We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visited with a train mad 2 year old” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lappa Valley Steam Railway

Lappa Valley Steam Railway
Ranked #7 of 57 things to do in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fun for all the family We open 2016 winter weekends from 5 November until 4 December 2016, then our Santa Trains (pre-booking is essential) and 2017 winter weekends 4 February until 2016 March 2017. Everyone, young or old, loves a train ride and Lappa Valley Steam Railway offers three different railways experiences, with over three miles of track! Your journey begins with the mile-long trip, from Benny Halt Station, on a miniature steam locomotive taking you through the picturesque wooded valley to East Wheal Rose. Here you will find more railways, a fabulous wooded valley to explore with a boating lake, a path maze, crazy golf, play area, plus delicious food in the Whistle Stop Cafe and a gift shop packed with everything about trains and more. Lappa Valley is the ideal day out for a family, loads for the children to do all day and plenty to entertain mums, dads and grandparents too!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Visited with a train mad 2 year old”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous little place! Three different trains to ride, fabulous play areas, boats, electric cars and plenty of green space for the kids (young and old!) to run wild.

Our son is train mad so it had a lot to live up to and thankfully it didn't let him down. He was in his element! The men running the trains were really cheery and interacted really well with all the children. The trains were his favourite by far but he also loved the little rowing boats we went on - he even had his own mini paddle! The play area is amazing the castle climbing frame was a firm favourite with us.

We had lunch in the cafe and were served by a lovely Yorkshire man (we're also from Yorkshire) who was extremely friendly. He even managed to get our fussy son to have some lunch! All the staff we spoke to couldn't help you enough and they were extremely friendly. If the mini train had a big queue, the driver would make extra trips so everyone got a turn!

Lappa Valley is accessible by pram however to get to the main attractions, you catch a mini steam train so most prams will need folding up to fit on. If you have one, I would recommend a baby carrier or leaving the pram in the car.

All in all a fabulous place to visit and we will definitely return in the future.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mammalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    249
    70
    25
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The whole is greater than the sum of its parts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

First off, it's important to stress that this isn't specifically an attraction for train spotters or steam fetishists. Fascinating as the little engines are, they probably won't rock the world of the average anorak.

But...

Lappa Valley is a great little place. Created around an old mine (using the tracks that once would have been for moving tin ore) it's a smashing attraction to take younger children to. My pair love it, anyway.

What is that makes it special? I'm not sure, really. Nothing is particularly amazing, but everything hangs together really well and the sprogs never lack for something to do. Moreover, it's also dog friendly (although our one went rigid with fear on the one up to the parkland play area).

Oh, and the fellows who run the trains were all jolly pleasant - and in an age of miserable gits, that counts for a lot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank absenteethoughtlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A brilliant day out for train mad kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent a lovely sunny day here. Our nearly-2 yr old is mad on trains, diggers etc so this was perfect for him. Three trains onsite and two you can ride as much as you like. Great play areas at base, main centre and at end of 2nd train ride. Food at cafe was excellent and very reasonable. 3x cakes and two coffees were £6.90. Good toilet and nappy changing facilities. Staff were enthusiastic and friendly. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BidefordSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a nice day out here, since we last came the pool had been cleared of weeds and the old kayaks had been replaced. The children enjoyed the train rides and the park. The advert for 18 holes of crazy golf was very misleading, 9 holes were just a grassy pitch and put then it becomes a crazy golf course. We had a cream tea in the café and the prices of the meals looked reasonable. We arrived at 2pm and left at 5pm, this was enough for us as we had been before and missed some things out. The staff here are pleasant and helpful and we had a good rate for a disabled child and a carer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank clarehurd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An Oasis of fun for children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a true gem of an attraction for all the family. A one mile journey by steam engine to the main play area which is well set out. All the grounds were neat and tidy and the staff were extremely helpful. An additional two miniature trains are available to ride and there are lots of other activities that are included in the ticket price.

A great day out for young and old

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Tait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lappa Valley Steam Railway also viewed

 

Been to Lappa Valley Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing