We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - the best meals I've had in a long, long time!!”
Review of The Tavern Inn

The Tavern Inn
Ranked #95 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family run business providing reasonably priced family pub grub to our regulars and any holiday makers. We are situated in beautiful Newquay but tucked away from the hustle and bustle. We have a traditional indoor area where you can choose to sit in the main bar, Cornish corner or our restaurant but we also have 2 fantastic outdoor seating areas. We welcome families and dogs and we provide a wide range of food and drinks to enjoy.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow - the best meals I've had in a long, long time!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The lamb shank was really tasty and the portion more than I could manage. I tasted one of the other meals on our table and had to order it for myself. It was chicken in prawn and port sauce - not things I would have ever dreamed of putting together but wow! It was truly delicious! And there were loads of prawns too (not like in most places where they show the plate the prawns and the customer has to imagine them there).

The price was good too, especially considering the quality and the quantity. The service was great - really friendly and professional.

I'll definately be going back to that pub if I'm in Cornwall again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    20
    14
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have visited this pub twice for a Sunday Roast. The service is quick and staff polite and friendly.The 2 choice of meats were well cooked and very tender. On both occasions, the vegetables (which are served in tureens) were the same-carrots, cauliflower cheese, swede and courgettes.The latter 2 are not everyone's choice and we would suggest that the choice needs to be more varied to include (in season) runner beans,broccoli, cabbage and peas (frozen if necessary), maybe tinned sweetcorn to ring the changes.
We had a good meal as we eat most veg but not all do...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal at a great pub”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have just been to the Tavern Inn this evening,four lovely meals, fast and friendly service, plenty of food,I would highly recomend a visit

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomo_1959186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A proper GB pub”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We (four guys from London) wanted to wind down a great weekend in Newquay as the WAGS had departed Sunday morning and left us to it. Found this place on Google as we wanted a pub quiz. Big pub so we had our own space in the back with TV, pool tables and darts. Family run. Very polite and kind staff. We requested a song and match of the day to be played and both requests were met-try getting that kind of service in a w.spoons! Bar man remembered the beers in the rounds as well. Large food portions. Pub quiz well run. Patrons locals and keen to chat. Great selection of beers. Ales well kept. Perfect pub for a quite boys evening. Comfortable, relaxing and not chavy. Would come again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkiBuddy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“FAMILY REALLY ENJOYED THEIR VISIT to THE TAVERN...”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Family arrived for a 1-week stay & I suggested they drop into The Tavern on a rainy day! They were so pleased, they said, "The food was great, the staff was friendly, after, they really enjoyed the large games room'. Thanks to all at The Tavern for making my family most welcome.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiger-Squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing