We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ron & Mads Tour of Cornwall 2013”

The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop
Ranked #9 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: $3 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are now a fully licenced restaurant with fantastic sea views and full table service.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ron & Mads Tour of Cornwall 2013”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have toured Cornwall many times and naturualy when in coastal towns and villages normally sample the local fish and chip resturants. Last month we were fortunate to experience the Cod End in Newquay, we were greeted by very freindly staff nothing was to much trouble for them. The meal was excellant the restraunt was very clean and service great. We come from Southend in Essex so consider ourselves conosouirs on the Great British Fish & Chips. So come on Cod End open a shop in Southend but use CORNISH FISH AND POTATOES. Well done and thanks again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roland m, Owner at The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thankyou for your good review nice too serve nice people thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    98
    33
    27
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great plaice”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

On holidvay in newquay from bristol looking forward to some seaside fish and chips and we found them!! What a great chipshop, friendly humourous staff and biggest plus GREAT FOOD. Thanks mate

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roland m, Owner at The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback I'm glad you liked the patter sometimes it's nice to have fun !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
callington
2 reviews
“best fish shop in newquay”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Been going to this fish shop for years, eaten in the restaurant and also takeaway. Cannot fault the food the staff . They are so friendly,we don't feel uncomfortable,the staff are very friendly,always clean shop.the fish is fresh and the chips are fresh not frozen. We love it there

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roland m, Owner at The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Well what a nice review hope to see you soon glad you enjoyed your food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
“*****First Class******”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Visiting from London for 2 weeks with the family and had to write our first review. The Cod end is an absolute gem. The staff make you feel very welcome and couldn't do enough to make sure our last night in Newquay was a great one. The Fish & Chips was AMAZING and the kidds had Sausage and Batter x3 and all enjoyed it. Value for money and a great meal. Well done!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheButchersArmsEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roland m, Owner at The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thankyou for your very nice review it is very good for the ourselves to be appreciated thanks once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD FISH & CHIP SHOP”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This chip shop has indoor and outdoor seating areas the indoor eating area has fantastic views overlooking Newquay beaches. The quality of the fish and chips is very good and the staff are very friendly this may be the best chip shop in Newquay but I,ve only been to this one so I can,t say.I wouldn,t hesitate recommending this fish and chip shop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAULDGIB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roland m, Owner at The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thankyou for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing