We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab fish and chips and amazing view”

The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop
Ranked #9 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: $3 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are now a fully licenced restaurant with fantastic sea views and full table service.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab fish and chips and amazing view”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just brilliant, they were so accommodating to us and our dog. We sat on the decking area out the back overlooking the beach. Some of the best fish and chips we have had, the batter was crispy, the skin had been removed from the fish, simply delicious. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retro2398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    97
    33
    27
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good chippy food with a view”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We had food here whilst visiting Newquay and the view over the sea from the outer seating area looked amazing. We ordered a kids meal for our son and it was fish and chips that he enjoyed. It's not gourmet food but if your after a good chippy then it's worth a try.

Helpful?
Thank Sukhjinder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best chippy in Newquay”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Absolutely fantastic! Staff were so friendly, great value for money considering how much you get! Best fish we've had in years. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livvy0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AVOID !!! AVOID!!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have ordered grilled cod, payed extra for it. And we get an frozen peace of fish where you could see water coming out of it. Portions like in a kids meal. We do regret that we went there, for £26 pounds we had 1x fish and chips , 1x grilled cod(which was a joke, never seen a grill only microwave) and portion of chips with 4x cans of coke. When i whent to say that grilled cod was int very nice chef for very rude !!! Avoid !!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank SNReview2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roland m, Owner at The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
I dispute this review as being a true review not having had any such complaints
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Chippy chips!!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Having been here on our last holiday, my husband and I decided to go back again....and it was just as good as we remembered 5 years ago!! Lovely freshly cooked cod and lush chips!! I had the curry and would recommend it, the owner Roland was friendly and stopped for a chat :)
So if you want the best fish and chips by the sea, this is the place to go!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chard32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing