We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive”

Holywell Bay Fun Park
Ranked #23 of 63 things to do in Newquay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ride, slide, splash and spin - with FREE entry, FREE parking and 20 rides and attractions Holywell Bay Fun Park is a great day out for all the family. One of Cornwall's top family attractions, Holywell Bay Fun Park is close to the beach and just 4 miles from Newquay. Our 'your day, your way' approach allows you to choose to either pay as you play or buy bulk star deals, saving you pounds. What's more if you buy online ahead of arriving, you can save a further 10%. Our bulk star deals offer great value for money and don't forget, only those playing need to pay, so can bring granny and granddad on your family day out at no extra cost! Get fast and furious on our F1 go karts, drench dad on our super squirty blaster boats, or dodge the mystical waterfall and make mum mad by getting lost in our magical maze. Aim, shoot, spin and steer on rides and family attractions for all ages. When it's time to cool down we've got it covered! Our original ice cream parlour, Daisy's, is a beautifully designed space to sit back and enjoy a delicious Cornish ice cream, freshly made smoothie or milkshake. For lunch or a quick snack, enjoy a welcoming atmosphere and stunning views at The Diner. Serving hot and cold food and beverages, The Diner is a great way to power up before continuing play on the park. At the back is Jelly Tots, a soft play area for Toddlers. Next door at the Golf Club, Woody's bar and restaurant is open to all. It's the perfect place to sit back and relax whilst enjoying the amazing views over the famous Gull Rocks. Newquay's Holywell Bay Fun Park is open from 10.30am for the main season, Easter - October, but please check opening days and times on our website before embarking on your day out.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This place is small and expensive. Would not recommend to anyone. We are a family of four and it cost £60 for all of us to have a wristband. Our youngest could only go on a few rides. The panning for gold was not good, the water was freezing so the children was getting cold.
The restaurant was so overpriced for food. They were selling burgers on there one for around £7 and if you want chips the price goes up to £10.

We had fun in the maze and playing farm golf but for a day out I would not come back again.

The staff are all polite and wonderful with children.

The gift shop was poor as well. There was hardly anything unlike other places I have been to.

3  Thank lisajbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServicesTR8, Guest Relations Manager at Holywell Bay Fun Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you kindly for your comments. We do take all these very seriously and always appreciate feedback whether positive or negative, however, we are genuinely very saddened by your evaluation of our site. Our new website has a height checker so we do recommend checking available rides before visiting us to avoid disappointment, we have also now opened our Jolly Tots area which is an indoor soft play area designed for the little ones. We are also somewhat disappointed that you feel our "restaurant is so over priced" as we have spent a great deal of time evaluating prices in similar establishments across the county and we appear to be very competitively pitched in our pricing and we are specifically using fresh local ingredients and our burgers are sourced from a very reputable butchers where they are made fresh on site daily. We would also like to emphasise that our burgers range in price from £4.95 to a max of £6.45 and if you take our meal deal for an extra £2.50 you get skinny fries, fresh homemade coleslaw and a 16oz Pepsi fizzy drink of your choice (a meal deal inc drink costs from £7.45 to a max of £8.95). If you would like to discuss in more detail, please email us and we will be happy to call you back. Regards, Holywell Bay Fun Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 396 of 530 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

7 of us decide to visit on the spur of moment as it's just down the road from where we live. 3 adults, 3 children & a two year old toddler=£92.57..... shocking amount for what is there. There was very little that the toddler could go on, the staff were unfriendly, rude & miserable (and it's only the start of the season). Comparing the park to the likes of Flambards, Cornwall's Crealy etc which when we got home we discovered that all of us could have gone there for under £90 it was absolutely NOT value for money. Wouldn't go there again and will not be taking any other visitors nor will we be recommending it. My advise is make the journey to the bigger parks-more to do, better value for money & having visited them before nicer staff. The 'restaurant' staff were lovely though.

3  Thank Cantbelieveimnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevornick, Guest Relations Manager at Holywell Bay Fun Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear cantbelieveimnot - Thank you for your comments above and we were genuinely shocked to read that you felt we were not value for money. We have spent a lot of time over the last year monitoring feedback and competitor pricing to ensure that we do offer value for money. New this year, our all-day wristbands offer guests the chance to spend the whole day on our site and go on as many rides as they wish. Unlike large theme parks where the whole family need to pay, with our wristbands, only those going on the rides need to pay - as such we have received excellent feedback from guests on our park this year, most of whom believe we offer excellent value. We also offer the option to 'pay as you play' whereby you buy stars and pay for the rides individually which works well for those just visiting for a quick play. We try to be as transparent as possible regarding our prices, with all prices available on our website and to guests on the park before they reach the payment kiosk. We really are sorry you did not enjoy your time at the park and if you wish to speak to us in more detail regarding this please email info@holywellbayfunpark.co.uk and we would be more than happy to call you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

myself and the wife and kids love spending so time here plenty to keep the kids busy and i'm a big kid at heart would also recommended visiting the beach just down the road well worth a day out :)

Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

took the grandchildren there and they loved it there was something for all of them to do they just couldn't decide what to do first and didn't want to leave

10  Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I love Hollywell bay but it has now become so expensive. This would be much better if they had a wristband system.

Thank TraceyT561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holywell Bay Fun Park also viewed

 

Been to Holywell Bay Fun Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing