We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed First, not happy the second time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Central Inn

The Central Inn
Ranked #46 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Impressed First, not happy the second time”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We came here to have a drink and then we sow the steak on stone, we just loved it. Great price for 2 steaks and a bottle of wine. The service was good a part of a moody barman that we met.
The day after we came back for a burger but we were not impressed at all, we didn't even finish it. So go and try the steak, I wouldn't recommend the burgers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank italocaramia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    128
    27
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great location and menu”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have visited here a few times and were not dissapointed on this occasion. We enjoyed a bottle of wine watching the world stroll bar and had a very enjoyable meal which was well cooked and reasonably priced. Really impressed. Washrooms are upstairs but were clean and tidy so cant moan. Great staff... really helpful and accommodating, lovely outside seating area. You cant moan about the prices and the central location is great. GO HERE lol

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deedeeptk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“love it!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ate at Central 2 nights out of our 3 night stay, great value for money,great food, atmosphere and the bar and restaurant are very clean and modern! Although central gets very busy in the evenings the restaurant is nicely kept away from the bar/drinking area. Overall central have got it spot on!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 25492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place to eat with a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Popped in here to grab some lunch while taking a quick trip to Newquay with some friends, First impressions were that it was you're typical gastropub trying to be more than it actually was by using fancy dishes and bowls and wooden plates. Was pleasantly surprised, the variety and quality of the food was very good, kinda wish i'd had a chance to try much more of the menu as there were times when i wondered if I should have ordered something else upon seeing some of the other meals. The food was all delivered at the same time despite the staggering of the orders, and the staff were very friendly, will definitely visit again when in Newquay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 88mjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Only stopped off for a few drinks”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Fantastic location for just people watching. We sat here & drank a few hours away just watching the world go by. Service was good & the beer was refreshing & cold, they served food but we were only having a few drinks, toilets are upstairs & a bit pokey but OK, the rest of the place is nicely laid out with a great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisradioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Central Inn also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Central Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing