We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money with warm friendly atmosphere”
Review of Kandi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kandi Lodge
Ranked #19 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Spent more than a week here and loved it. The location is great !, the staff is really nice and friendly, really clean . Would definitely recommend stay here .
Thank you for a great stay!
love it and recommend it after staying in more then 3 place in newquay, i like that one the most.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keremtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 77 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Firstly...there are some positives. It is clean and cheap and everything is very accessible. But...it really should say on the website about parking troubles. We got there around eight on the friday to find that the free on street parking, was free but very limited. We spent the first hour of our first night trying to find somewhere to park, which ended up costing us a further 20 bucks to park in the train station for two nights. I understand that is says on street,but there should really be a heads up for the limited availability. When a comment was made to the owner, she very bluntly replied that it does say on street and that most parties arrive a lot earlier. After nearly four hours of driving, the last thing u need is to drive around and unfamiliar place looking for parking and someone to basically say its our fault for not turning up earlier.

The free wifi is also very poor, I barely had signal all weekend, so dont rely on it.

For the money it was ok, it was small and only one area with sockets its not ideal for four girls sharing but its clean and does it job.

Overall, id rather pay a bit more next time and stay at the travel lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at Kandi lodge for one night booking the room on the drive down. Found the hostel easily and parked outside on the street no trouble. The complex was clean and fresh and smelt nice throughout! Was greeting by friendly staff and giving our room.

A small but very sufficient room with an ensuite. A bunk with double on bottom single on top. Comfy but a bit creaky (as always with bunks, no drama). The bathroom was large and the shower looked so clean it looked new! Room was clean and fresh.

Location was great, easy walking distance to lots of great restaurants as well as around to the harbour and beaches shops and supermarket.

Would definitely recommend to others

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went last summer 2012 as a group of 6. Kirsty ran the place with her partner and they were very efficient and friendly. Gave us advice where the best places to go for a night out. Our rooms were spotless and clean. Even had an ensuite which was lovely. The kitchen was clean. I would recommend it to everyone. We had an amazing time here and had absolutely no trouble. Don't listen to the bad reviews. This place is cheap and great value for money. Right next to an Asda, beach, wetherspoons and lots of clubs. My group and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: One on the top floor with the ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Went on a girls weekend away, great location, very clean for this type of accommodation, basic but substantial rooms. The communal area with tea/ coffee very clean, great there's an iron as you don't normally expect this. Staff very friendly and helpful would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who wants a cheap clean friendly accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurkyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty888, Manager at Kandi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Was expected to share 1 towel between a room of 5 people! Asked at reception for another and was made to pay a £1 deposit and never got it back, the place is a shambles the owners are clueless! Place this hotel and guys that run it into the centre of Blackpool it would not last a minute! As for the stag, he got moved on by police simply because the guy who runs the hotel was out of order and not being cooperative and obviously could not cope with a simple drunken man situation. On more than one occasion we were threatened with them calling the police for something as simple as asking for our deposits back.. The guys who run the lodge are soon to spend all of the cash deposits but then in some cases you receive a cheque back and they try to come up with every excuse not to pay you back! The place is also a fire hazard and I'm pretty sure it's had no kind of fire safety report recently. Specially not with 5 beds in one small room! Don't be fooled by the cheap price and location guys!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jordandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty888, Manager at Kandi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

This is the 3rd terrible review from your group and still the insults and accusations keep on coming…
We ask for £1 to hire the towels (not a deposit) as this covers the cost of washing and drying it. On our Website/Confirmation of Booking it states that we don’t supply t towels anyway. Why 5 of you shared 1 towel, I will never know! In every review you and your friends have wrote that we made it as difficult as possible and that we didn’t give you your security deposits back? When In actual fact we returned ALL of them back once every member of your party checked out, not individually! Again all of this is in the Confirmation of Booking. The police were only called on the Friday night! Your group was not threatened by police again! I hardly think we are clueless, we just don’t tolerate abusive behaviour and violence.
Our lodge has an up to date fire safety certificate, otherwise we simply would not be trading. It’s funny how your room are the only ones to question this as your room was on the ground floor anyway which was 2 metres from the front door! But then again with 2 of your group members smoking in their room I do understand your concern.
It is such a shame that the guest did not take a moment to use TripAdvisor before booking. Or look on our own website. Or even read the booking confirmation email or information email that we sent upon booking to explain exactly how we operate (to try to avoid any element of surprise/dissatisfaction). With respect of marketing and booking confirmation/communication, we are unsure what else we could do to confirm the style of accommodation we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Kandi lodge is run by a absolutely fantastic lady called Kirsty, she was an absolute diamond as was her partner Benny. They both answered any questions I had fully and seemed glad to do so.
The rooms are bunk beds with the size ranging from 3-6 spaces, each room with its own toilet and shower, the showers are surprising powerful and got the sand off my and my friends feet and hair no problem.
The reception is also a communal area which has 2 microwaves, toaster, fridge and kettle.
I Honestly do not know why a couple of people have given bad reviews to this place it is a great little place for large groups particularly the 18-25 age group.

The only bad point is there isn't anywhere to hang wet clothes in the rooms other than over the end of the beds, although I imagine if I had asked then something would've been sorted as they were very helpfull!

RECOMMENDED!!!!!

Room Tip: Book long in advance and try to get a non ground floor room as then during the day you can leave you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty888, Manager at Kandi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your great review, Its nice to know we are doing some things right. Hope to see you guys next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
4.8 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandi Lodge

Address: 4 Fairview Terrace, Newquay TR7 1RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: $13 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kandi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandi Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing