We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!”
Review of The Mermaid Inn

The Mermaid Inn
Ranked #53 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: $6 - $14
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Nice dog friendly pub which we have been visiting for years. Unfortunately they have changed the menu and stopped serving the delicious homemade pate which is disappointing (please bring it back!) but there is still plenty of choice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    211
    88
    49
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Meal”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lovely steak dinner, very friendly atmosphere, very friendly staff. They could do more for coach drivers & trips.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 898Princess12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant atmosphere in a friendly Local Pub!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Brilliant for all your summer entertainment, or as a local for the winter months!! Plenty of good local entertainers or just a quiet wet!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daryll S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Had betetr days but the Beer garden is nice”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The pub has had better days but the beer garden is a nice spot for a drink on a sunny afternoon as it is right on the beach

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank g4224wil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Visited this pub for dinner one eveningevening whilst staying in the area on holiday. We were greated with a friendly welcome as soon as we arrived. There was a good selection of drinks available including some locally brewed real ales.
The menu was varied and would easily suit most tastes.
The food we ordered arrived after a waiting time that I would expect when the food was being freshly cooked.
Our meals we're very well presented and tasted delicious.
If you are looking for very good traditional pub food we can thoroughly recommend this place.
Although there was only the two of us this pub looked to cater for families with children and there were lots of room for small or large groups.
The service was very good and all the staff were very friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mermaid Inn also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing