We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lappa Valley Steam Railway
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic staff make this a wonderful place

We stayed in the station flat for just over a week. We found Sarah really helpful when we booked... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
DominicE108
,
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely visit

Went to Lappa Valley as part of a birthday party. Have to say what a lovely place this is. Things... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Sunnyscunny2013
,
Penzance, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,403 reviews
  
Reviews (1,403)
Filter reviews
1,401 results
Traveler rating
887
339
110
39
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
887
339
110
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boating lake crazy golf electric cars mini golf main area woodland walk main park play area engine house ticket office narrow gauge the whistle stop cafe small lake young children great family day small train pedal tractors
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,401 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in the station flat for just over a week. We found Sarah really helpful when we booked, and after we arrived we found the staff really friendly and helpful. The night before the Gala weekend I was invited to join the staff on their night time driving familiarisation and had a fantastic evening and good craic! We met Keith the owner several times, he is aiming to make this a fantastic place for families with children up to 10, and has a lot of plans including a new soft play area.

The facilities are enjoyable and the cafe is good. Some things need a little more attention to detail eg the existing soft play has a wooden train track with hardly any trains left - appreciate that children walk away with them but that comes with the territory. The walk around the back of the site is closed and access to the mine building is closed so it would be nice to see these done in time. Bear in mind the site was neglected for a number of years and the new owner is working on turning this around.

I think anyone with older kids would struggle for things to do but for primary age kids and younger, it's a brilliant day out. We hope to return next year.

Thank DominicE108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muffin032, Marketing Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your fantastic review and kind words about the team!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to Lappa Valley as part of a birthday party. Have to say what a lovely place this is. Things to look at every way you turn. The little train ride into the park itself is a nice idea. The park itself is quite expansive, plenty of places to go and explore. Lots to keep a young family entertained (we are a mum, dad and five year old).
Ideally you would go here on a fine spring day because most activities are outside and they’re good fun for the family, crazy golf, swan pedalos and play parks as well as nature walks, maze path, train rides and indoor play too. There is also a great insight into the mining heritage of the area with an imposing pump house in the middle of the park and lots of information to digest which is great if you like that sort of thing and i do personally.
The cafe was ok from what i saw although we didnt buy food due to having food at the party. There is a second cafe too but we didnt get to that one in the end.
Have to say i thought the staff were great, very friendly and approachable, always willing to help and they definitely helped to make the day fun because of their enthusiasm.
I would dress your children in clothes you dont mind getting mucky because its quite a hands on day out and wellies would be a good shout if there is a chance of rain when you go.
We’ve heard the Christmas season at Lappa is great so we will be looking at going for that in a few weeks so that we can meat Santa ;)
Overall, well worth a visit

Thank Sunnyscunny2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muffin032, Marketing Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the great comments about your visit and the kind words about our team!
We do hope we will be welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Better than ANY tourist attraction we have ever visited in Cornwall, to inc Flambards, Eden, Heligan etc mainly due to the wonderful friendly and knowledgeable staff and the feeling of non commercialisation. Excellent value for money too - we, that's us parents, baby Charlie and Grandparents loved our day out with steam trains, engines, swan boats and even the baby merry-go-round. Live reasonably local in Tedburn St Mary, Devon but were staying locally but would without hesitation drive far to this wonderful family friendly and family run place. Thanks to you all.

Thank TomTomCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muffin032, Marketing Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the brilliant review and kind words about our team! We very much look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Lappa Valley on recommendation - well, it was worth the trip! The train ride, from the car park up to the main park, was a nice touch and a really unique way to start our day. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. There was a good selection of things to do. We started with the pedalos and then moved onto the crazy golf. After a quick bite to eat, we went on the other two trains - they were great fun! The children particularly enjoyed looking for the animals models that are dotted around the place. We then went to the indoor play area, where the children chased eachother in the tunnels. We finished our day at the vast playground. I think the best thing was that all of the rides are included (apart from a couple of £1 car ride etc, which is made clear on the website). This is good value and a perfect day families with young children (ours are 4 & 6 years old). We'll definitely be back next year.

Thank Pursey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muffin032, Marketing Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the excellent review - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great day at Lappa Valley with my two grandsons, aged 3 (nearly 4) and 15 months. It was very busy during half term holiday and although we arrived in time for the first train it was full. The company dealt with the situation very well and another train was quickly arranged. It was a cold day but the sun was shining and we spent all day outside. The push along trikes and cars on a special track were a hit with both boys who spent ages going round and round. We enjoyed the woodland railway, the outside play area and the pedal swans on the lake. It was good value for money and we will certainly return as there is more to explore.
The cafe served good food which was not too expensive, even had gluten free bread rolls with the soup.

Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muffin032, Marketing Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the great review it is wonderful to read what a great time you had with us.
Thank you for commenting on the great value food too! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well worth the money... found this place after a search for things to do near Newquay.

At first you think it’s just a small building with a railway track but don’t let the first impressions fool you.

A quick jump on one of the locos and your in the middle of a small railway mining community. Paddle swans golf trains soft play... this place has it all.

My only criticism was the queue for the cafe.... one staff to take orders and make the drinks seemed to have us waiting. I understand that it wasn’t peak season but at least have the provision for demand.

Def worth a visit and wife has said love to come back again. Overall five stars! Keep it up Lappa valley

Thank marcadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muffin032, Marketing Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the fabulous review!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a lovely half day at Lappa Valley, great ride behind a Real Steam Train, 15' guage, well worth the money as one price pays for nearly everything, apart from the Electric Kiddie bikes.
Friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble even though they were a bit short of staff.
Lovely cafe, nice to know one place in Cornwall was still operating even though Cornwall and Devons half term was last week.
Recommend.

Thank Homer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muffin032, Marketing Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely review! It is great to read what an enjoyable day you had with us. We do hope you will be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited recently with 4 children age 5 and 10. Various activities all included in price were a hit with everybody. Would def recommend to anybody visiting the area with school age children or younger.

Thank Agnes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muffin032, Marketing Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Aimed at younger children would say 0-7 years they do have peddle boats and canoes for older ones but other than that not much else, my 10 year old was bit bored after half hour.

One of the workers manning the canoes had a bit of a bad attitude, expressed how the park was understaffed for a busy day and said management refused to pay for additional staff, not sure if this was out of pure frustration.

It would be nice to know what attractions in the park are open before paying, the carriage cafe and one of the trains were not operational when we arrived in the park and nothing to say they were not open.

The wait time for food was longer that it really should of been we only ordered 3 Cornish pasties and they ran out of clotted cream by 1pm which was a little disappointing as I really wanted scones.

One of the the little trains that was running was brilliant and the driver was amazing with my littlest who is 6, she had a great time going around.

Overall, it was ok, I think with a little more forward thinking for holiday periods and better layout for the cafe it would be going in the right direction.

Thank Waringkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muffin032, Marketing Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is always helpful to receive feedback that we can act upon.

The helpfulness and professionalness of all our staff is of paramount importance to us, and I am very disappointed to read your comments. I am aware the site has dealt with as a matter of utmost importance as this is simply not true and not acceptable.

It is great to read how much your 6 year old enjoyed the little train and how helpful the driver was.

Our policy is that all visitors should be advised before purchasing tickets if a train is not working, and understand this would have been very disappointing if this was not the case, we did manage to repair it by 3pm but will follow up with the Ticket Office to ensure the process is followed.

I will of course pass your feedback on to our Café, as we never want a visitor to be disappointed. The Carriage Café is not advertised on our leaflet as it is only open during peak times, this is also listed as such on our website.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave us feedback. We do have some very exciting developments planned and do hope you will be back to visit us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a rainy day when we visited with three Jack Russells and a nineteen month old. What a fantastic place. Fantastic staff from the young man in the station, the train driver, the railway track maintenance men and the young lady in the cafe. There's absolutely heaps to do for everyone. The young lady in the cafe was very helpful and let us in with the dogs which I was not expecting. There's loads to do for little'uns and adults alike and we really enjoyed our day. Top marks to Lappa Valley!!!!

1  Thank linnielou2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muffin032, Marketing Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review! It is a real pleasure to read what a great visit you all had with us and we do hope we will be welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews