We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value.”
Review of Cliffdene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliffdene Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Booked a single room to have somewhere to sleep for a night. Didn't expect very much for the price, but I was very wrong. Friendly welcome at Reception, super room with view over the sea, comfortable bed, warm, very modern bathroom. Bar staff great, breakfast (included) excellent so a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keith1001340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your recent review

I was pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay and that you got great value for money.

We look forward to welcomig you back at the Cliffdene Hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Cliffdene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 348 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nothing much to add except to say that the Cliiffdene is an hotel with its own character and very friendly staff. We had a wonderful sea view room. Just like waking up to the Meditarranean each day, but it was too hot on account of the unseasonable heat wave we were experiencing, and there was no a//con. Food good but there is a lack of pleasant sitting areas. Could do with a nice sea-facing lounge!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dinonorwich2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Many thanks for your recent review and positive comments.

I will speak with my manager about the negative points. The restaurant is sea facing although you may not have had a table near the window.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here one night whilst visiting Newquay as it was one of the closest to Newquay Station and right on the seafront. We did not have to pay extra for single rooms which were only £22 each and both had en suite facilities. The rooms were basic but immaculately clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Just a short walk to the Pizza Express if you are not eating at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladieswholunchDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

We quite often do special prices for some of our budget rooms and look forward to feedback. Once again many thanks.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stay at the Cliffdene every year for a staff reunion, and have never been disappointed. Handy location right on the seafront at Newquay, with a great view. Handy for the town centre, handy for the rail station, and so locationwise spot on. The hotel is warm, welcoming and friendly, and does not promote itself as being 'top end', but is cheap and cheerful, and in a good way. Great staff (and consistent too, its good to see the same faces every year, obviously a sign that they are happy in their work) who do all they can to ensure that stays are relaxing and hassle free. Well worth a look.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manage at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Many thanks for your rview and kind comments.

We have a good team at the Cliffdene Hotel and although we have only had the hotel 18 months we are making great progress.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed at The Cliffdene for our club Xmas meal and disco for past 10 or so years. The staff at Cliffdene have always been friendly and ready to help in any way and the rooms we have stayed in have been good quality. But, this year, on top of the usual good times, the food was outstanding. Well done Cliffdene.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nig87101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review about our hotel on Tripadisor. This is very much appreciated and we certainly also appreciate your loyal support throughout the past 10 years.
My team work very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay and I'm pleased to hear that you found the Cliffdene Hotel this Year better than ever. On behalf of my team thank you for sharing your experience and for speaking highly of us.
In the meantime, please be assured that I have passed your review onto our staff members and I look forward to welcoming you back again in 2013.

Kind regards,
Bernie Korycki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We hold an annual event at the Hotel and this year they really did shine. Last year there were a few minor grumbles about the food. Personally it was never bad but this year all those comments had been noted and the food was amazing. The waiting staff were brilliant and it is a lovely venue for parties and functions. The bar/dance area is very smart and is well laid out for a gathering. The rooms are clean and tidy and some have amazing views. The manager makes a great effort to ensure that the dining room is laid out to you liking. The Hotel is run very well and it makes a change that a company are prepared to listen to your views and act upon them as well as care about customer satisfaction. If you are going for an event or a stay by the sea I do not think you will be disappointed. Very happy!

Room Tip: Request a sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to write such a great a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor following your recent annual event. I'm delighted that you chose to share your experience on the internet as this can only help us in attracting new guests to our hotel.

We very much appreciate you choosing our hotel for the venue of your Dinner & Dance Night and I have passed your kind words onto my team. We are all glad you had such an enjoyable time at the Cliffdene Hotel.

Once again thank you for your fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back for your event in 2013!

Kind regards,
Bernie Korycki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I kept thinking of "Faulty Towers" during my stay, (1 week late September) and not in a bad way !
A welcome change from international chain style hotels.
The Cliffdene ticked all my boxes, and the staff were perfectly happy to help me in many ways.
A need a good breakfast, and got one every time. Loved the endless tea, coffee, milk and sugar in the room. Newquay's still a decent spot for a break, liking your work Cliffdene.

Room Tip: I stayed in 2 of the cheaper ones, both a bit different. The 2nd one had wi-fi available !
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ROBERT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a favourable review of our hotel on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Cliffdene Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. On behalf of the team thank you for sharing your experience and for speaking highly of us.

Once again thank you for your kinds words and I look forward to welcoming you back to Newquay in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bernie Korycki (Basil)
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
938 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffdene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $53 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing