We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MMT Travel Newquay
Save
Review Highlights
Doc Martin Tour

Just returned from tour. Many thanks for a really good day out. Ted was a great guide giving us... read more

Reviewed June 20, 2018
Jackie U
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Excellent day seeing the Cornish coast

We paid £25 each to visit The Minack theatre, Lands End, Mousehole and Penzance today and thought... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2017
julieandcolin22
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
26
9
6
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
9
6
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doc martin port issac st ives king arthur driver guide tv series local history cornish coast mousehole tours commentary passengers coach mawes mount parts film
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 50 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Ted is an excellent driver and gives you a very good commentary about the local area he knows and loves. The locations and times in each place are spot on, by 5ish when you are done you feel you've had a good long day out in various places in Cornwall. Most places on the Cornish Coast are accessable via steep hills so might not be best for those with mobility problems. Also a good idea to book onto the tours, even out of season, so that you can enquire if the coach can pick you up near your hotel and so that Ted the driver knows you will be coming as he may leave the bus station early otherwise. It states 10.15 from the bus station on their web page but he left the bus station at 10am.

Date of experience: June 2012
2  Thank CroydonBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Hi Croyden Bird, I am glad to hear you enjoyed the tour, the reason the tour left at 10-00 am is that when the tide is out in Truro I have to get you there ealier to transfer to their bus to take you to Malpas to board the boat. As long as people let us know they are going we tell them of the ealier time. To book just phone us and we book you on arrange a convinient pick up and you can pay on the coach. Ted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Me and my boyfriend have been on numerous tours and they are great. St Ives and St Michaels Mount was lovely, Port Isaac, boscastle and tintagel was stunning. We went on the Mousehole Christmas lights trip and this was also very nice, unlike RogerNewquay we enjoyed the evening. We did have to wait half an hour or so for one couple who did not listen to clear instructions about the pick-up point but during this we were served mulled wine, mince pies and biscuits which was a typically generous touch to the already great value trip. Angarrick was an extra surprise and the lights were spectacular and we had a great view from the coach and was able to take it all in as we drove through slowly. The tour operators Ted and Sandra are brilliant hosts! They go the extra mile to make every trip an experience, with pleasant music, interesting information about all the locations and great company.

We first found out about the tour because we actually stayed at Ted & Sandra's B&B in Newquay - Woodgrove Lodge on Gannel Road, a lovely B&B on Gannel Road which is a beautiful location just out of the town Centre on the Gannel (Great for walks)

Highly recommend Magical Mystery Tour Cornwall! Keep it up guys, we will be back again soon!

Date of experience: December 2011
6  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Took a 'magical mystery tour' to Mousehole to view the lights. Totally disorganised. The tour operators just did not know what they were doing.They dropped us in Mousehole 2 hours before the lights were switched on. Just what do you do in a small Cornish village on a cold wet December night? Directions regarding pickup were unclear meaning that we sat at Penzance bus station for over an hour waiting for one family who waited in Mousehole believing that the bus would come back and collect them.
Mousehole lights a waste of time. Angarrick lights brilliant but we could not stop because we were running late.
Ancient bus with terrible diesel / exhaust fumes where we were seated.
Upside - we only paid £10. Well you get what you pay for.

Date of experience: December 2011
1  Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagicalmysteryT0ur, Owner at MMT Travel Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2015

Unfortunately a family did not turn up at the requested time for departure, as it was a cold wet December night and they had young children with them I took the decision to wait for them as I could not just drive off and leave them stranded. You where the only guy who felt I made the wrong decision out of 45. whilst we waited we gave everyone Mulled wine and mince pies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My father and I went on a tour to southwestern England and thoroughly enjoyed the trip from Newquay to visit Port Isaac (we're big Doc Martin fans!)--a beautiful village in its own right; Tintagel Castle (of King Arthur legend); and Boscastle, a picturesque village. I won't mention the mystery stop but that was also very nice. Our tour guide and driver were both great! We had a wonderful time and would recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area.

Date of experience: August 2011
6  Thank betterbeclean16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews