We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic time had by all!”
Review of MOR

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MOR
Ranked #37 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic time had by all!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We took a group of 15 school children aged 9-10 on a residential trip to Cornwall. Mor Lodge was the perfect place for us - both teachers and children had a brilliant time. The staff at Mor were very welcoming and were always willing to do anything to make our stay better. There were basic but clean rooms which suited both teachers and children too considering we spent most of every day out and about in Cornwall. The breakfasts, lunches and dinners provided were also all very well suited to our needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    47
    27
    6
    10
See reviews for
6
18
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Good place to stay as a group - friends/family. Great location for Newquay town centre, paid & display parking across the road. Staff friendly and really helpful. Would happily recommend to friends and family and stay at Mor again in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2014

MOR is a great place to stay and the staff is really helpful. Very nice bar and excellent rooms. The rooms are very nice and the view of the ocean from our room was cherry on top. Would highly recommend for a nice and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

What a great place! Just spent the weekend in Newquay for a stag do. We booked in at Mor and first of all loved the look of reception and the bar (which is stocked better than some of the towns pubs).

Patrick the gentleman that worked there was so accommodating. He kept the breakfast selection out a little longer as he knew we would be down (at some point). He was a true host and went above and beyond to make sure we had a cracking time! Alot of places will not accept stag dos now but this place was perfect.

Pool table, bar, vending machine and foosball table were all perfect for getting started before a night out (Probably the best drink prices too).

The room was a hostel style as you would expect by the name. There were bunks in the room we were in that slept 8. Had en suite with shower which all worked fine. I would say a blind on the frosted glass might be a good idea tho as your neighbours may not want to see all the outlines. Most importantly it had comfortable mattresses and pillows.

Ive seen on this site some people complaining and im afraid if you dont research properly than thats your fault. YES theres stag parties and YES theres hen parties but its still kept clean and tidy. There IS a night porter and a mobile number left out at reception if you need anything or have any problems.

I may not be calling back with the wife for a relaxing, quiet and romantic break as id book a 4*-5* hotel, but if your In town for a quick stop over or a night out then this is your place.

Will defo be calling in again with the lads.

Thanks again Mor for a contributing to a cracking weekend :-)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mrpe666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The staff are friendly and want to ensure you have the most amazing stay possible.

The beds are cozy and warm and a great place to lay your head after a big day out.

With an awsome bar and brilliant breakfast combined with superb and friendly staff, mor has it all you need.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jonjo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

First impression of the Hostel good. Clean and easy to get to the town from the hostel. Pretty shocked at the first up front £30 per guest deposit paid on arrival which was alot considering there was 9 of us - which meant we forked out £270 before even seeing our rooms.
Rooms were basic but clean.
We were the only guest in the hostel so this could be part of the reason for the staff member being exceptionally friendly to us.

Would recommend staying here but not keen on paying £30 upfront for a budget hostel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David2391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Had an all round delightful stay. Rooms are very basic but the staff and rest of hotel make it well worth the money. Bar was extremely cheap and had a nice (well kept) pool table, and comfy sofas. Staff were spot on, nothing was too much trouble. Good location, literally two mins walk to town centre. All round good stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richjackson_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#19 of 37 in Newquay
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
338 reviews
16.7 mi away
YHA Boswinger
YHA Boswinger
#1 of 1 in Boswinger
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
YHA Treyarnon
YHA Treyarnon
#3 of 13 in St Merryn
162 reviews
15.2 mi away
YHA Eden Project
YHA Eden Project
#5 of 37 in St Austell
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOR

Property: MOR
Address: 83-87 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MOR 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Activity Lodge based in the heart of Newquay. Private bedrooms in bunk style accommodation all en-suite. Free breakfast included. MOR has fantastic facilities including a great bar with large sun terrace overlooking the sea, games room with competition pool table and freshly ground coffee available throughout the day along with a selection of bar snacks. Just a 5 minute walk to the town centre with nightlife and shops. 10Minutes to town beaches. Ideal base for large groups on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your MOR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MOR Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing