We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy”
Review of The Mexican Cantina - CLOSED

The Mexican Cantina
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Restaurant is on first floor, cocktail bar on GF
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Ate here recently on a special early evening menu (Before 8) so had 3 courses for less than £10. For the price we paid I was really impressed. Not much choice but the food was great. Not sure I'd have been so happy to pay around £13 for a main course otherwise as they didn't look too big. There were only two members of staff on so they were run off their feet and it was quite slow but they were really lovely and friendly. The restaurant has got a lovely atmosphere, cosy and decorated nicely. Would visit again if the same deal was on, lots of choice on the main menu for veggies.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Mexican Cantina, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    57
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Riga
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stumbled upon this place and had a great dinner. Ambience is solid and has a cosy warm feeling. The staff are very frindly and inviting. The food was solid and tasty and authentic.

The only downside was the hot sauce. It was extremely hot (we were warned though) and they charged us for it on the bill (they didnt mention hot sauce was extra cost)

Overall a great place for dinner

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Mexican Cantina, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your feed back which is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful Authentic Mexican Food”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Came here with my family whilst on holiday in Newquay. The food and the service was excellent, and the Spanish waiter enjoyed correcting my pronunciation of Jalapeño :-)

Only downside I would say is that it would have been nice to sit outside as it was a very warm evening, but I think the downstairs outside seating is for the bar only.

Would recommend this place to any one who fancies something other than fish ‘n’ chips, give it a try you won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe_1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Mexican Cantina, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your meal and your Spanish lesson! I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“fab meal, service & atmosphere”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were a group of 5 'ladies', having an evening out! The greeting was friendly, the service was brilliant, the food was great. We had cocktails, a varied selection from the menu, which was all hot, quick and delicious. The waiters were very friendly, helpful and informative. We then had shots and chilli tequila! WOW how hot was that! We had a great night, a really welcoming atmosphere, so much so, that we returned the next evening!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Mexican Cantina, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review and I am pleased you all enjoyed your evenings with us. We look forward to welcoming you beck next time you are in Newquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“POOR VALUE!!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Over priced food and over priced drinks ie £6 for a glass of white wine with lemonade! A pint of soda and blackcurrent £2.60!! 3 soggy taco's,with side salad and rice like Uncle Bens £11.95! Food was served lukewarm with no flavour, couldn't pick taco's up due to them being so soggy. The only good thing I can think of to say about the Mexican Cantina was the service of the Spanish waiter who was friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I won't be going back again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angiepangie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Mexican Cantina, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us. I do wish you had spoken either to your waiter or preferably to the duty manager. I know you will have been asked, about five minutes after receiving your meal, if everything was alright for you. If you tell us at the time that there is a problem we will try to rectify it immediately for you - to complain on TripAdvisor allows us no chance of putting things right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mexican Cantina also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing