We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“National weekend”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cliffdene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliffdene Hotel
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“National weekend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel staff were really good and helpful.The food was good and the waitresses brilliant. The rooms were clean although very tired as was the hotel. Sleep was non existant due to a stag party whose recipients were in the room next to mine. Families stay at this hotel and do not want to hear young idiots swearing and banging door til all hours of the morning.I wouldnt choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    95
    78
    34
    20
See reviews for
38
132
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I had a single room overall was clean & tidy , unsuite too so had everything I needed , only small problem the bathroom could of done with a sanitiser bin , but had a waste bin so made do with that . But staff was very friendly & the breakfast was great would come back again

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in June. Right opposite beach. Perfectly comfortable, functional and clean but it is the cheerful, helpful staff that make the difference.
This was epitomised when I left something in my wardrobe and the hotel sent it on to me without even taking a payment , despite me offering one. If you want great value with better, more attentive service than most 4 star hotels then here it is.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a very good cheap and cheerful hotel. The Hotel room has what you should want a TV, Hair dryer, Coffee and Tea facilities, own toilet and own shower.

The hotel also boast its own bar and has a room where you can watch tv, drink a few beers and play a few games of pool. (50p a game so bring some 50p coins).

The hotel offers breakfast which has the typical cereal , yoghurt's' fruits and a cooked breakfast cooked brought to your table. I prefer the cooked breakfast brought to the table as it stops the fatties piling their plates up. If you prefer breakfast in a bag then go up the road to a different hotel.The hotel also has its own restaurant so you can order yourself a cooked meal in the evening.

If you love the beach their is a beach right opposite this hotel and also has a bus stop close by.
The hotel is also in a quiet part of Newquay so you should hear to many stag/hen do's.

Tesco is a 2 minute walk away. Newquay Zoo is a 10 minute walk away.

The staff were polite especially the two breakfast staff Monica and Aimee. If you are a snob do not stay here. Great hotel and I would stay here again. Yes there are a few things that need to be done to Improve the hotel.

The hotel should buy the land next to the hotel and turn into a bigger car park.Maybe employee a window cleaner.

Keep up the good work Cliffdene Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for room 34 Great view over the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe Dude
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Booked at the last minute the hotel had a great team ,cooked breakfast was included in the tariff.Even my single room was spacious.
Bathroom was clean and tea and coffee facilities were provided. Parking was included
This hotel beats others with higher tariffs. Though some rooms need a little TLC they'd are warm ,dry and comfortable and prepared very well, but the bed is a little firm.
It is in a great location a 10 minute stroll into town. And quiet and relaxing away from the towns lively town,
will definitely visit again

As a surfer and I could cross the road and surf -bonus, will stay again

Room Tip: Avoid room 17 if you like a lie in ,the extractor fan vibrates when the kitchen starts cooking. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TahoeDude049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

The position of this hotel is great, opposite a lovely beach and easy reach of high street etc. Room clean, bright and spacious. Dinning room well decorated and contemporary seaside style.. Food fine compared to other similar hotels who take large coach parties. Staff very helpful and friendly. The rather dull reception area doesn't do justice to rest of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenj899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Lovely stay at cliffdene , staff very helpful and room was clean , needs little tlc but excellent value for money , location was fab and lovely breakfast each morning , Eileen on reception was lovely and very helpful and ernie who was always rushing around ;-) lovely 3 day break and would definatley return !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hev_ade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffdene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Property: Cliffdene Hotel
Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing