We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for a great Cornish camping trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monkey Tree Holiday Park
Ranked #15 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay here. I must admit that first impressions count for a lot and this park did not disappoint. The reception staff were very helpful. we book a premium pitch which meant we had our own private bathroom, which was cleaned daily and also aloud us to leave all out washing products in the bathroom without have to keep bringing them backwards and forwards. The site is big, but all the facilities are easy to gain access too and not far to walk so the site has been careful planned. for a site that is big, I was pleasantly surprised that their was no loud noises on a night. The site is clean, well maintained and only 4 miles outside Newquay. the site also offer a shuttle bus service into town, so if you fancy a night out, there is no need to take the car. My six year old son loved the site. So much for him to do, he never got bored. The restaurant on site offers a good range of pub food and their is also a fish and chip shop on site which is not badly priced and the quality is good too. Overall, I would recommend this campsite to anyone looking for a stay in the Newquay area

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Kevinlinda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Monkey Tree Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 399 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

First visit to site- check in brilliant, excellent pitches and really clean shower blocks. Shop is useless and extremely expensive. Staff on the whole were very friendly and tried thier best.
Downside- Fishing lakes, should have said fishing puddle and only one!!!!. My children aged 8&10 loved the play area, but they were not safe. My son was hit on several occasions and despite complaining to staff and security nothing was done to halt the bad behaviour of unruly yobs!! I would also add that several other children were hurt by older kids who were unsupervised.The arcade was dismal and only a handful of the machines worked. The club is far to small and tables always sticky. the childrens entertainment is repetitive and only aimed at toddlers. Had to wait over an hour each night for food and on last night waited nearly 2 hours for a pizza!!! You are given a card to operate barriers at entrance, but they dont work so you end up with queues to get in or out!! Would not return as felt my chidren were not safe .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dorisbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Having arrived had great difficulty finding our pitch. There a were a couple of meeters and greeter at the park entrance, but no-one actually showing you to your pitch. We eventually found it tucked behind a row of pitches, after asking a fellow caravanner for some help!

The pitch was a good size (he had a Super Pitch which is the standard size), but was disappointed that the grass had not been cut before we arrived so it all looked a bit unkept. As the departure time is 10m and we didn't arrive until 12.30pm this should have been a given. I asked Reception if it could be mowed, and later that day a ride-on mower did the business.

The washblocks are ok, but his depends on where you are on the park. We were pitched a few rows behind the Reception up against the wall separating the tent field. The main washblock here was fine, but one soap dispenser for 5 or so sinks? The washblock opposite the bakery/takeaway was much older and really needs an update. I didn't see any cleaning of them in the 2 weeks we were there, but obviously they were and they were ok.

Ununusual to have a chemical disposal point with no flush, just a very slow pressure short length of hosepipe? The CDP needed cleaning alot more than it was, though why can't people rinse away their cassette toilet contents instead of leaving it all for others is beyond me! Unnecessary and unfair work for the cleaners.

Children's facilities - the main reason we came to Monkey Tree. Generally very good. The Children's Club kept the children entertained in the morning and afternoon, though unlike a lot of parents who seemed to use this as a baysitting service we accompanied ours. There were definately children under 5 who were not with parents. The Children's Club team work hard, particularly in the evening at the Clubhouse, and Lucy in particular was lovely. Funky Monkey was undoubtably the star as far as my oldest child ws concerned (but not my youngest who was scared stiff and would't go near him for the whole 2 weeks!) . The children loved doing the dancing games with Funky monkey and co. On one of the days you had the opportunity to have your child's picture taken with Funky Monkey. We now have a great A5 size photo and key ring of our oldest child for just £5 - great value.

The main play area was quite nice, with the usual swings and slide but also trampolines and a bouncy castle. No staff supervision though (the people who manned the ice cream kiosk (one at at time) looked bored to death and didn't look after any other areas), e.g. removing footwear on the trampolines.

The lack of supervision continued into the soft play area, and at times completely ruined the experience for younger children. We made 5 or 6 visits here during our 2 week stay, and on all but one occasion there were children who were miles over the height limit shown quite clearly, who were charging about and throwing the ballpit balls at each other. The rules up on the walls/;doors clearly state that children must be supervised by adults but this was rarely the case. My youngest was hit in the face hard by one of the balls and cried her eys out - that was the end of that visit. There are warnings up about the CCTV cameras, but no-one ever took any action - absolute anarchy. There was often litter everywhere too. A great shame as my kids love soft play.

The arcade (which we didn't spend any time in) was exactly how others have reviewed - run down with loads of machines out of order. Seems a wasted space.
The Nintendo Wii in the clubhouse was a nice touch for the kids that didn't want to dance around, but desperately needs a new television is was badly cracked and so the picture wasn't great - can't be too good for the kids' eyes.

On-site facilities - Bakery was good, especially for breakfast coissants. Reasonably priced too.
The takeaway (essentially a chipshop) was also surprisingly good and reasonably priced (£4.75 for fish & chips isn't bad value for an on-site takeaway), but not open enough hours. It only opens at 5.30pm; lunchtime would be good too
The shop was a disappointment - so expensive! 75p for a pint of milk is unreasonable. We only bought from here in an emergency.

We spent quite alot of time and money in the clubhouse in the evenings so the kids could enjoy themselves as previously stated. It was a bit dated but it was ok. Nowhere near big enough for the size of the park though! If you weren't there by 6.45pm you had little chance of getting a table. Drinks were not cheap but you expect from an on-site clubhouse. The Tribute was ok but another real ale or two would be nice. The Cornish Rattler was excellent, but a bit steep at £3.70 a pint. A nice touch was that the bar will do a glass of 'squash' (cordial and tap water) for 50p - much better value than the fruit shoot equivalent bottles so a big thumbs up for this.
We personally thought the adult entertainment started a bit late. 9.30pm for bingo and 10pm for the act of the night was probably about half an hour too late, but that's personal preference. It meant that the clubhouse went on until midnight, which was also the site time for things to be quiet. Again, we thought this was about an hour too late for a family park, but we knew this when we booked so this is not a complaint just an point of view.

We found ordering bar food to be an absolute nightmare. The kitchen quite simply cannot deal with the amount of food ordered from the clubhouse and attached restaurant room (which we didn't use). Despite complaining at the hour mark, some friends and I waited an hour and a half for some food (separate orders). My friends food came after an hour and a half (despite me ordering first), but some of it had to go straight back because it was cold. Mine didn't arrive so I gave up and asked for my money back. The Park Manager duly obliged and to be fair did offer to arrange for some food from the takeaway to take back to the caravan, but it was just too late by then. We didn't order again after that, but we constant saw people asking how long the food was going to take throughout the holiday. A shame, as a 'one-stop shop' for food and drinks is sometimes what you want on holiday.

The outdoor 'heated' pool was freezing!!!! This is by far the coldest heated swimming pool I have ever been in. No wonder so many of the kids were wearing wetsuits, but this should NOT be necessary in an outdoor pool. The displayed pool rules clearly stated no smoking around the pool, but this was blatantly ignored by at least 6 people on the day afternoon we went. Worse still the 'lifeguard' and one of the (green-topped) site staff were openly chatting and having a laugh with these same people who were sat smoking and swigging from their own cans of Fosters?! It really was an unpleasant atmosphere and coupled with the ridiculous ppol temperature meant it was the only time we used the pool. A great shame for the kids as the pool was one of the main reasons for coming to Monkey Tree.

This was one of the biggest disappointments of Monkey Tree Park - there was just never ever any sign of anyone one supervising or enforcing any rules anywhere in the park. The only exception was in the evenings at the clubhouse, when two security guys were always on the door.

At the end of the first week we had a horrendous experience with noise from the tent field. On the Saturday night a campfire party went on way past the midnight quiet time. My kids were getting woken up so at 12.40am I got up and walked down to the security hut by Reception and phoned the displayed mobile number to request Security ask them to quieten down. Nothing changed, and at around 2.30am they finally went to bed. In the morning we were all knackered, and I complained to the Duty Manager in Reception, who advised they had already been warned, and would be asked to leave if it happened again. The Reception staff and Duty Manager were courteous and symphathetic, and you cannot argue with the response. Unfortunately the next night was worse; this time from 2 tents that had partly been involved the night before (the rest had obviously heeded the warning and were quiet) who were screaming and swearing at each other. I gave up putting up with it at 01.40am and again phoned Security. This time someone did come out, but the noise continued until nearly 3am - totally unacceptable. I complained in writing the next morning, and she advised that they had been asked to leave (which they did later that morning). Again I cannot fault the response, but such a shame that on both nights the noise was allowed to go on so late. This ruined two days of our holiday; we were all knackered and the kids were far too tired to go to the clubhouse on both nights.

I've never known a site let so many commercial vehicles on site? I'm not talking about double cab pick ups (which many people now use to tow caravans) but vans with yellow beacons on for example, quite obviously work vehicles. This would not have been allowed on any site we have visited previously.

I cannot fault the response of the Management to the compaints about the noise problem, other than making more of an effort to deal with it on the nights in question. They said they would ask anyone to leave who was causing a disturbance, and they did just that. Just a shame it happened on our holiday. The inconsideration and behaviour displayed by people like this is frankly disgusting. The Reception staff are all very helpful, and the location is great. The kids had a great time too (other than the limited use of the pool and soft play) which was the main reason for going. We wouldn't return though, for the reasons above.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

we stayed here for 10 days in the trenance caravan with our 8 year old and 6 year old. from the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home with the friendly, helpful staff on check in desk. The caravan was immaculate and had everything we needed, the welcome hamper is a lovely touch.
The playground area is great with trampolines and bouncy castle for kids to use. The indoor play area is also great for kids, however we do feel that a member of staff on the door would stop teenagers causing riot in there and destroying the play area - although cctv is in operation and members of staff are quick to come in to remove anyone not supervised - so that is good. The amusements area is ok for kids but with a few machines out of order it didnt hold much amusement.
The evening entertainment in the clubhouse is great for kids, although the songs do get a bit repetitive but it is for kids and they seem to love it which is the main thing. The entertainers lee, lucy, shannan(?),patrick(?) were great at keeping the kids amused. Funky monkey is great and a real hit with the kids, also the wii in corner of room is good too. We didnt stay much later than 9pm as kids were tired so couldnt comment on much more of the evening but all in all great - only advice would be too get a table arounbd 6:30ish for the night as it does get busy., Drinks are reasonable priced with various offers on.
The reasturant is lovely, clean and we never had to wait more than 15 mins for our food we had £350 food and drink voucher so ate there most nights. The girl who took most of our orders and served us was fantastic and worked so hard, she was very polite and very helpful. One thing would be that the daily menu only got changed once whilst there but that wasnt a problem.
The swimming pool is also good although bit cold, but it is outside pool so is to be expected. Nice and clean around the pool too. The animal encounter is a lovely addition to the site and was a daily visit for our kids.
All in all we have had a fab holiday and missing the place allready, will be coming back next year with the grandparents too. Highly reccomended to everyone, although it is mainly a family park which is why we chose it and that itself makes it a winner in our eyes. Located within 5-10 min drive of beautiful beaches, well worth the 8 hour drive we made to get there.Many thanks monkey tree for a great holiday!! The cawston family

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just come back from our umpteenth trip & as usual had a great time. My 4 year old daughter loves going to the kids club and playing with the Funky Monkey & Lucy from the entertainment team. Would thoroughly recommend this site to anyone with a young family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phildoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Easy check in with Pleasant staff. You are however given a wristband which you are supposed to wear when using site facilities.

We made a tour of the facilities on our first evening. It is a really big site. It has a shop which can be at best described as average. It has a pub/club which was really old and dingy with cheap tables and chairs. The kids play area was quite good. The swimming pool looked OK but it was surrounded by old and dirty loungers with the intermittent new and clean one. The arcade was absolutely awful. Full of broken machines. Seriously the inside of an abandoned warehouse would have compared favourably.

They have a lot of toilet and shower blocks which were always clean.

Pitch was fine if not a bit exposed to the conditions.

Rather more unsavoury "chavvy" type of guests around than on other sites.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonkeyTreeManager, General Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to write your review, I am sorry that there were parts of your holiday you didn’t enjoy.

The club bar is a very popular facility and an area which we recognise we need to work on and we intende to do so in the near future.

I am glad however that you recognised the hard work we put into maintaining the toilet and shower blocks. I will pass on your kind comments to the Reception Team about your check-in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Monkey tree was our first visit to Cornwall as a family (7 year old) and one arrival we were suited with the check in very pleasant staff and fairly quick check in althought we did arrive after 4pm so everyone else was already checked in, seen the queues when peak time to check in very long!

We set up and the pitches are fab size we had a premium with hard standing for van.

The toilet blocks are fantastic although you have to tinkle inthe dark if dark day as lights only come on at night!! Showers are ok but lots of water on floor so wading in other peoples dirty water while trying to get ready!!

The club is really dated far too small for the size of site and far too expensive for drinks so we only visited around 5 times out of two weeks.

We only ate on site once and that was the last night placed our order and sat and waited and waited and waited!! After an hour we asked how long it was going to be as we could see other people waiting that had ordered before us!! We were told we had 3 or 4 tables in front of us!!! We asked how long it would be and asked if they had even started our order to be told no not yet and possibly another half an hour!!! This was now 7.30pm!! We got a refund and had to head over tot take away on site where we waited 45 mins for food there!!! Really disappointing last night!!

Swimming pool is situtated at back of club and could be really nice if water was cleaned very murky and lots of broken furniture piled up at side of pool!!

Animals were let down!! owls look like not been cleaned out for months and not much room for them!

Water was low in fishing pond!

Wont be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zippyhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
4.3 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
364 reviews
5.9 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#4 of 78 in Newquay
402 reviews
5.3 mi away
Porth Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
4.3 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#22 of 78 in Newquay
64 reviews
12.0 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#8 of 14 in St Merryn
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Tree Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Tree Holiday Park

Address: Scotland Road | Rejerrah, Newquay TR8 5QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Tree Holiday Park & Campsite, Newquay, Cornwall is an award-winning family Holiday Park just minutes away from Perranporth & Newquay. Situated on the North Coast of Cornwall Monkey Tree Holiday Park & camping the benefit of having some of Europe’s finest beaches just minutes away. Monkey Tree Holiday Park has an excellent range of static holiday homes to suit all tastes and budgets. The choice of caravan and camping pitches is superb, from standard non electric to those with hard standing, electricity, water supply and main drainage and even private bathroom facilities if required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monkey Tree Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing