We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice modern cineama”

Lighthouse Cinema @ Newquay
Ranked #1 of 6 Fun & Games in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Completed in 2011, Lighthouse Cinema is a purpose built, fully digital, 4 screen cinema in the centre of Newquay. It has a capacity of over 600 seats and offers 3D films and Dolby 7.1 Surround.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice modern cineama”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Nice cinema, really confatable , large screen seats spaced out well, nothing not to like, would give the likes of some of the chans a run for their money!!! :-)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grog2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse_Cinema, Manager at Lighthouse Cinema @ Newquay, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thankyou for your feedback. I'm glad that you had a good visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    68
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“State of the art”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

It isn't very often in a little town like Newquay you see a multi million pound private investment. The multi screen cinema is state of the art.

Most tourists might say what's so special about a cinema as we've got one in our home town already. I would say to that 1. The admission prices are substantially cheaper than odeon and vue 2. Wet days even in summer are not fun - go watch a movie!

Helpful?
Thank littleitalynqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse_Cinema, Manager at Lighthouse Cinema @ Newquay, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thankyou for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“At last a cinema closer to home!”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We've been missing out on local cinema entertainment for some time, but now we have the Lighthouse in Newquay we're loving it! Tuesdays is great for their special £5 offer on tickets. Parking is easy with a car park across the road. Post performance supper at Little Italy just across the road is an absolute must for fabulous pizza. The cinema is a new building so expect light airy spaces and excellent facilities. I found the seats a bit uncomfortable after a while so it would be great to see a few rows swapped for armchair style ones at some point in the future - worthwhile paying extra for a recliner! Expectations well met and a good experience all round.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trulyreviewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse_Cinema, Manager at Lighthouse Cinema @ Newquay, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thankyou for your comments. We agree that Little Italy do some amazing pre (or post) cinema pizzas! Your comments on chairs have been taken into consideration. Cinema chairs are always a tricky one as people tend to have different opinions of what they would like. Certainly we have tried different style chairs in our other cinemas, and if we decide to refurbish the screens at all it is certainly something we would look into. I'm glad that you are enjoying having a cinema back in Newquay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit at large
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant but foyer dirty”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We had a great visit, the seats are brilliant and sound effects great but in the foyer there were loads of popcorn on the floor being trodden into the lovely new floor and also sweets, there were three staff behind the counter and although not busy did not clear it up.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Inedebois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse_Cinema, Manager at Lighthouse Cinema @ Newquay, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thankyou for your feedback. I am glad that you were happy with the sound quality and the rest of your experience.We do make every effort to keep a clean cinema, although at times the floors do get dirty as I am sure you understand. You rightly point out that staff could have and should have been working on it and your points have been taken on board and hopefully next time you come to visit us you will find it very clean!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cinema”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Easy Location, good screen size and filme selection, price good

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavidH616264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse_Cinema, Manager at Lighthouse Cinema @ Newquay, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thankyou for your feedback. I'm glad that you had a good visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Cinema @ Newquay also viewed

 

Been to Lighthouse Cinema @ Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing