We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I wanted and more....”

Blue Wings Surf School
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything I wanted and more....”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in August and had the surfing lessons with Mart & Dave as a package. The accommodation is exactly as advertised and does the job very nicely, the room was clean and well presented. The 'Surf School' is in a great position being far enough away from the centre of town so you don't get disturbed by people enjoying nights out, but only a 5 minute stroll away if you fancy a meal out or a beer. The beach is around a 10-15 minute walk from the house which was actually brilliant because it gives your body a chance to warm up before tackling the waves. Mart & Dave were very friendly and approachable a great team, they spend time with you in the sea coaching you and helping you to progress enhancing your enjoyment of the experience. All in all, loved everything about it, genuinely felt like I'd found a real gem and will definitely be staying here again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First time surfers!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hubby son and myself decided we couldn't come to Newquay without having lessons,so..... Dave and Mart welcoming, interesting, funny, informative, helpful,we loved every minute of it, thanks so much to both of you :-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've been surfing before but these guys were perfect in guiding me to the next level! Dave and Mart understood exactly what i needed to do and by the last day i was riding across the waves and had the biggest grin on my face! i'm definitely coming back in October and i can't wait! see you soon guys! Rich (& Joe - ibiiiiiiiza)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, tremendous teachers makes for super surfing!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Dave and Mart are the best. They are great teachers who give great instruction and are very relaxed making you feel confident and relaxed to give it a go. They will always ensure everyone is getting enough attention so they achieve what they want. They are genuinely nice guys and you will have a great time with them!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenAyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent fun!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

As a first time surf lesson, just for fun, Blue Wings really served our needs. Dave helped us along the way and encouraged us to have a proper go at surfing. Dave was a very patient tutor and always urged you to have another go and get back on the surf board!!
An excellent experience and superb value for money, really enjoyed it and would recommend that if you want to learn to surf you 'get your blue wings!'

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Wings Surf School also viewed

 

Been to Blue Wings Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing