We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good guy Dale.”

Big Green Surf School
Ranked #4 of 44 Tours in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Big Green Surf School we pride ourselves in giving loads of personal attention in the water to ensure you're getting the most out of your surfing. We specialise in small groups (max 6 with 1 coach), simple and achievable techniques for all abilities, the best equipment available, incredibly passionate & experienced coaches as well as 2 of the best locations available for your Surf or SUP experience. You can now find us in Newquay at Base Surf Lodge where we can offer fantastic Surf & Stay packages at great prices, as well as our new base over at the National Trust's Crantock Beach where we are the only surf school! Perfect to find some quiet space during the busy peak summer. Come and join us and see what all the fuss is about!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good guy Dale.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spent just under a week in Cornwall, back in the ocean after a many-year break. Been up on my board before, but with lots of help. In four days I not only felt MUCH safer in the water but learned to surf better than anyone has taught me before. Feel like I can make a real hobby out of it now, and will be back again in a month to continue. Dale is a good soul, very caring and has a uniquely good grasp of understanding skeletal structure, the ocean, on top of how being a great surfer with natural teaching techniques. He's good soul and his lessons were best part of my stay in Cornwall.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arhan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGreenSurfSchool, Owner at Big Green Surf School, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
You did SO well in the water. The extra ocean knowledge was really helping by the end of the week. You're back with us again this weekend so look forward to grabbing a few waves with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really great surfing experience!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was hungover from my stag do the night before but once in the water the hungover vanished rapidly! I'm a beginer surfer and have stood up a few times but felt more confident with the technique Dale showed me which I will definitely use again. I would definitely recommend this school as they were really friendly, great value for money and really undetstanding of all different abilities. When I come back to Newquay I would go with them again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank charlie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGreenSurfSchool, Owner at Big Green Surf School, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
The best hangover cure in the world! Highly recommended, glad the new technique is working out for you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant surf school!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a few 2 hour lessons with Dale, each in a small group of 4. Our lessons were tailored to our surfing abilities and Dale focused on each person in turn to improve the technique. As well as the great local knowledge, the Big Green Surf School took the time to ensure everyone was catered for and looked after as well as getting the most out of the lessons.
Incredibly enthusiastic and a genuine pleasure to be taught by the Big green Surf School.
I would highly recommend them to anyone thinking about surfing in Newquay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annabel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGreenSurfSchool, Owner at Big Green Surf School, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
It was great to have you guys down with us. You guys really took advantage of the small groups and reaped the rewards! Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great staff, great surf!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great atmosphere and experienced staff. Recommend taking a class no matter your surf skills, they can teach you something either way!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank welmoedroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGreenSurfSchool, Owner at Big Green Surf School, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, always here to help you rip even harder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surfing made easy”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had a great 2 hour lesson with Dale at the surf school, there were 4 of us which when compared to the other schools (who sometimes have 10-15 people per esson) means that he can spend time helping each person individually. He was in the water with us giving tips after each attempt, offering encouragement and advice, and was really passionate and friendly. The way he explained his 5 step technique was simple and straightforward, which made it seem like child's play. Two of us were first timers and both managed to get up on the board and surf for 5-10 seconds after just two hours. Might seem a short time but that's pretty good for a newbie!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGreenSurfSchool, Owner at Big Green Surf School, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Our technique certainly seemed to work for you - and the length of rides you were getting were only limited by the waves - you were riding everything to the dry sand by the end! Well done dude and good luck with the exam results!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Green Surf School also viewed

 

Been to Big Green Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing