We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So nice for it to be all inclusive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lappa Valley Steam Railway

Lappa Valley Steam Railway
Ranked #7 of 57 things to do in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fun for all the family We open 2016 winter weekends from 5 November until 4 December 2016, then our Santa Trains (pre-booking is essential) and 2017 winter weekends 4 February until 2016 March 2017. Everyone, young or old, loves a train ride and Lappa Valley Steam Railway offers three different railways experiences, with over three miles of track! Your journey begins with the mile-long trip, from Benny Halt Station, on a miniature steam locomotive taking you through the picturesque wooded valley to East Wheal Rose. Here you will find more railways, a fabulous wooded valley to explore with a boating lake, a path maze, crazy golf, play area, plus delicious food in the Whistle Stop Cafe and a gift shop packed with everything about trains and more. Lappa Valley is the ideal day out for a family, loads for the children to do all day and plenty to entertain mums, dads and grandparents too!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So nice for it to be all inclusive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Took our 4-year old son here and he loved it. The train ride was a great treat in itself, but to find crazy golf, a play park, pedal cars and lots of space to run around in at the end of the track made it a great day out for him. Very nice secluded location, a bit like finding an adventure playground hidden in the woods. It's great that everything is included in the price of the train ticket (motorised ride-on cars are extra, being coin operated). Could have spent longer here, but needed to make sure we caught the last train back.

Helpful?
Thank gordoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    249
    70
    25
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
S Croydon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fabulous and fun-filled day out, we came away with a big smile on our faces”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a great time at the Lappa Valley Steam Railway with my partner and our two children. We also had a teenager and a pre-schooler and two pensioners in our group and there was plenty for them all to do! We all thoroughly enjoyed the entire day. The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and we could tell they enjoyed what they do. The food was good value and delicious. What a refreshing change to pay one rate for a family and then gain so much. No major queues either - we loved it and would definitely go back if in the area. The boys loved the trains, the crazy golf and the canoes on the boating lake equally and we all came away with a big smile on our faces. Keep it up!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Susieq133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic service. Friendly staff. High Standards. Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Thanks very much for yet another fantastic day guys. My partner & our grandson had another great day out thanks to you all. your service is very friendly and the whole railway park is very well run and has very high standards. We will be back often :)
Well done to Lappa valley railway for a great day out. I called two other tourist attractions for information today. Both were really not that interested. One told me to call back in fiteen minutes because they were too busy seeing a train off. It wasnt that fact that i took offence to,it was the way that it was said.

The other tourist attraction was over thirty five miles away and the level of apathay i was greeted with was suprising to say the least.It was as if it was all too much trouble to answer a few questions. Really dissapointed by the service. Cornwal depends on its tourism and if this is how tourists get greeted it must leave a very bad impression.Do you not want people to visit you and keep you in business and employed or are you trying to drive your customers away? Thabk god Lappa Valley know how to treat customers and know what brings them back

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank TrevorWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent value and our toddler loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

For just over £10 each (our toddler's admission was free) we had access to 3 miniature railways, boating on the lake, mini golf and play areas. A great value day out and our little boy absolutely loved the rides on the trains. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly, putting on an extra ride when the one train was full, so as to avoid any disappointed little faces!

Highly recommend this as a day out for little children and parents!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but we certainly won't be back until they ban dogs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We visited Lappa Valley with our 1 and 3 year olds in August, all started well, and the kids loved the train rides and the play areas. But what spoilt it was the fact that they let dogs in and they let any dogs in and everywhere. So there are dogs weeing and pooing everywhere (including the childrens play area's) and those that aren't were mostly barking at them instead which left the kids terrified. I dont know why there are so many dogs there, maybe its because most childrens parks dont usually allow dogs in so they all go there. So anyway, great place, kids enjoyed it but we certainly won't be back again.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank PatioKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lappa Valley Steam Railway also viewed

 

Been to Lappa Valley Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing