stables a five minute drive away. Our teenagers took advantage of this and went for a 2 hour hack which actually lasted 2 and 3/4 hours so great value for money. Food in the restaurant was good value for money as well
All staff were very friendly and helpful. This enhanced the enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy that everyone enjoyed their stay with us including the teenagers! We try to provide something for every member of the family and are glad that we got it right for your family, hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the Esplanade Hotel with a dancing group and met up with a local folk dance group. The hotel has a big ballroom, perfect for dancing.
Everybody in the hotel was very friendly and helpful, no request was too much.
Rooms very big and very clean.
The hotel is a nice 20 minute walk to the town centre, which is great, as it is not in the busy, loud area of the town. Located right at the beach, you can watch the surfers from the dining room and reception.
I can certainly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms to the front have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Croydon-MrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing The Esplanade. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Last minute booking for 6 nights for 2 adults and 2 children - 5 & 10. Any anxiety about relative low cost (and availability) in peak season for family room dispelled almost immediately on arrival (and to some extent by helpful pre-arrival service). Very friendly, attentive staff, eager to please. Great location and facilities so weather did not matter - proximity to Fistral beach made frequent visits easy. Room surprisingly large and well appointed. Would have preferred single or bunks than double sofa bed for kids but recognise hotel cannot have this in every room. We could easily get to balcony by ingeniously turning up end of sofa bed in daytime! Room spotlessly clean and serviced daily. Rest of hotel well cared for too and looked regularly refurbed quite stylishly. Had pre-paid for breakfast which was good move and cheaper and more convenient than hunting out local Costa or similar every day - choice and food quality was good. Because of weather ended up having dinner in Hotel 4 nights out of 6 and pleasantly surprised by quality and value for money - menu is mix of classic pub food and more adventurous, locally sourced dishes, especially fish and seafood. Not stellar but good except for one night when either we were late, restaurant busy or regular chef on night off. Kids menu good and mostly home made. Quite surprised by some of the negative comments in other reviews: don't recognise the complaints about cleanliness or staff at all. Parking was not an issue for us even though we didn't book in car park - close on-street parking was reasonably available if you were sensible about timing return. We had a great stay and only reason for 4 rather than 5 stars is there are some areas where room for improvement. I guess its difficult to do anything about heat other than installing expensive aircon. WiFi is not good - sporadic service - and certainly does not extend beyond reception area. Breakfast is a little late and I wonder if extending start to 7.30 or even 7.00 might cut down on congestion others (not us) have complained about. I didn't think the sausages were 'cheap' (see other reviews) but probably fried or griddled rather than grilled which gives that greasy, gelatinous consistency - that said, bacon was superb. Bar prices on high side. After dinner entertainment 'homely' and kids loved it but I can imagine wouldn't suit all tastes. However, to mark Esplanade down heavily on basis of these shortcomings would require a certain type of personality. From our experience, upsetting staff would require real effort - the customer-centric ethos was demonstrably evident even in obviously new or temporary staff. Clearly a high percentage of guests were regular or repeat business - across age and 'social profile', even the elderly coach parties - and it's easy to see why. Easily as family friendly as some of those far more expensive 'anyone for tennis' family hotel chains. I would certainly return to Esplanade, especially after seeing the tariff for the competitor 4* Headland. In fact, in post holiday mood was already looking at potential for Easter and long weekends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwannyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and your kind comments about a number of our facilities and staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, you are right in that not all of our family rooms have single beds or bunk beds, but if you would like this in the future please do not hesitate to ask for this at the time of booking. We are always trying to improve our family activites and our entertainment but I am glad that you enjoyed the activities whilst you were here. We like to welcome back return guests every year and hope to see you again soon – maybe October half term!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked a short break through Travel Zoo for ourselves and our two granddaughters aged 5 and 6. The hotel staff were excellent, room was large, clean and tidy. The facilities for children were excellent - even catering for simple touches such as having buckets and spades for the children to use on the beach. The pool was clean and warm and the outside play area for the children was very good. The only down side to the holiday was the lack of parking and the meals are rather pricey but the quality is good. Overall though, a very good break with fantastic views of the sea and very close to the lovely Fistral Beach. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a family break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, and I am very pleased that you were able to take advantage of our simple touches like the buckets and spades. We hope your grandchildren enjoyed their holiday and we hope to welcome you all back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing