We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had betetr days but the Beer garden is nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mermaid Inn

The Mermaid Inn
Ranked #63 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Had betetr days but the Beer garden is nice”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The pub has had better days but the beer garden is a nice spot for a drink on a sunny afternoon as it is right on the beach

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank g4224wil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    202
    84
    47
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Visited this pub for dinner one eveningevening whilst staying in the area on holiday. We were greated with a friendly welcome as soon as we arrived. There was a good selection of drinks available including some locally brewed real ales.
The menu was varied and would easily suit most tastes.
The food we ordered arrived after a waiting time that I would expect when the food was being freshly cooked.
Our meals we're very well presented and tasted delicious.
If you are looking for very good traditional pub food we can thoroughly recommend this place.
Although there was only the two of us this pub looked to cater for families with children and there were lots of room for small or large groups.
The service was very good and all the staff were very friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I recently re-visited here and had one of the best steaks I've ever had in my life which comes included with all of your sides (chips, salad, onion rings, mushrooms).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClarehTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Homemade Fresh Food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We love this place ! it was the first place we stopped at after our long journey. We love the location for all hours of the day or night. Great choice of drinks , including local beer & cider. The menu is a great pub menu & good choices. The best chilli con carne i have tasted ! Yes sometimes you have to wait for your food , but at least you know it is cooked to order, unlike some of the poor pub chain food ! I would have breakfast , lunch & dinner here if i could. The atmoshere is great on a night & the entertainment is great . Well worth a visit to watch the sun go down !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery is outstanding”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have eaten in this pub a few times when on holiday, usually out of season, and the range and quality of food is good.
The best value is the Sunday lunch carvery, lots of good food at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brunoGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mermaid Inn also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing