We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre opening hours”
Review of Pirate's Quest

Pirate's Quest
Ranked #1 of 7 Fun & Games in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Get ready to embark on a swashbucklin’ voyage through Cornwall’s pirating past at Pirate’s Quest, Newquay – Come face to face with smugglers, mermaids, and real LIVE buccaneers! A brand new storyline for 2017 will see visitors transported back over 300 years to the Golden Age of Piracy and the dawn of The Republic of Pirates. A notorious band of buccaneers known as ‘The Flying Gang’ have been sent to Cornwall by their illustrious leader, Captain Blackbeard, in hopes of finding new recruits to join The Republic of Pirates. A real LIVE pirate from the infamous ‘Flying Gang’ will help you escape a shipwreck then lead you through the mystical caves and murky streets of eighteenth century Cornwall to the crew’s recruitment base; Blackbeard’s Tavern. Eventually you’ll arrive at the Captain’s Ship, ready to set sail to an exotic Caribbean island and The Republic of Pirates. The hour-long walk-through experience will allow pirate fans and their crew mates the chance to feel, hear, smell, and see Cornwall’s intriguing legends and exciting history. Every performance is pitched for each individual group making Pirate’s Quest an adventure the whole family can enjoy together
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
hx
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bizarre opening hours”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was all set to write a review about how shoddy Buccaneer Bay was, as we were unable to visit, but we did get to visit eventually.
The opening hours have the attraction closing at 4pm, but with some late openings, we went on a Friday late opening, but it was closed, and there was no indication of when they would be open advertised on the premises. Looking on the website (by phone), it stated that it closed Saturdays. However it was open on the Saturday, but with limited staff, as some of the pirates had family emergencies.
When we finally got in the attraction, the pirate seemed very authentic, and told stories of piracy, and lore, with models illustrating the stories.
The scare attraction part could do with being scary.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdaHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratemanager, Manager at Pirate's Quest, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Buccaneer Bay. We are open daily with the last show starting around 4pm. This is stated in our brochure, a copy of which is on the front door but we will also put the opening times on a poster in the window to avoid this problem in the future.

We have been open Saturdays since 2010 but having typed a request for opening hours into the internet now realise that Google have us set up with different opening hours and as closed on Saturdays. You obviously reached this site rather than our web page. We are in the process of registering to get this changed. It is difficult to keep up to date with all of the sites that pick up details but then do not check back for changes in times, prices etc.

We are glad that you did get to see us. Our scare section is set to a fright level that the main August audience ( families with children) find scary. We offer higher levels of scare to booked parties and have an annual Halloween fright night when the whole building is a scare attraction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    104
    35
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“a must for kids and big kids”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

didn't know what to expect when i saw the outside. but once in there it was worth it. 5yr old and husband loved it. secretly so did i. the actors are brilliant you can't fault them at all. they really get you joining in and they were quite funny. the dummies were amazing. we were in a small group as theres not a lot of room in there. yes theres a little bit of jumping out and scaring you which it did me.
theres a little shop as you go in where you can purchase little toys and gifts. with a lovely lady behind the counter. found myself a great book in there.
the kids are given a little game to play where they have to find letters and make the word for a prize from the treasure chest.
not good for buggies but ask the lady and she will keep it at the entrance.
my only complaint is you should let the kids have their photos taken with the pirates.ok well i wanted my photo taken with the pirates. it is worth the money even if it only last 40 minutes. only 4 stars as no photographs allowed which i understand due to flashes and probably time consuming. but a photo of the pirates would have been nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited Buccaneer Bay after seeing photos from a friend. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The pirates were superb and played their parts well.
My 2 year old was petrified the whole way round but our 4 year old enjoyed it much better although even he was edge.
If your child gets scared easily I wouldn't recommend it. Probably better for older children which maybe why under 5's are free. We didn't choose the scary route either.
It was informative but wasn't what I expected.
It didn't take us long to go round so it's not a full morning out but there is a beautiful beach and shops nearby.
There is a lovely shop with some fun pirate things to buy.
Certainly worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NuttyNat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Brilliant”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Me and my partner took our 5 year old to Buccaneer Bay. Everyone there was fab and so funny. Would deffo recommend this to anyone with a sense of humour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great for parents and kids!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our two year old's eyes almost popped out at the sight of REAL Pirates!!! He loved it and so did we. Great value, too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate's Quest also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Pirate's Quest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing