We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic feel”
Review of The Mexican Cantina - CLOSED

The Mexican Cantina
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Restaurant is on first floor, cocktail bar on GF
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Food excellent, very welcoming, service good and very efficient staff and very clean and tidy. Staff are also committed to ensuring that visitors have a good experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pazzman0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Mexican Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your great review and I am pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. I hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

A group of 7 friends dined here on a quiet sunday night, food , service was brilliant!!!! Staff where all friendly and polite , would defiantly come back again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bennyc-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Mexican Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you and I am plesed you enjoyed your meal with us. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Would like to highly recommend this Mexican restaurant (Newquay Town Centre). Ate there on our recent holiday (June 2013) spacious and airy layout upstairs. Staff very friendly, polite, helpful and fun. Food EXCELLENT. Portions generous and reasonably priced so hope you have a big appetite!! Our eating experience was made all the better for my 18 year old daughter by a very 'Nice' Spanish waiter!! We've been there twice in the past but never took time to write a review but felt this time we must! We have even recommended it in our accommodation review as well so people don't miss out !! One warning though BEWARE THE CHILLIE TEQUILLA it has a kick!! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
The Copsey Morgan Gang.
Colchester,Essex

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ColchesterTolcarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Mexican Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Wow! Thank you, I am so pleased you took time out to write a review this time. This is the type of review I love replying to! I will pass your comments on to our staff and especially your waiter. I do hope you will come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited here on the last night of our holiday and have to say the meal was amazing. We shared a huge, loaded plate of nachos as our starter which were cooked to perfection. Our mains were chicken enchilada and pork ribs which were once again cooked brilliantly. We will def be visiting again. The staff are very friendly especially the waiter with the amazing blue eyes who is fluent in Spanish. Very authentic and we will def be coming back in September when we return to newquay!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ems381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Mexican Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. I hope next time you come and see us on the first night of your holiday which will give you lots more nights to try different dishes on our extensive menu. Not long to go now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Welcoming on arrival followed by fantastic food, great atmosphere and authentic good quality food!! Would definately visit again!! Can recommend the king prawn fajitas - prawns were the tastiest iv ever had!! Portions are very generous, and delicious enough that you will want to bring leftovers home!! Thanks mexican cantina for an amazing dining experience ***** five stars!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Crichtocornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Mexican Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your great review. You have said exactly what we try to achieve - good atmosphere, great food served by experienced friendly staff. We look forward to you coming to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mexican Cantina also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing