We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located Hotel - Pool / "Thermal Spa" Cold !”
Review of Kilbirnie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilbirnie Hotel
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel itself is well located for the Beaches. Not too much of a walk to the Bars / Shops. I booked this Hotel over the Premier Inn because it has a Pool, "Thermal Spa" and Sauna.

The Sauna was chargeable. Both the Pool and "Thermal Spa" where Cold. I had to pay for a Sauna to actually get so hot that I could brave the Pool. Both the Pool and Jacuzzi where more of an endurance challenge than a pleasure to use. They also had an outdoor pool which was really Cold but this is to be expected as it's outdoors !!

The shower had very poor pressure and I found myself hunched under it. The Heating did not come on until after Breakfast. By this time I had my shower and it wasn't required.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StormUk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Kilbirnie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 235 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just returned from a two night break here, good position for the town centre if you can do a 15 min level walk, as that saves on parking costs. Free parking at the hotel.
Reception very helpful and quickly booked in. Lift to the bedrooms, sea view room was on the small side, very clean, good comfy bed, bedding and towels good. The room looked like it had recently been refurbished, unfortunately bathroom was dated. (A tip here to the hotel, get rid of bath and install walk in showers. )
Breakfast service was good, better quality sausages needed not the catering cheapest ones. But otherwise well worth the price we paid for the weekend. Can't comment on the pool as we didn't use it. Thanks for an enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Nice to wake up to a sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shes186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

On arrival the reception staff were very welcoming and allowed us into our room early. The room was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. There is ample parking and the hotel is within walking distance to all local amenities. The swimming pool and Spa are very good. The breakfast is adequate and again the staff are friendly and helpful. All this made for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jjp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

we found the staff warm and friendly. the pool was warm and clean and i had it to myself which was wonderful. breakfast was everything you could ask for. Our room was cleaned to a very high standard every day. we will definately stay at this hotel again, we highly recommend it to anyone going to Newquay. mrs mcfarlane

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Another year at this lovely family run hotel. This was our 6th time of coming here to do our crafts in the Conferrence Room. The staff are as always just lovely and make us so welcome, love you all. If you want stay in the quiet end of Newquay, there is no better hotel, just try it!!!

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank Mo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnierecp, Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Another successful 'Crafts Circle Function' at the Kilbirnie Hotel. I am glad that you and your guests enjoyed their 4 night half-board stay at the Hotel, taking advance of our conference facilities. Its always nice to see you each year. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is a joke and full of comedians, however they are not so funny when you call to make a booking, on the telephone the staff are very polite and eager to tell you how great their hotel is, once they have got you there its a different story!
On arrival we were pleased to find our room was ready early, we were asked to settle the bill in full so we did, BIG MISTAKE!!!
Our room was on the outer corner wall of the hotel, and when booking the helpful staff had failed to mention there was a building site next door that started work, hammering and drilling at 7am , not the best start to the day when trying to relax.Not wanting to make a fuss we thought we we go and relax in the spa bath and have a swim in the "heated indoor pool" HA HA HA HA HA , The pool was freezing as was the spa bath , when i asked at reception why it was cold they casually told me the boiler was broken, so we asked the best way to walk in to town and the reply was "ON YOUR FEET" oh how i laughed!
At breakfast the next morning after being woken up to the tranquil sounds of hammering, we were shown to a table that sat almost on top of a dumb waiter that was loaded with dirty plates of left over food, i asked if there was any chance we could have a seat next to the window and was told "THERE ARE TWO WINDOWS OVER THERE" i took this to mean i could take my pick and started to move when i was told they were all taken, this was obviously another wise crack....the jokes just kept rolling in. When breakfast arrived it was swimming in grease and their idea of continental breakfast was cheap slices of what i can only think was attempting to be ham (not a selection of meats as described when booking) and dry croissants .
3 days in to the stay the pool was still not heated and when i complained to reception about the building work they just said that the builders were not supposed to start til 8, and gave no response about the pool or spa at all, basically they had your money and any customer service was not the agenda.
I now know why our room was ready so early, because no one in their right mind would stay in this dump any longer than they had to!!

Room Tip: book somewhere else!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James_d4385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnierecp, Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear James,
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you feel so negative about the Kilbirnie Hotel.
I am glad your room was cleaned before others to ensure you had an early check in as requested.
With regards to the building work next door to the hotel, we have been informed by Wainhomes that no work is to be carried out until 8 am, and that no 'heavy noise' work is to commence until after 9am. The what was once horrible derelict waste land is now being converted into modern apartments and houses, which will make the area look a lot better. Unfortunately, this means builders have to build, and with building comes sound. I do sincerely apologize, but as this is not our land, or our company there is very little we can do about it. All I can say is that when it is done, it will look 100% better than looking out onto a derelict building full of graffiti, and will be a good housing estate for the Newquay community!
The 'on your feet' comment, I think has been taken the wrong way. The best way to get into Newquay is walking as it is only 10-15 minutes away. Driving around Newquay's one way system can sometimes be quite tedious and there is not much parking to be found in the center. Of course, if you had let us know that walking was an issue we would have been more than happy to book you a taxi to where ever you wanted to go.
I apologize for the indoor pool, this was a problem. The main boiler had a fault, and of course when a boiler has a fault, just as in a normal home this causes problems with the heating. We tried to get the problem sorted as quickly as possible, but I am sure you can understand trying to get a plumber at the weekend, let alone a commercial plumber into the hotel to sort out the issue can be quite hard. The problem has be sorted since your visit. Of course if you really wanted to have a swim, our sister hotel, the Edgcumbe next door would have let you use their pool - you only need of asked. If this point was not made clear to you I apologize.
As the Kilbirnie is a big hotel with 66 bedrooms, we do have to allocate seating in our dining room. As without being organised, the dining room would be quite chaotic with guests coming in and sitting anywhere. I am sorry that you did not get a window seat, however you can see the same view out of the windows from any seat in the restaurant. With regards to the breakfast 'swimming in grease', the whole breakfast ; bacon, sausage, beans and tomato are all freshly grilled with only the egg being fried, hence I do not understand where all of this grease could have come from? I am sorry however that this was the case.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Ideally located close to the more northern beaches and a short walk into the center of town. This works well as town can get noisy later on - if you want that stay in one of the central hostels / surf houses. The entrance is nicely furnished and there is plenty of parking out front and in the back. There were quite a few coach parties there during out stay but we didn't have to wait long for anything. The breakfast is nice although a slightly unusual experience with lots of waiters just milling round. I guess they must have dedicated tables as no one wanted to take our order or even make eye contact (apart from our dedicated guy who disappeared for a while!) The food was nice enough however.
The only thing that really let the room down was the fact that the shower didn't really work at all (perhaps this is an issue if you are staying longer than we did?!)
The hotel is a good steady choice for visiting Newquay and I would recommend it to most people on a normal budget.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the sea
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnierecp, Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Alex, thank you for your positive review.
Being just 5-10 minute's walking distance from the center of Newquay Town and 2 minutes from the beautiful Tolcarne beach, the Kilbirnie is able to offer a great location for everyone. We have lots of parking, as you say which we provide to our guests for free, another one of our little benefits.
I am pleased you got to enjoy our continental and freshly cooked Cornish Breakfast that we offer, and yes as you suggest all tables are given to designated waiting staff. We have a lot of people in to the breakfast room at the same time in the morning, due to tours around Cornwall, and we have found that this is the best way to serve everyone efficiently. I am sorry that you felt that you were not being served fast enough, and that your waiter disappeared. I have informed the staff that they must keep a look out for other tables. I apologize for the low water pressure, we have had problems with some of our rooms on the second floor this season. The problem has however now been resolved, and all of our rooms have better pressure and a quicker pull on the hot water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbirnie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbirnie Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $73 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilbirnie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kilbirnie Hotel ***, is located overlooking Tolcalne and Lusty Glaze beaches just a short stroll down onto the golden sands or into the surf,The Hotel offers comfortable en Suite bedrooms, some with fantastic sea views, our leisure facilites inc indoor heated swimming pool, hydro Spa, Sauna, Fitness centre , and outdoor plunge pool, Bar Restaurant and snooker room, We take the time to care about your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kilbirnie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbirnie Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing