We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant little beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tolcarne Beach

Ranked #6 of 58 things to do in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant little beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed just off Tolcarne beach and spent a couple of afternoons here. The location, just off the town centre, is ideal and the beach is extremely clean and very picturesque.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    103
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

went there sandy beach,but the weather prevented us from going on the beach.. the facilites looked good

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kevo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love this beach, Hate the stairs / slope”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This beach is our usual base, which was fine until we had a baby, and had to push the pram up the hill! This clearly isn't something that can be rectified, so i am not complaining.... unlike a couple near us who kept asking why they couldn't but an escalator in?... Fools!!

Do:
Get a beach hut if you lug stuff to the beach each day!
Drink Rattler in the beach front bar
TAKE YOUR LITTER AWAY WITH YOU!!!

Don't
Use the public toilet (GRIM!!!!)
Moan about the stairs or hill. They have been there longer than you, and will still be the bane of sunbathers for hundreds of years to come
Take glass on the beach... I saw a little girl really badly cut her foot due to some idiot’s stupidity

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiffter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was the beach we had a view of from our hotel window. It wonderfully to see the surfers going out at all times of day remembering it is late December.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dustysmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn
Level Contributor
209 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“A chilly experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The beach is at the bottom of cliffs and access can be obtained either by steps or roadway, at the bottom there are apartments and 'day cabins' which must be lovely in the summer as well as a beach café. It was fun to watch the Surfers but they must all be mad as the sea was bitterly cold, the beach was very clean but coming back up to the seafront via the stairs is very hard work despite the fact that the young one's were running up!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tolcarne Beach also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Tolcarne Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing